We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel Close to Everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Palazzo is a wonderful old property - 500 years old to be exact! The location is less than a 15 minute walk to the Ponte Veccio, the Duomo, and other must see attractions. The rooftop bar has a perfect view of the Piazza San Spiritu. The staff was vey helpful with restaurant recommendations, taxis, and making us feel welcome. But it is not a place for the weak as there are a lot of stairs!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor as you will avoid many flights of stairs. The rooms on the Piazza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your choice and for sending your evaluation: we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our room was changed from our original booking which was on the ground floor, to one on the first. Poorly furnished and very inconvenient for the breakfast room which was up several very cold flights of stairs. The only good thing was the loggia. Certainly not all the rooms are from the second floor upwards.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are sorry that the room you are allocated was not to your liking, unfortunately at the time of your booking there were no rooms available, except a small apartment on the ground floor with two windows overlooking the Piazza S. Spirito. When there is a situation like this, we always notify the customer what is it and leave it to him to decide whether or not to confirm the room. Surely the top floor rooms are the most scenic and more convenient because the same floor as reception and the breakfast room without having to take the elevator.
If you should come again, face us this happened and we will try to accommodate you in the best way to remedy this.
Sincerely
Ferdinando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this lovely little hotel in mid February, for 4 nights. We were on the top floor (essentially the garret) and the weather was cold. I was concerned that with traditional and authentic terracotta tiles and bare walls, the room would be cold and unwelcoming. Quite the opposite- it was idyllic! Lots of space, a wonderful rooftop view over to the Pitti. Palace, a feeling of peace and tranquility that I have seldom felt in such a city centre location.
This hotel is perfect for those of us who want an authentic experience at a very reasonable price. The staff were friendly but not overbearing, most spoke English well and we were made to feel very welcome but left very much to our own devices which is what we prefer. The loggia is stunning, and the major rooms equally impressive. The bar directly across the square is ideal for pre dinner drinks, while the trattorias round and about are equally accommodating and very well priced.
I found the breakfast rather dull and repetitive as there was little variety on offer. All in all however, I would return tomorrow if time and funds allowed!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Eben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for sending your review. We're really glad that you spent such a wonderful time at Palazzo Guadagni.
About breakfast, we'll try to change it.
we really hope to see you soon again
Best Regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Hotel Palazzo Guidagni is located within the walls of an ancient building which has been beautifully maintained. The rooms are all different, and each is special. We stayed in the family suite, which has two bedrooms seperated by huge, very old wood double doors. The ceilings were high and coved, and the floors were beautiful mosaic stone - obviously very old, but very beautiful. The bathroom was small and older, but everything worked perfectly, with plenty of hot water and water pressure. Breakfast was good - boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, and coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and juices. Be advised that there are many stairs. There is an elevator, but it is very small and does not go to the very top. Parking is off site and expensive - nearest is a 5-10 minute walk - and cost us 21 euro per day for a tiny car. The hotel shares the building with a school (you will never hear them), and rooms are located on different floors, with the reception and breakfast room at the top of the building. Don't miss the gorgeous balcony on the top floor! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Family room is really two rooms and is huge, but no view. Be sure to request information about park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLG030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure for us to welcome your review and we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again when in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Me and my niece enjoyed 3 wonderful days here, in spite of rainy weather and arctic cold! In our two huge rooms it was warm, clean and cosy, the view from roof terrace to the snow-covered surrounding was unique. The trained staff, specially Rita and Atish, was really friendly and cordial and had an open ear for special wishes! For breakfast we had always fresh fruit salad, yoghourt and a nice brown bread. Maybe it would be nice also for other guests, to have some real cheese for breakfast in the country of peccorino? But for us the only minus point we recognized only at departure: We arrived at 8pm on wednesday and left on 9am on saturday and we payed for parking in the car park 85 euro! That we found really a lot, maybe it would have been better to come to Florence by train, but we enjoyed it to go by car to a short trip to Siena.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for choosing our Hotel for your visit.
It is always wonderful to hear that a guest has found the service so warm and accommodations exceptional.
Thank you for your suggestion for breakfast.
We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Florence.
Kind regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just a quick to note to highly recommend Palazzo Guadagni. From the discreet entrance off a bustling square, you ascend several floors either via a grand staircase (100+ steps!) or elevator to the top of this beautiful old building. We really did feel like Italian aristocracy with the high ceilings and wonderful views of Florence! The rooms were more about period features than mod cons, our room 5 was just off the reception, but this wasn't a problem at all out of season. We sampled several restaurants around the hotel and each one was superb. Staff were all great, breakfast fresh...all in all hard to imagine how our stay could have been any better. Great location too, minutes from the station, Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sending your evaluation and for letting us know about your experience with us.
The whole staff is glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us, We really hope you will be able to join us again in Florence.
Best Wishes
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in low season, in winter, first week of January 2013 so the room price was much lower than in high season in summer. My review in "value for money" would have been lower if I paid the high season summer price.
I will make it short: its a good hotel in good location, staff were friendly and helpful. Some rooms on top floor will require you to drag your bags up the stairs (no lift in the top floor) but otherwise we were happy overall, considering the lower price.

Room Tip: in summer the Piazza St Spiroto can be noisy at night, so rooms at the top may be more quiet. Eat d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACID_RIDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for letting us know about your experience with us.
As the hotel is located in a 16th century building we have not been allowed to install a second lift to reach the upstairs rooms in addition to the internal stairs, but we help always customers with their luggage.
We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 409 in Florence
2,195 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,831 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
553 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 409 in Florence
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $107 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing