We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gelato”
Review of Il Procopio

Il Procopio
Ranked #7 of 207 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Description: Homemade Gelato shop
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great gelato”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

They have some unique flavors worth trying...i got their limone e basilico plus the la folla, which were, in a word, great :) plus the server was really friendly, even letting me taste their award-winning pistacchio :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    50
    19
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Florence”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Award winning (and deservedly so) gelateria - try the lemon & basil sorbet, the sachertorte gelato or the mandarola (orange & pistachio) gelato.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzeLuxuryColumnist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best ice cream in Florence”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Unusual flavours (fab lemon and basil), excellent granita (almond, melon espcially good) and friendly staff. Worth seeking out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TimBlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Gelato, cookies were the highlight”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our family thought this was a good gelato place (better than average - the rating I chose, but not VERY good - the next choice). The good gelato is accompanied by an amazing cookie they stick in the gelato. Our kids wanted more cookies! We wandered over here after visiting the Sinagogue of Florence, it was a little out of the way, but exposed us to a different part of Florence.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great gelato BUT”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Despite the gelato being great (I tried 5 flavors) I felt the guy behind the counter completely ripped me off. He served nine other people using the individual spatulas in each tray but when my turn came he pulled out this little bittie scoop and gave me five pathetic scoops for 5.50. I'm guessing it was because I was a tourist and this place is somewhat off the beaten path but this was seriously very rude and I should have said something about it but my Italian is poor and I'm not so sure about his English. Seriously though the ice cream is good but don't get the late cone if your a tourist, you'll get the same amount in the smallest cone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mapuleo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Il Procopio also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Procopio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing