We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location. Make sure you ask for a first floor room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location. Make sure you ask for a first floor room”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and the location is great. Virtually everything in Florence is walk able and you wouldn't want to hire a car. This hotel is minutes from the Pitti Palace so across the Ponte Vecchio Bridge and on the opposite side to the Uffizi and other major attractions however they are all within 15 minutes walk.
We were slightly surprised when we arrived as the hotel is on the second floor and at the time the square the hotel overlooks was closed as they regularly have open food markets there. Inside the building is reminiscent of beautiful tall Florentine buildings.
Do ask for a room on the first floor where tall windows & beautiful cornices are the norm. We stayed on the top floor which lacks any of the finesse found on the lower floor and although our room was spacious we were disappointed having opted for the more luxurious room.
Breakfast is quiet but sufficient. The hotel has a beautiful veranda and multiple lounges for guests to relax.
Getting to Florence is easy. The train (approx 8 Euros) runs between Florence to Pisa Venice or Rome. One tip though, do validate your ticket by putting it into the machine by each platform prior to travelling or you will be fined.
Everything in Florence is expensive and the restaurants outside the hotel are no exception. Expect to pay £30 for pizza and some pasta and up to 5 Euros for an ice-cream on the Ponte Vecchio Bridge. It's a beautiful location and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thegees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    259
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
179
627
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at this gorgeous boutique hotel for 2 nights in June. Tucked away on the Piazza Santo Spirito it is in comfortable walking distance to most of Florence's attractions. The rooms are spacious with simple elegant decor and frescos on the ceilings. The terrace as mentioned by others is a peaceful haven in between outings day and night. The staff were delightful and very welcoming. My son had dropped off a bag a week before my arrival and it was waiting in my room when I checked in. The lovely Trattoria La Casalinga just around the corner was a great recommendation for delicious, authentic and reasonably priced local fare, just make sure you make a booking as very popular with the locals.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was quite simply one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. The sheer delight of being in such a historic building, beautifully restored with spacious rooms and excellent facilities was a treat not to be missed. Breakfast was delicious, the location was perfect being both quiet but within an easy walk of all the main sights of Florence, all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and there was a stunning open verandah with beautiful views. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had an amazing one night stay here. The staff were super-helpful, even taking us to two different rooms on two different floors for us to choose one. The palazzo is beautiful and very grand, the bedroom had a classic florence view, fab shower & very comfy bed but the real star of this hotel is the loggia terrace that we were lucky enough to have to ourselves for a drink at sunset. The view over piazza santo spirito is amazing, a very special spot.

Room Tip: Choose piazza side for views or courtyard side for peace and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambrosia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

With a (huge) balcony view of the Piazza San Spirito this was a truly romantic getaway in old roman fashion (you can have breakfast served here or drinks in the evening). Short walking distance to all the severities of Firenze. Rooms where spacious, and the accompanying bathrooms where very nice. The service was excellent with a very friendly staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ABSpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great location overlooking Piazza Spirito Santo, but quiet inside. Our room was spacious with a high ceiling. It's not luxy, ie, linoleum floor in room - but was clean and staff were very helpful and friendly. A real plus was the large balcony and indoor loggia that extended around 2 sides of the hotel. With its lovely view it was a great spot to read, plan the day with a second morning coffee or have a pre- dinner glass of wine. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwriteVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has what many other hotels miss, authenticity! Located just on the Piazza Santo Spirito, with a fantastic loggia, unique in its kind at the top. The room I stayed in was about 40 m2, 6 meter high ceiling with a marvellous fresco, and a private balcony facing the piazza. Can you wish for more? The service is excellent and personal, make you feel really welcome. This is probably the most unique hotel I ever stayed.

Helpful?
2 Thank rivieraman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
1,696 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,418 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
1,944 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing