We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
Ranked #14 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights last week in the largest room offered. The room was comfortable but not huge, it was nice to have 2 wash basins but the shower did tend to get the bathroom floor quite wet. The location is perfect and the service from reception staff friendly and efficient. The breakfast off site however was poor and this was a shame considering the cost and the fact they brand themselves as a b&b. Robiglio (the cafe they use) has substandard pastries (the only option the voucher gives you) orange squash, poor coffee and very surly staff. We didnt bother going on the third morning and went elsewhere instead. Please improve the breakfast offering or drop it and dont call the hotel a b&b. Breakfast aside, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtwitchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirenzeWalter, Proprietario at B&B La Dimora degli Angeli, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Hello James,

I thank you very much for choosing us for your stay as well as for your comment on Tripadvisor, for us it is an important tip to improve and provide a better service, however, I wanted to clarify the observations which you have made:

I state that everything you bought It is confirmed and I hope in a very clear way on your request and on my booking confirmation with specific measurement room, what you see from the room, specific external ITALIAN Breakfast, our services offered within of the B & B in addition to price, discount, cancellation policy etc.....;

I am sorry , It was not to your liking breakfast, and the negative judgment on their service which I will try to improve, because our goal It is the satisfaction of our customers, as well as the downsides encountered by you I want to bring some positive aspects of this our feature "ITALIAN breakfast outside, 2 pastries an hot drink 1 orange juice" Ancient Pastry in the center of Florence, It can be enjoyed at the table outside on a Shopping Street, or inside in the Tea room, possibility to have breakfast from 08:00 am until 07:00 pm, so all day without limits.

The cost of the room as you can imagine is given by many factors, one in particular It is the location and the view of the room (DOME), which It may not cost as other offers, considering that you have booked several months in advance (7) the price you paid was 18% less than the current price, also I do not get to call Hotel, but as you well know It's "B & B with a view La Dimora degli Angeli" with Italian breakfast served externally.

Thanks again to you and your girlfriend I will always be happy to accommodate you all the time you want to return to Florence.

Ciao
Claudio Cherubini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

La Dimora degli Angeli is a wonderful modern and well-managed B&B in the heart of Florence. The room was modern and comfortable, the staff knowledgeable and very friendly and the location was perfect. My husband and I thoroughly recommend staying at La Dimora degli Angeli if visiting Florence and will stay there again on any future visits to the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing stay here. This B&B was modern & beautiful. Centrally located just steps away from the Duomo. Felt like we had our own apartment right in the middle of Florence. Owner recommended a few places for dinner which were amazing. We loved our stay here and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasakiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We knew when we booked this accommodation that it would be something special and we were still blown away by it.

Located in the heart of Florence, 30 seconds (literally) walk to the Duomo, 30 second walk to Piazza della Repubblica, 5-7 minute walk to the station and no more than a 10 minute walk to most areas within Florence, we found this B&B to be in a brilliant location.

Despite its proximity to foot traffic, the room was super quiet. We had a room that faced the road where the front door is. The wilmina room if my memory services correctly, which is next to reception, however you can hardly hear a peep from people in the common area. The rooms were lovely and modern and very clean. Free WiFi is provided as was very quick in comparison to other hotels we stayed at in Italy and France.

The staff at this B&B were lovely and ever so helpful. My wife had traveled to Florence before, however this was my first time. The staff member who checked us is took the time to sit down with us a highlight all the areas and sights that were important to see, which was a very nice touch rather than just allowing tourists to do everything and work it out for themselves. We though this was very nice of her!

Breakfast was provided as part of our room rate. You had to walk around the corner to nice patisserie called Robiglio where you could exchange a card for two pastries and a coffee of your choice. Despite having to leave the accommodation for breakfast, we didn't find it annoying at all as the pastries and coffee were fantastic.

All the facilities here were top-notch and the staff are very welcoming and accommodating.

If you're looking for accommodation as a couple in Florence, this should be on your shortlist! We know we'll be coming back.

Room Tip: There are rooms which have views of the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimsyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

While our room did not overlook the Duomo, that in no way diminished our impression of this little B&B. We stayed in the 'Wilmina' room, which is tastefully decorated, and on the same floor as the reception and the break room with tea and coffee and biscuits. The location of this place makes it perfect for us to come back occasionally for a rest after a long day of sightseeing.
Breakfast is provided by an outside cafe ('Robiglio Pattiserie'), which makes nice pastries. It did not take us long to walk from Santa Maria Novella railway station, where we arrived from Venice, and left for Milan. Highly recommended B&B :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadiwi56a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised by our lovely B & B in a fantastic location in the heart of old Florence. We could literally walk to all the major sights and the room was spotless, contemporary and fitted with anything we might need. The only negatives were that it was incredibly difficult to locate - first of all we were arriving by auto and had not earthly idea how to find the garage the hotel had contracted with to park our car. And since it is in the restricted area we are expecting a HUGE fine for driving there and we were not able to find a suitable alternative. Once we did locate the garage, the attendants were so welcoming and even guided us to the B & B and helped with our luggage. They couldn't have been more accommodating. And it was a good thing as we never would have found the entrance. The recommendations for meals were spot on! We had fabulous meals where they suggested. We definitely would return. Our room had a view of the Duomo - what a bonus!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The location is exceptional and the windows complelely soundproof - meaning no undesired noise from the Piazza della Republica. We could walk everywhere in minutes. Breakfast was in a separate location, but in Florence that is just a pleasant wander. And with coffee, tea and biscotti next to your room, you can have your coffee before you set off!

Room Tip: The beds are hard - could use a feather bed on top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OslersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,989 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 659 in Florence
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#12 of 659 in Florence
496 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 659 in Florence
941 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 659 in Florence
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Dimora degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Dimora degli Angeli

Address: Via Dei Brunelleschi 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $62 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Dimora degli Angeli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Dimora degli Angeli is a charming and intimate B&B with a view, in a beautiful setting with a view of the Cathedral, private bathrooms and the highest quality comforts.Each room has its own style, with unique wallpaper, furnishings and decor with different influences and design, where everything comes together to create a place for the experienced world traveler.La Dimora degli Angeli is located in the old quadrilateral of Roman Florentia, in via Brunelleschi 4. The 19th century building has windows facing piazza del Duomo and piazza San Giovanni, providing the opportunity to admire the Cathedral, Brunelleschi's Dome, Giotto's bell towers, and the S. Giovanni baptistery directly from the rooms.This B&B has twelve rooms on 2 floors, a free-tea room available to customers, 24 hours a day and free Wi-Fi at no extra charge.In a warm and welcoming environment, you can relax and enjoy the beauty of Renaissance Florence while experiencing a vacation with the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B La Dimora degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b With a View La Dimora Degli Angeli Hotel Florence
Bed And Breakfast With a View La Dimora Degli Angeli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing