We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Views and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #45 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you want: (1) a wonderful view of the city of Florence (including the Duomo), (2) a comfortable terrace to sip wine or have breakfast, (3) experience the feel of staying in a rustic medieval residence, (4) stay within walking distance of all the major sites but avoid typical tourist traps, and (5) experience the local flavors and hangouts, then this is the hotel for you.

P. Guadagni is located in the Piazza Santo Spirito and hosts an open market and a string of restaurants with excellent ambiance and outdoor seating well into the warm evenings. Gusta Pizza, Il Canapone and Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina are some of the dining spots within a few hundred feet. The ponte vecchio is but a few blocks away and the duomo is a very easy walk also. For the best views ask for a superior double room (acres of space - not literally acres) and is extremely comfortable. Be warned, wifi signal is weak on the upper floors but no problems on the beautiful terrace area adjoining the dining/breakfast room.

The bed we got was a bit uncomfortable on one side but these things are hit or miss at any given hotel.

I would definitely stay here again. For anyone visiting Florence or any other city for that matter is to download the trip-advisor app for that specific city, that way you will have all the restaurants and attractions along with a map and no need for internet or cellular service to access this information.

Room Tip: Pick rooms facing the Piazza
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your choice and for sending your review,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We'll improve the wi-fi signal
We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel Palazzo Guadagni was the perfect base in Florence. After a long international flight, the staff at this comfortable, friendly hotel made me feel very welcomed. It has a bit of a B&B feel, but with more privacy. The rooms are very large, clean and the outdoor balcony is great for views. What I liked best about this hotel is the location. It's right across the Arno, so easy walking to the city center and sights. But the Oltrarno neighborhood is very local - not touristy - and you get a feel for local Florence living. There are great restaurants in the neighborhood and inexpensive shops for picking up wine and such. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a bustling piazza, so I selected a courtyard-facing room for a quieter sleeping expe...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for letting us know about your experience with us.
Best Regards
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we have just come back from a week in the Hotal Plazzo Guadagni and it was a wonderful stay, the rooms are large and airy, very clean and with large firm beds. Our room was on the top floor which was good exercise if you wanted to use the stairs, or there are lifts to the hotel and just few stairs when you are in the hotel. The views of the Pritti Palace were stunning. The balcony is perfect for breakfast or evening drinks, and you get to chat to all the other people staying there as well. The reception were helpful in booking hotels for us, the only thing missing on arrival was a map of florence, but we got around fine. The Plaza de Santa Spirito is lively and full of great places to eat if you dont want to venture further afield.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I had a great experience at Palazzo Guadagni. We loved the location and the staff was great. Our room was much bigger than other hotels we have stayed at in Italy. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Florence!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VincentK965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Arrived in Florence with no hotel booked with two friends. We were recommended the Palazzo Guadagni and it was exactly what we were looking for. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the prices very reasonable for the location. Thoroughly worth a visit, just for the balcony and tall windows if nothing else!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdScCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my partner for a few nights. Really spacious and clean rooms with a modern bathroom.

Great terrace to have a drink or breakfast on.

Our only complaint was the beds. We booked a double room but it turned out to be two singles pushed together which was a little disapointing.

Otherwise a nice place to stay. If i could guarantee a real bed Id stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonandHevonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is something very special. I stayed here two years ago but was welcomed back like an old friend. My rooms were like a dream come true, with a fantastic view across the square over to the Duomo, Campanile and all the other famous buildings of Florence on the other side of the Arno. The spacious public terrace has similar views and is a great place to read, have a drink or whatever you want to do to relax. It's such a nice place to be, it's tempting simply to stay there and experience the city from there, without the distraction of the tour groups trying to 'do' Florence in a day.

The Campo is a great place to eat and the market makes it a real attraction for local inhabitants. I stayed in five locations on this trip, in Bologna, Siena and Venice as well as Florence and this was the one to which I would return with the greatest pleasure.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a particularly great view but the view from the public area is fantastic anyw...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 411 in Florence
1,789 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#53 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 411 in Florence
1,523 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,520 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 411 in Florence
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $120 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing