We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, good portions, great wine!”

Ristorante La Falterona
Reserve with
Ristorante La Falterona is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Description: Traditional Italian Restaurant, In The Hard Of Historical Neghibour Of Florence, Delicious Course, Speciality Grilled Beef And Home Made Pasta, Excelant Vegetables Suup And Dessert, With A Great Selection Of Wine
Fukushima, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, good portions, great wine!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place is just outside of the Mercato Centrale in Florence, across the street from the Michaelango leather store (also very good store).

We chose this restaurant for no particular reason. We loved it so much that we came back a second time in our 3 days in Florence.

The food is both simple and sophisticated at the same time. I had the pici with wild boar meat sauce, also the gnocchi with the blue cheese sauce. My mother had the chicken with wine sauce, and the carbonara. All superb.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    189
    51
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasnt eating spot close to Santa Maria Novella station”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We wanted a place close to SMN station for a light lunch before we caught our train. We sat out in a pleasant narrow pedestrianised street, and enjoyed our cold beers (it was a hot day), crostini and salads. Service was good, if a little slow at times.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shacklog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Why Trip Adviser is not always great”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As avid users of Tripadviser this restaurant is a good example of why not to use TA religiously and only look to go to the first dozen or so restaurants, so that TA becomes a self fulfilling prophecy, this restaurant is around 300+ on TA a bit of the beaten track and we went here after a day of walking around the city, it looked lovely from the outside and very welcoming.

Inside its very quaint, like something from a Godfather film and typically Italian, we got here around 7.15pm and it was empty when we walked in. The food was excellent, the portions huge and prices very reasonable, we had two courses and could have eaten another thing.

So the lesson is don't always look at the first dozen places broaden your minds there are many excellent places to eat in Florence and even at 300 plus the revues are excellent and the food amazing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lobster Pasta was excellent”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

On a main access for vendors leaving in the evening so arrive early or late to miss the noise and commotion. Food was good and atmosphere pleasant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skyman96ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Concerned because of reviews - but it was great!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Recommended by hotel on our first night in Florence. After booking we read other reviews and were concerned. Therefore we kept it simple... Auvergne, mozzeralla and tomato starter was delicious. We only had spaghetti for mains and both choices were great - we had cantucci and vin santo for dessert - all great quality.

Because of comments on here - we kept eye on things being served and all food looked great. Didn't seem to be any unhappy people at all.

Atmosphere typically Italian and we will probably go back for another night while here...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Falterona also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante La Falterona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing