We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #47 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Very Friendly & Professional Staff.. Great Location.. Very nice Hotel.. Beautiful Rooms..
Great Views.. The largest Bathroom of any of the hotels we stayed in Italy..Go to this Fantastic Hotel, you will have so much Fun!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitesurf720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Owner at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

Dear Mr / Ms,
thank you for your positive comment.
We are glad you really liked your stay to Palazzo Guadagni, our rooms, our services and our staff.
We really hope you'll be back to visit us nex time you'll come to Florence.
Thank you
Looking forward to seeing soon from you, we send our best regards.
Ferdinando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

Palazzo Guadigni is in a great location on Santa Spiritu Piazza, a walk across the bridges from the more touristy areas of central Florence. It's not elegant, but comfortable and in some areas quite charming. The balcony is a real treat, with views of Florence. Our room was huge with high ceilings and a great view of the city and the Duomo. Right outside are several cafes and restaurants under the trees (not found in many places in Florence).

Our only gripe was breakfast, in the hotel which was almost all bread and pastry; it would have been nice to have some good cheese and a few meats, standard in most Italian breakfast buffets. Otherwise: great value and a real respite from Florence traffic, and with a wonderful balcony overlooking the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FmrTravelWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I was in Florence for three days to meet some client, Palazzo Guadagni is located in a very convenient position, close to the river and the main building.
I had lunch with my client in a very nice restaurant in Santo Spirito square, one minute walking from the hotel.
My room was facing the square, it was so charming with beautiful frescos and a fireplace!
Next time I will come back here!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and would certainly return. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, from a very late check-in to an early departure one morning. We stayed in the apartments attached to the hotel in 2 very large rooms with an interconnecting balcony. I chose the hotel because I had visited this beautiful piazza before, with its wonderful church, atmospheric cafes and restaurants and popular small shops. It is a busy and lively square with a morning market so the rooms looking onto it are not for those seeking complete tranquility. On the other hand it provides an experience of less touristy Florence, the location is excellent and we (including my 2 children and their grandmother) loved the vibrancy of the piazza.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jholmesmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at Palazzo Guadagni in April for two weeks and were in heaven! Its location is perfect – on the Piazza Santo Spirito, mere blocks in one direction from the Pitti Palace, and in the other direction the Arno, Ponte Vecchio and Duomo. Even though it is close to such sites, the neighborhood is not touristy - it is very much a local neighborhood, in the center of the historic district of Florence. The palazzo is beautiful! Its loggia on the top floor overlooking the piazza and hills outside the walls of Florence is a wonderful spot to have a cup of tea or glass of wine or just to sit and marvel at your good fortune to be in such an amazing city and staying in such a beautiful spot. The proprietors, Laura and Ferdinando, are quite simply the nicest people you will ever meet. They make you feel as if you are part of their family and will help with any of your needs – booking tours, making dinner reservations, recommending spots to visit or shop, calling taxis.
The rooms are wonderful – each is different, very spacious, with high ceilings (some frescoed) and private baths. The rooms facing over the piazza are quite lovely, but can be noisy at night as there is a lively night life on the piazza. Because the palazzo is an historic building, the local government has prevented the proprietors from installing double paned windows to help keep the noise at bay. For most who stay in those rooms, however, the night life outside is not an issue – it adds to the flavor of the Florentine experience. Rooms on the back of the building are very quiet and look out over the Pitti Palace or the Duomo – so you can’t go wrong with any room in the place!
Breakfast is great – fresh fruit, cereals, fresh croissants, breads, muffins and jams, yoghurts and cheeses, juices and coffees and teas – plenty to get you started on your day. And the price of a stay in this unique gem is so very reasonable - particularly considering that you are in the center of the historic district, so close to all of the spots on any visitor’s list of things to see in Florence. And did we mention the loggia?? You really can’t do better anywhere else in Florence! We can’t recommend Palazzo Guadagni highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaoJazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I stayed at the solo Hotel Palazzo Guadagni for 3 days in early May and found it to be an absolute gem! I have lived in Florence as a student and then historian for a total of 7 years since 1969 and have organized and led 45 small-group tours throughout Italy since 1983 (Italy Adagio).

I first stayed on the site of Palazzo Guadagni many years ago when it was run as the Pensione Sorelle Bandini. A few years ago it was beautifully updated by the current owner. New spacious en suite bathrooms; lovely spacious, high-ceiling rooms that maintain that simple early-Renaissance feeling; free wi-fi (although, as is the case throughout Italy, you'll have to ask the management where to find the hotspots).

An incredibly lovely loggia gives ample pictureque views of the hills at the city's southern edge and of the bustling piazza below – with a local market in the morning, very good wine bars and cafes, and the ideal Renaissance church of Santo Spirito (designed by Brunelleschi).

In fact, the location of Palazzo Guadagni is incomparable. Located on Piazza Santo Spirito, in the heart of the Oltrarno (Florence's "left bank"), the neighborhood is one of the few areas of Florence that remains classically Florentine – residents' families have lived there for generations, small artisan workshops are to be found wherever you look, and the cafes, winebars, and shops are staffed with genuinely friendly and helpful people. You're not only just a couple minutes walk from Masaccio's Brancacci Chapel or the Pitti Palace galleries, but the Ponte Vechhio is just a three-minute walk, the gateway to the Florentine treasures on the "right" bank of the Arno.

To top it all off, the Palazzo Guadagni staff is most gracious and helpful. While I was there I was charmed by their friendliness and helpfulness. I can't wait to get back there in October for 5 days with one of my small groups.

Room Tip: The non-street rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dantefortysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Owner at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Dear Mr / Ms,
thank you for your beautiful comment.
We are glad you really enjoyed your stay to Palazzo Guadagni, our staff and our services,
So see you again in October with your group, hoping everythinks will be fine.
Looking forward to seeing soon from you, we send our best regards.
Ferdinando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I had a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend Hotel Palazzo Guadagni!
It's an amazing Palace with outstanding terrace overlooking the Square and beautiful Tuscan hills. Lovely, charming room with modern bathroom. The staff is so nice and friendly. And it's within walking distance of the center and all famous attractions.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
Thank dxy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,245 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 411 in Florence
2,407 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 411 in Florence
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,867 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 411 in Florence
2,054 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $84 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing