We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #48 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed one night in this 'B & B' at the beginning of our recent trip to Italy having selected it due to favorable Trip Advisor reviews. What we found was totally stunning and really made our trip memorable and special. The hotel is situated in a lively square in central Florence (ask for a room not fronting the square if you are overly concerned about noise). The hotel takes up the top floors of the building only and is very discreetly set in the Piazza. We booked four superior rooms and they were elegant and comfortable with everything you could need but in a timeless and beautiful style. The hotel staff were very warm and welcoming and couldn't do enough to assist us. We enjoyed drinks on the Loggia which can only be described as elegant and cool in the high heat and the views over Florence were breathtaking.

Room Tip: If you want total peace book a room not overlooking the Piazza as although there are shutters and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    263
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
184
643
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had the most delightful stay at Palazzo Guadagni yet again, from the moment we arrived and were greeted to the moment we were farewelled. All the staff were extremely welcoming friendly and nothing was too much trouble with every assistance given on places to eat, see and shop. Wonderful hosts and we felt very cared for.
We enjoyed our breakfasts, and evenings before bedtime in the cool of the comfortable loggia overlooking the rooftops and view of Florence. A most delightful place to relax.
Having visited Florence previously, we especially like the location of the Oltrarno with its interesting artisan and antique shops and array of great eating places. Piazza Santo Spirito is an especially lively spot and we enjoyed the neighborhood atmosphere. From here it is such a short walk across the Arno to visit the main centre attractions of Florence.
We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to beautiful Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubble14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is great, right in the middle of Florence set in an old palace with staff that will always exceed your expectations. We were delighted with this hotel, and found we were right in the middle of more nightlife than we expected, it was great. There are fabulous restaurants nearby with indoor and outdoor seating. Our room included a daily continental breakfast, I was expecting coffee and a roll, they had everything from yogurt to scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, potatoes, you name it they had it.

The service was spectacular and very personalized. What a treat!

Room Tip: Ask for a kingsize bed in a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccoycr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in the Palazzo Guadagni for 2 nights on our Rome to Venice holiday. Situated in the piazza spirito it has a lovely rustic charm of old Italy. Everything is within Woking distance so no need to taxi or bus. Lovely spacious room and adjoining bathroom with views over the piazza. The hotels sun terrace / balcony was a lovely area to sit with a glass of vino in the late afternoon and early evening. Drinks were very reasonable and the service very attentive.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4 just off the reception. Large overlooking the piazza. No obvious noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

It is around 5-10 min by taxi from the train station ( around euro 7-14 depending on how many luggages). But walking distance to all sight seeing.

The hotel is in a small square with lots of restaurants. Easy to find food, buy water or snacks. The room i get is big and with the nice view. It is not a typical modern hotel and i need to carry luggages going upstairs for 2 floors but is a great match with florence atmosphere.

Breakfast is good quality but not too many choices. Staff are helpful and friendly. I stay in Italy for 2 weeks and try 4 different hotels in 4 cities ( Milan, Venice, Florence and Rome). This is the best hotel for me from the experience perspective.

Room Tip: Choose the room that is not in front of the square to avoid all the noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanAndIanAtTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a special place! We met a number of guests who come back year after year, and I can understand why. There is a marvelous feel to the place, more relaxed than one would expect in Florence, and with a palpable sense of history. Our room was excellent, with a more updated bathroom than I was expecting, and the celebrated loggia is very inviting. We felt as if we were staying in the country house of a very generous friend. We now would not consider staying anywhere but the Oltrarno, and I can't imagine a better choice than Palazzo Gaudagni. The tourist sites are an easy walk, but you are in a real and vibrant neighborhood with a great atmosphere (as well as plenty of good restaurants), and without the masses of people to contend with. To be sure, Piazza San Spirito gets noisy into the wee hours; but if we closed our window we heard nothing at all. We will return!

Room Tip: Although some rooms have better views than others, we spent so much time on the loggia, with its unm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCollinsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here while in Florence for our 25th anniversary. We would definitely recommend this hotel. It is on a happening Piazza, within walking distance of the major sights but in a more Bohemian neighborhood with somewhat less tourists. The rooms are spacious with high painted ceilings. A good breakfast is included. The terrace bar is a nice place to unwind, and the staff is friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonnyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 411 in Florence
972 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 411 in Florence
2,286 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#47 of 411 in Florence
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing