We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok position ni Florence. The owner just annoying!”
Review of New Ostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Ostel
Ranked #243 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hostel is over the average and the position is ok, if you need to stay close to the train station. The rooms are very nice, colourful, they look very clean...just DO NOT look under the bed... The owner is an annoying person, very arrogant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have read the previous comments and although i do aggree with some of it i disagree with others.. perhaps improvements have been made since the previous review so this is my review. I am quite impressed with the rooms, I am staying in a 4 bed dorm across the road, its like a apartment it has a small courtyard, a proper kitchen with cooking utensils (just as if u were at home), a toilet, then another seprate toilet with shower... there is wifi here with strong connection, the rooms have lockers, wardrobe, drawers, table & chairs, a heater and a fan. I think this apartment is nicely decorated too. Although the staff aren't really the friendliest of people they are not too rude either. As for the cleaning i would say its not fantastic 100% but its clean. there is a lounge across the road, vending machine and also like a outdoor social area with couches. Washing is 6 euros for 5kgs. I think Florence is a humid place but there is a fan in the room! the rooms are cheap i think any true backpacker would find this good value for its money, if your've never really backpacked before this may be a different view to what your use too.

Room Tip: No what you want out of it, if your a solo traveller perhaps the rooms around the reception would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

There are two parts to this hostel one where reception is and one across the road in apartments on the main road. The latter is rooms along the corridor with a kitchen at the end an outdoor area, one bathroom with a shower and a toilet. For all the rooms, most dorms, there is only one shower. The set up also makes it really noisy. You can hear everyone come in and out etc. The kitchen is probably the only bonus.

The room I stayed in was very dirty, the bed very uncomfortable and there were bed bugs! The room was extremely hot too. So I spent the whole night very hot and itching and constantly being woken up.

I didn't feel for what I paid the conditions should have been so bad

Room Tip: I think there are loads of good hostels in Florence, but it is difficult to find a sociable hostel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed 4nights, but my room was seperated from main building.
coz I choice single room type.
so, I couldn't use wi-fi and there was shared bathroom.
I think main building would be better than.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiihyekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you're a backpacker being in an uncomfortable place, with dirty sheets, no breakfast, having to go across the street to get wi fi will be no problem to you. This place is near downtown but so are a hundred other bed and breakfast. Look elsewhere. They never check what's left in the fridge, so you might find a lot of surprises. Staff is very helpful and friendly, but owner is never there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This place was great value and was only a short walk from the main train station. Our room was a good size with a private bathroom. The aircon comes on at night automatically and there was free wifi. The staff were friendly and helped recommend some places to eat. There was also a common room and vending machine.

Room Tip: The room at the front facing the courtyard has low privacy if the windows are open and people are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhapsodybri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

This hostel got some quite bad ratings previously. Honestly, I don´t know why. The rooms are clean, large enough, bathrooms tidy and most importantly the staff is amazing, helpful and very kind. The only minor issue was that the hostel is a 5-10 min. casual walk from the strict centre of Florence. On the other hand it´s right by the main train station which can be useful when arriving or leaving by train.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBag8309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
David Inn
David Inn
#163 of 325 in Florence
55 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
#41 of 325 in Florence
146 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#34 of 325 in Florence
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 Santi Hostel
#60 of 325 in Florence
499 reviews
Bigallo Hostel
#65 of 325 in Florence
65 reviews
Dany House
#302 of 659 in Florence
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Ostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Ostel

Address: Via Iacopo Peri 3, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $23 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Ostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing