We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favorite restaurant”

Ristorante Accademia
Ranked #123 of 2,680 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $44
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: Restaurant Accademia is a family-run restaurant. Food and art are our passions. Our clients are a glorious mix of locals (lots of professors from the Art Academy around the corner) and new friends from around the globe. Our aim is to provide you with a memorable dining experience, whilst having fun, meeting people, and perhaps learning something that we are happy to share regards food and wine. An unforgettable experience.
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I didn't expect much when the hotel we were staying at offered to make a reservation for us. However, when we arrived at the restaurant and were greeted by Marco, we realized this was a find. In fact we returned the next night! Our first night was bruschetta and a florentine steak paired with a great bottle of prosecco. Our second night was all about their fresh pasta....starting with a caprese salad, spaghetti pomodoro, gnocci and per Marcos recommendation a lovely pink sparkling wine. We also took Marcos recommendation on dessert and had an awesome chocolate cheesecake and a wonderful fudge...vanilla cream....both nights were awesome. It is very good that this restaurant is not in our home town...we would be there every week.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vsstanton369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hmmmm - we might have to open a new restaurant in your home town! Thank you so much, It was our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    374
    116
    40
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berkhamsted
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor were disappointed with the Ristorante Accademia. We had a table of four and ordered four starters but there was a gap of several minutes between the first two being provided and the second two arriving. It left the two people who had food uncertain whether to wait or to eat it before it got cold. The main courses arrived all together but the waiters appeared to have an uneven loading on the number of tables they were looking after. Finally one of the desserts that we ordered was delivered incorrectly. In terms of food quality however it was very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJNUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
When the customer is right the customer is right. Valid points, note taken. We do hope to have the opportunity to show you that we don't often get it wrong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The food was great, service a little slow, but made up for it at end of the meal by giving us limonciello at the end of the evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Uh - sometimes things do get ultra busy! Thank you for understanding and we are glad you enjoyed the limoncello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice meal in Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We ate at this restaurant on recommendation and the place was very busy but they were able to get us in in 20 minutes so we went for a drink elsewhere and came back. The restaurant has nice decor, the tables a little close together. The food was very good, we got gnocchi, a mixed seafood grill and salad and everything was very tasty. The service was good as well. Good place to eat in Florence, not totally blown away but we enjoyed our dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faithdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Ok - we'll take that. We are not happy about it but we will take it. you are from Sydney. Sydney has some incredible restaurants, some wild fusion cuisine, service beyond belief. We know.

Thank you for commenting, and maybe you'll come back one day. Possibily we will never "blow you away" - but we will surely give you a reliably good meal with great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Leaves Much to be desired!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Besides the location and convenience, I would not step in here for the food, atleast if you are vegetarian, this is a bad choice!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Ouch! That hurts! And you don't even really tell us why ...

We have lots of vegetarians (and even vegans and plenty of people with allergies - can you immagine a client coming to an Italian restaurant who is allergic to garlic? We did last week, and we served her a full garlic-free meal that we made-up on the spot).

This is all we have for vegetarians... (and then of course dishes from the daily menu, including apertisers, first and second courses). Wine, desserts and coffee are vegetarian too. And as all our dishes are made express from the fresh ingredients in our kitchen, if you ask we can rustle something up just for you no problem.

Bruschetta (freshly chopped tomatoes with garlic & basil served on a toasted bread)
Mixed platter of Italian cheeses
Mushroom strudel served with poppy seeds & a light parmesan sauce
Asparagus with eggs & fresh truffle shavings
Grilled polenta topped with fresh artichokes & drop of balsamic vinegar
Caprese salad: Fresh mozzarella, tomato & basil
Michelangelo salad: lettuce, arugula, pear, Pecorino cheese, pine nuts & honey
Fra Angelico salad: arugula, mozzarella, avocado & zucchini
Soup of the day
Homemade gnocchi with tomato sauce & basil
Spaghetti chitarra served with a “slightly spicy” fresh tomato sauce
Large ravioli filled with spinach & ricotta served with a porcini mushroom & truffle sauce
Risotto served with zucchini flower & saffron
Eggplant timballo stuffed with mozzarella

Not quite sure what you found wonderful about our location (tucked behind a bus-stop on a very busy square), but we are delighted that you think so.

We guess we will not be seeing you again, and we are truly sorry for that. But we promise, if there was really nothing to your liking on the menu, had you told us, we would have found a solution. We always do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Accademia also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Accademia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing