We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, awful customer service”
Review of New Ostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Ostel
Ranked #230 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good rooms, awful customer service”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hostel is close to Florence's main train station, but far from interest points in town. My friends and I had a bedroom to ourselves in the building across the street and it was very good - clean, spacious and with good beds. The bathroom was not shared but not ensuite either.
The worst thing there is the costumer service, since the owner and his wife are very unprofessional and treat guests badly. They ignored us for a bit, didn't register one of my friends, kept getting the price division wrong and when we explained they bad mouthed us in Italian like we couldn't understand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcela181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    32
    17
    28
See reviews for
2
19
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Although the ratings were bad, but I felt that I should give it a try. Everything turned out ok, the staff were friendly. The bed and toilet were acceptably clean, most of my hostel dorm mates were very friendly too. We hanged out together as well. However, there is no activities going on in the hostel to encourage more social activities. They have a nice lounge area though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylzanith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed in the residential rooms, property of the hostel, building across the street. Convenient location - 10 minutes walk from central train station, large clean rooms, English speaking staff (not helpful tough), credit cards accepted with additional commission, towels are for rent, beds are very good (one king size and one single). Free WiFi. Shared bathrooms are dirty. No breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narekjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked a double room online through hostels.de. When we arrived they said they sent us an email (only 1 hour before we showed up) saying there is a problem and they could not give us a room for that price, they claimed the problem was with the website and not themselves, although we had a confirmation email with us. They then said we had to pay double the price for a room or put us in a dorm price for the price we reserved. We had tours booked that day and didn't have time to search for other accommodation so we stayed in the dorm room. The owner who checked us in, assured us that the fault was with the website. The room was ok, the bathrooms were dirty, flooded with water, and lacking toilet paper. We were also across the street and the wifi was very slow or didn't work at all. The desk lamps in the dorm room we were i, lit up the whole room when turned on and I woke up several times when the girls turned on the lights repeatedly during the night. As well, they want €2.50 a person if you keep bags in the luggage room after 2pm, which I think is ridiculous. One of the female owners said we could keep our bags for free, however when we picked up the male owners gave us a very hard time. One owner suggested that it was indeed their fault (not the websites) but that it was also our fault for thinking we could get a double room at that price. (Using the same website, we have booked 4 star hotels, including breakfast for that same price). The other owner was rude and made ignorant and rude comments to my boyfriend and where he was from. We asked for a receipt which they said they sent to us in an email but we have not yet received anything from them. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice on arrival with a lovely outdoor area. Beer from vending machine only €1 too. pretty friendly host.

We stayed across the road (still part of the hostel) in a pretty clean with clean sheets on the bed. Great sized bathroom too. Kitchen on the other hand was pretty bad. No forks, only 2 plates to eat from. No matches to light gas and only one element working.

Don't expect much for €16 a night and maybe bring your own eating utensils.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FazJak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great prices, people, beds, sheets, living spaces for socializing, strong wifi, and great location! The front desk and other employees are energetic, excited, and fun to share stories with! There is a computer to use if you don't have a laptop, tea and coffee, and very comfortable sofas to relax the traveled body on!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisaacson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2012

staff were extremely hospitable, helping me and my friend with whatever problems we had or questions that needed answered. rooms where recently done up, new beds, sheets changed regularly, cleaned everyday, great wifi connection. There's a kitchen with everything you could possibly need, and nice seated areas to sit in and relax. you can rent towels or pay 6euro to have your washing done. we felt very welcome and would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone!! it is very near the train station and so the centre is easily accessible. it was also a popular hostel so there where always new people to meet

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Ciao Hostel
Ciao Hostel
#91 of 310 in Florence
108 reviews
Bigallo Hostel
#70 of 310 in Florence
63 reviews
Santa Croce
Riverbank Hostel Tintori
Riverbank Hostel Tintori
#188 of 310 in Florence
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 Santi Hostel
#54 of 310 in Florence
482 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#11 of 310 in Florence
373 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#15 of 310 in Florence
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Ostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Ostel

Property: New Ostel
Address: Via Iacopo Peri 3, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your New Ostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing