We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular but not fancy”

Ristorante La Falterona
Reserve with
Ristorante La Falterona is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #155 of 2,676 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Description: traditional italian restaurant, in the hard of historical neghibour of florence, delicious course, speciality grilled beef and home made pasta, excelant vegetables suup and dessert, with a great selection of wine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Regular but not fancy”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Easy enough to find and good service to start with. Unfortunately, there was a group of 25 Swiss/Germans in front of us plus the rest of the restaurant soon filled. We think they were short staffed. Although the first and second courses were delicious once coffees were called for everything slowed to a crawl. My wife noticed a couple outside who could have had our table but they lost interest after 20 minutes standing in the cold outside. As for the food, there was nothing outstanding and we found a restaurant nearby much closer to our requirements the following night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    165
    44
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining and good value”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

La Falterona is located on a side-street off the Via Faenza, a short distance from the Santa Maria Novella train station. This establishment stands out among the array of restaurants, trattorias and osterias (as well as pizza places, kebab shops, etc.) in the neighborhood. It offers good solid Tuscan fare, including some lesser-known pasta dishes such as pici (a Sienese specialty, like a thick spaghetti), often prepared with a sauce based on boar (cinghiale) or duck (anatra). The usual assortment of meat and seafood dishes is also on offer, including the traditional “bistecca alla fiorentina.” The dessert menu features a number of temptations – the strawberries with vanilla ice cream were superb. The wine list is formidably complex; at the same time, the house red wine by the glass was quite palatable. Service, although a trifle slow (on two weekday late evenings when the place was less than half full), was generally courteous and attentive. All in all, a pleasant dining experience and good value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martymorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A typical Italian restaurant with a good choice on the menu”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A typical Italian restaurant with a good choice on the menu including a few veggie options. The service was excellent. The portion size was about right and the quality of the dishes really good, I enjoyed both the starter and the main.

There was an excellent choice of wine on the list, however it tended to be on the expensive side, with very few to choose from at the lower end of the price scale.

Great coffee to finish. Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buzzer1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
1 review
“Amazing Dinner”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My Italian friend Fabio brought me to this ristorante last night for dinner, located right in the heart of Florence, and I must say that I was very impressed. As soon as you sit down the waiter brings you a little ordeuvre and a small glass of prosecco. The ambience is very warm and comfortable, a little rustic, but elegant at the same time. I could have spent an hour going through the wine list, full array of spectacular Italian wines from every region of Italy. The owner, Claudio, came right over to our table with a nice bottle of chianti Nipozzano Riserva, from the Frescobaldi family, and opened it for us himself. Our 'primo' was a delicious pici al ragu di maialino, a classic tuscan dish that warmed us up perfectly for the 'secondo.' Following the pasta, the owner rolled out on wheels the main course, and wheels were neccessary, because this mouth-watering Argentine cut was enormous, cooked perfectly 'Al Sangue' and was truly a piece of heaven. He sliced it up for us, the knife gently cutting through the tender meat like butter, and the feast began. On the side the waiter brought out fried artichoke hearts and sliced zuchine, and a savory plate of roasted potatoes. After an hour or so, we had an excellent dessert. Finally, as if I wasn't satisfied enough, the owner invited us down into his wine cellar for a chat and to see his prodigious collection of vino, years worth of hard work and passion for food and wine. It was a great experience to say in the least, and I highly reccomend this ristorante to anyone who is looking to have a wonderful meal in the center of Firenze.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Terrific Tiramisu”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a meal here on a Saturday Night the staff were friendly and the service was good. The food was hot and tasty just the kind you expect in Italy. This restaurant is slightly, more up market but extremely good value for money. The Tiramisu is to die for I would recommend this place to anyone

Helpful?
1 Thank Reddantheaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Falterona also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante La Falterona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing