We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuscany Car Tours

Tuscany Car Tours
Ranked #1 of 37 Transportation in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tuscany Car Tours di Filippo Fattori is a company based in Florence which organize private tours all around Italy and we are specialized in Tuscany. Our enthusiasm, knowledge and professionalism offer customers a way of experiencing the real Tuscany with a local, travelling safely and in comfort. In our tours you will see all the sites you expect to see - and visit places you have never heard of - but which you will want to see again!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1st class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We hired Paolo for 2 days of driving in Tuscany. He gave us good advice in choosing some additional stops between our destinations on our limited time. Our stop in Greve was especially nice at the butcher, wine, cheese shop. And on our trip from Florence to Rome, we stopped in Montepulciano and he drove us to the top of the hill where other vehicles were not allowed to go. We were able to have a leisurely walk down to the parking lot, exploring along the way. We found Paolo to be very friendly and helpful and it was easy to understand his English - we spoke no Italian! The vehicle was very comfortable both temperature and space-wise - loads of space for all 6 of us and we are big people! It was so nice to be driven after sampling wine and big meals and not having to worry about who would be the designated driver.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyRedhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rantolino, Manager at Tuscany Car Tours, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Grazie mille for the nice review.
Paolo is a good friend and a very professional tour leader.
Driving from Roma to Florence or viceversa, there are really a lot of interesting places to visit and I think you guys picked some of the best.
Ciao, I hope to see you again in Tuscany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful day in chianti country w/ Tuscany Car Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our family group of seven adults spent a day in chianti country with Paolo and had a wonderful time. Arrangements were easy ahead of time, and he picked us up promptly at our apartment in Florence. We went first to a terracotta factory which was quite interesting, then into the charming town of Greve. We visited several shops there, including a wonderful shop for wine tasting (where we ordered wine to be shipped back to the U.S.!) We then had a late, multi-course lunch at the Casa Emma winery on their terrace overlooking the vineyards - beautiful, and my favorite meal my whole time in Italy! Paolo was friendly, knowledgeable, and very patient with our meandering group. I couldn't recommend a better tour - only wish we'd had time to do another day elsewhere in Tuscany!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank exnjgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A terrific Tuscany tour with Paolo - from Tuscany car tours.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

One of our days during a first visit to Florence and Tuscany was spent on a countryside tour for our group of three. Of the options on the internet Filippo's company floated to the top of my searching based on his responsiveness, the reviews and flexibility with planning. We planned a whole day tour which costed about the same as other large group day excursions I have taken in Costa Rica and Cuba however this was personal and felt special. The day before our pre-booked excursion the company contacted our hotel to suggest a change in plans based on a forecasted full day of rain. We agreed and were able to shift our plans. The day turned out to be very wet. We were really pleased with our trip to Siena, Chianti and Sam Gimignano when the sun did shine. The highlight of our day was a stop at Casa Emma - a Chianti winery who's wines we can find (with a bit of effort) at home. Our driver Paolo is well informed about the history of the area and the wine and gave a lot of background information which is great to have. This tour is very flexible and we got to all the spots we had hoped to visit and we ended our tour at Michelangelo Square in Florence at our request. The entire day, including the wine and food and especially the countryside views will remain as fond memories. One of those places you can visit in your thoughts and instantly feel relaxed!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuscany Tour with Filippo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My daughter, son-in-law and sister were delighted with the Tuscany Car Tours. Filippo suggested picking us up at the airport, instead of waiting two hours for the train, which turned out to be the best decision we made. When he met us at the airport , he was so pleasant and personable. He brought us to the Leaning Tower of Pisa and then to Lucca for lunch before delivering us to our hotel. We had the best time and still talk about that lunch! We had scheduled a Tuscany Tour with him for later in the week. He was wonderful and he drove us to all the country towns explaining the history behind each stop. We ate and shopped and he was delightful. We ended with a wine tasting at a vineyard. Although it was raining, it didn't ruin our day and we had a great time! Filippo was an excellent tour guide and we can't say enough good things about him. I highly recommend Tuscany Car Tours !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour of Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I and our 2 friends recently returned from a trip to Rome and Florence. One of the highlights was our tour of Tuscany with Fillipo. We did not want to drive, nor did we want to do a bus tour since we wanted something flexible. We left the itinerary up to him since none of us had ever been to Tuscany; we only specified we would like to visit a winery. It couldn't have been better, we went to Greve, a terracota factory, a short stop at a town which was formerly a castle, and a winery where we had lunch. Fillipo is delightful and a very knowledable guide. He pointed out interesting sites along the way, and explained thoroughly everything we were visiting. The tour was worth every euro. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend him, even gave his name to our local travel agent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MLR771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Car Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tuscany Car Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing