We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by our friends who stayed there on their honeymoon. The hotel was in a great location. The cab ride from the train station was under 10 minutes. It is on the other side of the arno but a 5 minute walk from the bridges going to the main section of Florence. A few minutes from the Pitti Palace and probably 5 minutes to the famous Ponte Veccicho. The piazza it is on is very nice. There are several good restaurants on the piazza. There is also an open air fruit/veggie ect. market we saw several times in the morning. There is an awesome pizza place around the corner- Gusta Pizza!
The hotel has a lot of stairs (on the inside) to get up to it so walking up with your luggage is not an option. There is an elevator. Twice someone did not shut the door properly so we had to walk up which is exercise. The staff was lovely and friendly. It has a great porch/veranda that you can sit out on. They serve free breakfast everyone morning which was great. The wifi was also free. The hotel was very clean and quiet. Our room was on the second floor and I would say very large with a nice bathroom. The bed was average. It could use an updated mattress.
It was good value for the money and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you ask for an upstairs room, you have a few stairs to climb but you can have a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaureenH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We loved the location of the hotel and preferred being on this side of the Arno away from the hordes of tourists yet within walking distance of all the major sites as well as the train station. The hotel is a jewel with wonderful vews from the terrace where you can relax with a book and an aperitivo and a comfortable lounge area with newspapers and books. Our room was very spacious and we had a nice view. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here on future visits to Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Client,
Thank you for writing your review.
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay, many thanks for the words spent about our staff
We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you want quality accommodation in relatively peaceful surroundings then this is the place for you. The hotel is very conveniently situated being only a few minutes walk to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio with the Duomo and other attractions another few more minutes.
The selling point for us was the loggia with lovely views across the city and surrounding hills, the perfect place for a pre (& post) prandial drink.
Our room was probably the largest we have ever stayed in with fantastic frescoes adorning the ceiling coupled with a small balcony overlooking Piazza Santo Spirito. Another unexpected bonus was clean linen on a daily basis, which in our experience is unusual for a 3 star hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alannsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Client,
thank you so much for having chosen Palazzo Guadagni, I appreciate your nice comments you wrote. We are in fact in a great location closed to all the major Art in the city.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again in Florence next time!

Best Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by friends of ours that lived in this neighborhood for two years. Santo Spirito is lively area with real families , trattorias and, specialty shops and local churches. The hotel has a view of the surrounding hills and buildings of Florence. Our room had a view of the Duomo. Beautifully decorated suites and rooms with hand painted ceilings , period furniture and peaceful settings are the best features. Wide open porch-balcony to have morning coffee or evening wine. We walked to every major site in Florence from this hotel and we saw most of the other hotels. We absolutely loved this place and the owner and staff couldn't t be more gratuitous. Magnifico!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fmoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you to spending time to share your review with TripAdvisor users about your stay
at Palazzo Guadagni and for your enthusiastic words about your stay here.
I hope to welcome you again in our Hotel the next time you will visit Florence.

Best Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you wish to get Firenze under your skin, this is the right hotel for your stay. The location at Piazza S. Spirito in Oltrano is excellent, It's a central part of Firenze with a genuin, local atmosphere characterised by small shops, workshops, and not too many tourists. And only few minutes walk from the main attractions. Some of the best resaurants of Firenze are found in the area. Piazza S. Spirito is situated near River Arno and a short walk away from Palazzo Pitti. Here you find the historic and famous gardens of Boboli (nice for a pick-nick) and Bardini (from its café you have a marvelous view of Firenze with the cathedral in the middle). The hotel itself, is found in the upper floors in one of the town's many Palazzi. From the loggia you have a nice view over surrounding roofs to the distant wooded hills. After a day in town, we relaxed with a drink and a good book in the loggia. Hotel Palazzo Guadagni certainly fulfilled our dreams about a stay in Firenze. Our large bedroom had a magnificent fireplace framed in marble and it opened to the Piazza. We slept well and were not disturbed by noice from outside. The large bathroom was fine. Breakfast was varied and very satisfying.The staff is friendly and very helpful. They helped us in a personal way so we felt very welcomed.
If you like comfort, quality and style,but is uncomfortable with the the large hotels, this is the place for you. ,

Room Tip: Room 4 was perfect to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at this hotel last year. My room had a beautiful view of the city and beyond. I was spellbound by the size and the artistic décor of the room and very well accommodated with TV, WiFi and lots of storage space. On opening the window, the fresh air blowing in just revive one's senses and makes one feel very peaceful.

The other exceptional experience I had was the Veranda. After a day of sightseeing, I enjoyed the sitting there with a nice chilled drink. It boasts a superb view of Santo Spirito square and from above i could take in the city at its best.This place is very welcoming, with charming staff members, Rita and Atish, always going out of their ways to facilitate my stay and provided me with an A-1 service.Breakfast in the common room, continental but yet filling with plenty of variety.

The surroundings had plenty of restaurants and was very safe to roam around even at night.

I would recommend this place to anyone, couple or family, this is the place to stay!

Kim F

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Client,
thank you very much for the wonderful words that you have spent to describe your stay.
We will share your compliments to the whole staff and look forward to welcoming you again at
Palazzo Guadagni.
Warm Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

It is the second time we stay at Palazzo Guadagni . This time we stayed a week , next time I am not sure we will be able to go back home !! In fact this hotel makes you feel at home .. The staff there is very friendly and at the same time very professionnal. They always have an answer to your questions . In addition the rooms are very charming and the location perfect , really in the heart of Firenze but not in the "crowded " heart !! Piazza Santo Spirito gives you a flavor of the real florentine life .

Room Tip: We do prefer rooms with a view on Piazza Santo Spirito
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,225 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 410 in Florence
576 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,988 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#58 of 410 in Florence
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $106 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing