We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Slice of Renaissance Life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #56 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Slice of Renaissance Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Are you looking for a unique, memorable experience? Then you should consider Palazzo Guadagni for a slice of Renaissance life. My husband and I have stayed there so many times, it is no joke when we refer to is as our "home away from home."
Situated in Piazza Santo Spirito, a real neighborhood where genuine Florentines live and work, Palazzo Guadagni offers a glimpse into Italian life. The hotel occupies the top floor of a Renaissance building and has unforgettable loggia and view of Florence. Each room is unique and spacious with lovely antique furniture and a large bathroom. Some rooms even have soaring frescoed ceilings. Enjoy a generous buffet breakfast in the morning either in the sunlit dining room or outside on the loggia. You will want to linger and savor your vacation moments. The owners and staff at Palazzo Guadagni are friendly and helpful: no request is too much trouble. They can assist you with museum bookings, dinner reservations or directions around the city.
At the end of the day, relax with an appertivo on the loggia and watch the sun set over the rooftops. Piazza Santo Spirito is full of lively restaurants so you never have to venture far for a meal, cocktail or gelato. I hope you will enjoy you stay at Palazzo Guadagni as much as we do!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    257
    51
    13
    7
See reviews for
172
619
46
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel has the perfect loggia high above Piazza Santo Spirito with views over the Florentine rooftops. I can't think of anywhere nicer to sit and sip a glass of prosecco after a day of sightseeing in this glorious city. The family rooms we stayed in were both fabulous wiht lots of space and great decor. The staff were warm and helpful, booking cabs and restaurants when we needed them. The breakfast is fabulous - eggs, cheese, cereal, fruit, yoghourt, and a range of drinks. I can't think of anything I'd change about the place and look forward to staying there again another time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaritaTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We are glad to have found this gem in the Oltrarno District of the city. The Hotel overlooks the Piazzo Santo Spirito which has a bohemian vibe and also had a market with food and clothing while we were there. It is within walking distance of everything and the staff was friendly and helpful. This is more like a B & B than a hotel which was perfect for us after arriving from Rome. The views of the hills, Duomo, and the city are breathtaking. The breakfast was wonderful (as all are in Italy) and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

i hope to come back soon again
the hotel is well located
excellent architecture
beautiful rooms very clean it felt like being home
very good breakfast
nice guests
a very friendly service
a beautiful and huge terrace

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mario k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

If you don't want to stay at a hotel chain(and I recommend that you don't), this is the perfect place to stay in Firenze. We stayed on the top floor, because previous reviews had mentioned not to stay on the ground floor rooms due to the noise.

Location - great! Good restaurants just below the hotel. It is located in a square which is very lively. You can sit and eat and drink in the square and soak in the ambience and vibe of the city. (NOTE: most definitely eat at GustaPizza which is just around the corner! We are there twice, it was that good!)The Duomo and Uffizi gallery are a bit of a walk away but not too far. Approx 10-15 mins for both places across the river.

Rooms - very spacious. Rooms and bathrooms both had high ceilings and made you feel like you were in a palace.

The terrace is also a great place to unwind after a long day of walking.

Not sure if you could eat lunch or dinner at the hotel (would recommend you to go and eat somewhere else just for the experience) but the breakfast was adequate. The front desk was super helpful in terms of guiding us to different place and arrange for special passes to avoid the lines at the entrance for the duomo and uffizi. Make sure you do this well in advance and not just one day prior as it is hard to get a ticket just a day in advance.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to first timers in Florence, just like us.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Palazzo Guadigni made our stay in florence a perfect and purely Florentinian experience. The roof terasse is stunning, for breakfast or aperitivo, overlooking the nice little Piazza.
Great location, friendly staff, big and calm rooms.

Room Tip: ask to have your breakfast on the terrasse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laetitia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel based on the many great reviews. And they are absolute right on so many fronts. We loved the location, the staff was friendly and the common areas were beautiful, with a stunning veranda overlooking the plaza. And our room was amazing -- #1 -- with high ceilings, a huge bathroom, a balcony facing the plaza and more than enough space. But in the end, a hotel is about sleeping and it was impossible to sleep here because it was so noisy on the plaza on the weekend.The partying did not end until 5 am! The staff told us to close the shutters on the window, but it was not nearly enough to block out the music and revelry. We barely got any shut eye. We were told the noise was particularly bad during our stay, and we received multiple apologies -- but no offer of a discount or any other compensation. The lesson: don't stay in room #1 on a weekend, and maybe ask for a room that does not face the plaza if events are planned.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Edmastroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#49 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing