We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Promenade
Ranked #505 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't do it!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We pre paid for our three night stay only to arrive and be told by the lady that they did not have a record of our booking. When we showed her our confirmation she told us that she no longer used the agency we had booked through.

Very little empathy was shown to us but we were told that they would do us a favor and we could stay one night and they would find us somewhere else for the next two.....to cut a long story short we did find somewhere else but the attitude here was not good at all.

The rooms were ok but very small and the next hotel was much better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelbeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    24
    12
    29
See reviews for
29
71
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

First the positives: good value, clean comfortable room close to the historical center of Florence. But, the manager was unreliable, rude, incompetent and at one point, hysterical. She greeted us and informed us we could only use cash to pay, and there was no breakfast. Even though they advertise parking, it was in a lot which ended up costing $75 for 2 days. She warned us to only use cash when traveling in Italy, and that we should be careful in restaurants because we might be charged for a seat and some times the view. Then she said most people in Florence, when asked a question, would tell us the exact opposite of what we asked (like directions). We found none of this to be true in our experience there. She does not stay on the premises, so when that evening an older couple traveling with their two young grandchildren arrived, we were the only ones there to let them in. They had a reservation, and when we tried calling the managers cell phone, her service informed us she was not available. We tried using our room key to open other rooms for them, and unfortunately it worked, compromising security to say the least. We gave the couple our cell number so that when they arrived back from dinner, we could let them in. The next morning, when the manager finally arrived and discovered the arrangement, she began screaming that she was going to call the police, that they were not welcome there and should leave, and that we should never have let them in. After she checked on their reservation and found them to be legitimate clients, she began to kiss and hug them and ask them all about themselves and did a complete emotional reversal. We had already packed and were leaving, and she followed us asking if she could call a taxi. It was a very upsetting experience, and put a cloud over our visit to Florence - we couldn't wait to leave Promenade.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Venice, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

It is the best place to stay in Florence. Good price and close to all the bars. The owners sister has been super with us.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jphanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Arrived at the promenade with confirmed booking of 2 double rooms, to be told they had no record of our visit, and no room at the inn, but would send us to a hotel of similar quality, took 50 euros to confirm booking of new hotel and sent us to a back street dive,more of a backpackers hostel. as we were traveling with 2 elderly ladies we were not at all impressed,
shower was 2 coat hangers with a shower curtain draped over, to shower you had to sit on loo,tile floor was dangerous when wet. bed clean but lumpy, very noisy with drunken young men.
Anne C

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russellanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in this B&B for just one night, but when we got there wished we had stayed a little more time!
Super clean, has been renovated and has taken new managment, so be advised that previous comments may have been before this!
Ryana was so friendly and lovely! She made our stay amazing!
VERY well located, just steps from Ponte Vecchio and lovely restaurants.
I know I will be staying here again soon!
I more than recommend it!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had to walk up a hundred stairs with our bags the first night because the elevator was not marked. She was rude when we arrived and rushed us through checking in and threw maps at us. There was a dirty towel on the floor of the bathroom when we got there. The next day she "cleaned" our room with out telling us that she was going to. When we got back to our room our stuff was thrown off of the bed into a pile and the dirty towel that was on floor was hung up, eww. If they were going to do a crappy job cleaning the room they could at least give us toilet paper right? Wrong. At about 11 pm I realized that we were out of TP. Since there was no one at "reception" ask for a roll of TP, I went to the only unmarked door in hopes of finding a closet with some in it. I knocked just to make sure and when I did not get a response I turned the handle, it was unlocked so I went to open it and out stormed the crazy lady who checked us in. She began screaming at me (even though I was apologetic about walking in her office/bedroom thing) when I tried to explain that we were only given one roll of toilet paper (4 girls, 2 nights...) and that we needed more she lectured me about respect, threw out a few insults and told me to go to the store if I wanted it- If I wanted it from her it was going to cost me 10 euro. TEN EURO!! for TOILET PAPER. Toilet paper is a necessity in most countries and in every first world country for sure, if you expect someone to do with out- you should state that in your description.
It was a horrible hostel and if she classifies it as a hotel it was even worse.
Do.Not.Stay.Here.

Room Tip: Check every site for reviews, read the bad ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed at the Promenade for 3 nights and we totally enjoyed it. Rianna, the host, was very accomodating and gave us some tips on restaurants and palces to go. Location is perfect - near the Ponte Vecchio, and short easy walk to all attractions. The room was recently renovated and was very clean. Yes, it is true, there is some street noise but the trade-off is that you are central to everything. Not a deal-breaker at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe155021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Florence Moreno's Home
Florence Moreno's Home
#496 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Pitti
Backpackers Florence Hostel-Ponte Vecchio
Pitti
Florence Old Bridge B&B
Florence Old Bridge B&B
#50 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Althea Rooms
#248 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Pitti
Rinascimento Palace
Rinascimento Palace
#4 of 295 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Soggiorno Alessandra
Soggiorno Alessandra
#333 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade

Property: Promenade
Address: Vicolo del Canneto 2, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Promenade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Promenade is located in the heart of the historical town of Florence, 40 meters (44 yards) far from Ponte Vecchio, between romantic streets and surrounded by elegant palaces, medieval towers, places with historical and cultural importance of the Rennaissance. From the main touristic attractions of the old town we mention: Galleria degli Uffizi, Palazzo Pitti, Giardino di Boboli, the wonderful Piazza Signoria, Santa Croce and Duomo, all these at only 1-10 minutes distance, by step in this zone full of craft shops and antiques. Our touristic structure has single bed rooms, double bed rooms, triple bed rooms, with the possibility of extra beds, all of them with en suite bathroom, air conditioned, heating, LcdTV, Internet WiFi in the rooms, room service, daily cleaning, are very comfortable, classic and elegant, furnished in antic Florentine style, with a romantic note. Most of the rooms have a splendid and unique view to the Uffizi Art Gallery and river Arno. We can provide transport from and to the airports of Firenze, Pisa and Bologna. We also organise trips at San Gimignano, Siena (Duomo) and Pisa (the tower) and wine tastings in Chianti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing