We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location is all” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Hostel Florence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Central Hostel Florence
Ranked #233 of 284 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Usa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location is all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Location is about all this hostel has got going for it. It's close to the main train station and attractions. The owners, however, are somewhat rude and unhelpful. I was given the keys & left to discover rooms on my own. When I asked whether the place was locked at night the response I got was 'yes, at various times but you have a key to the gate and door' - I didn't see any gates nor was I shown any. The bathroom was fairly clean but stank like an old ashtray, the noise carried throughout the building and the 'common room' was often used by the owners to watch their tv shows at a loud volume.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stranger9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    4
    10
    16
See reviews for
1
9
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Absolutely awful. Honestly.

My girlfriend and I showed up and they put us in a different room then we had reserved and told us we would be there for all three nights. Since it had a bathroom en suite (which we had not paid for) we were excited. The next morning, however, they demanded we pack up and switch rooms. Ok...

The room we stayed in wasn't TOO bad (aside from the broken lights and heat), but the actual place itself was miserable. Right outside our window was construction which began promptly at 6:00 each morning. Worse than that, however, were the managers. The two individuals who ran the place were extremely rude. They were up until the middle of the night yelling and running around and then were up at the crack of dawn the next morning yelling at each other down the halls. I'm a heavy sleeper and their constant yelling kept me up.

Worse yet was their response to our discomfort. We were extremely cold in our room and were only provided one thin sheet and a thin comforter. Seeing a closet stocked full of blankets, we asked if we could borrow another. They said absolutely not.

On three separate occasions, my girlfriend was stopped in the hall and yelled at in Italian by the woman running the hotel. Not knowing the language, we have no clue what she was saying, but she would not stop.

In all, we were absolutely miserable here. From uncomfortable sleep to problems with money (we had paid a portion in advance but they denied it), this place must be avoided. It is in a decent location, but it is not worth it. Stay anywhere else. It is just a bad hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0VEB1RDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I spent a night at central hostel Florence along with a friend. We had made an online booking in a 5 bed dorm, so upon arrival we were handed the keys and a map of Florence. The room was ok, not something really special but not bad either. The bathroom, which was shared among a couple of dorms was acceptably clean, though it could have been a bit cleaner. Overall, it was a pleasant experience.
The hostel has a courtyard with tables and chairs where it is possible to sit and socialize with the rest of the visitors. It also offers free linen, which is definitely a plus. However, its best feature is its location. It is really close to the train station (Firenze S.M.N) and to the city centre with all the main sights and right next to a supermarket.
You may find the numbering of the buildings rather confusing, but you can just ask, the locals can help you with that.
As a disadvantage, I would mention that the owner does not speak English, which can make the communication part rather confusing, but this is quite common in Italy, so you should be prepared anyway!
Summarizing, Central hostel Florence was quite cheap, acceptably clean and really conveniently located. If you do not speak italian some communication problems are possible, but I would generally recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ralloutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

My fiancee and I booked a room here for two nights around new years and when we arrived, the manager said the room we booked had no electricity.. How does a room have no electricity but is available to rent? He took us down the street to his "friends" place, which had no internet as advertised and was an old place with shared toilets. skip this place

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolhandjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Ciao Hostel
Ciao Hostel
#64 of 284 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#20 of 284 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#11 of 284 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Emerald Fields Hostel
Emerald Fields Hostel
#189 of 284 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
San Lorenzo
Albergo Paola
Albergo Paola
#194 of 284 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#18 of 284 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hostel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hostel Florence

Property: Central Hostel Florence
Address: Via Faenza 46r (red) | Firenze, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 284 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing