We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captures the Spirit of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #48 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights in this charming hotel. It occupies the top floors of the Palazzo. The staff are helpful and offer relaxed, professional hospitality. Our room (no10) was quiet, had a quirky shape and featured period-style painted walls and ceiling. The furnishings aren't lavish but are perfectly comfortable, the bathroom was small but functional and the window framed a view of the Duomo. The loggia overlooking the Piazza was another great feature. You will find Guadagni good value for its location which is close to everything but slightly removed from the over-beaten tourist trail.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedbak following your recent stay with us at Palazzo Guadagni.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.
Thanks also for the kind words about our Front Desk team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights in October 2013 at this exciting and different hotel. From the moment you open the old wooden doors you step into another world and you know the experience will be unique.
We had a top floor room which had a view of the Duomo and of the Palazzo Vecchio with its famous tower. These were lit up at night. Being a corner room we also had a view of the Palazzo Pitti from our en suite bathroom.
The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The breakfast room had plenty of choice and afternoon teas or drinks on the large loggia terrace balcony overlooking the Piazza Santo Spirito felt very civilised.
The location managed to avoid the worst of the tourist areas while still being a convenient short walk from them. Less than a 10 minute walk and you could be crossing the Ponte Vecchio. The Piazza below was lively with the impressive Basilica di Santo Spirito at one end and bordered with bars, cafes and restaurants.
The staff was friendly and helpful; there was good free Wi-Fi and plenty of storage (wardrobe and drawers) in the room. No elevator above the second floor so be prepared for some climbing of 16th century stairs.
We loved our time there and would willingly stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was high (top floor) and faced North East towards the Duomo so was quiet being away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I am so glad I read tripadvisor before I booked a hotel.Everyone's reviews on this hotel are true! This place is perfect! The staff so friendly like you are a guest in their own home and the balconies and outdoor terrace have amazing views! Our room was huge and the location was perfect! In the piazza with true Florentine flavor and plenty of great places to eat and to have drinks.A market outside the doors every morning.You can't ask for a better hotel or location. We loved it for our 25th anniversary...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica3666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank your for sharing your experience in Palazzo Guadagni.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we will welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has it all: Historical significance (just google guadagni), beautiful rooms, expansive breakfast selections, a sprawling veranda where you can enjoy an evening cocktail, very helpful and friendly staff, and a great location.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank camps258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor .
We are very glad you appreciated our hotel.
When you come back in Florence we shall be very pleased to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night only, our last night in Florence.
The hotel is stunning! It is in the Piazza, in a beautiful, but less tourist-bustling part of the city, wonderful.
The immense doors swing wide to usher you in an exquisite building, to which the hotel is situated on the upper floors. The rooms are HUGE, quiet, and well kept. The big win for this hotel is the free breakfasts that are served in the dining room or out on the rooftop terrace taking in a beautiful view.
It's on the other side of the Arno, so a little further walk to the major sight seeing attractions, but still doable. It's a pretty part of the city, that is mercifully less full of camera-clicking-tour-groups. Perfect for the end of a trip. Great restaurants in this part of the city, serving mostly locals, so very authentic Firenze cuisine. Stay away for the restaurants in the Palazzo proper, mostly cater to tourist crowds, venture down any of the streets heading out of the square for a better dining experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 30someTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on my first trip to Florence and it was everything I could hope for - loggia, frescoes, comfortable room and friendly staff. Oltrarno is a great district to stay in, Piazza San Spirito has great bars and cafés - couldn't have asked for more. Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Grandtourgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure for us to welcome your review and we would like to thank you for your choice as well.
We look forward to welcoming you again when in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by the grandeur of the Hotel Palazzo Guadagni. Although it is only less than a 10 minute walk to the centre of the city the hotel is in a lovely neighbourhood with cafes, bars and restaurants all of a high standard. The room in our hotel was very comfortable with a view of the city. Wooden beams on the ceiling and comfortable antique furniture.

The staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a quiet and tranquil atmosphere which offsets the buzz of the city. We enjoyed having an aperitivi on the loggia before dinner watching the sunset. We would certainly book again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whylee88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your choice and for sending your evaluation: we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,811 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,539 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 410 in Florence
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $119 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing