We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best in florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Carraia di via De' Benci

La Carraia di via De' Benci
Ranked #31 of 216 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“best in florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

we got a pistacchio and chocolate/hazelnut cone, very generous portion and out-of-this worlds texture flavour and taste. by far the best gelato we tried in florence (and we tried many), this unassuming little shop is even better than its big sister. definitely worth searching it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brenthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    33
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEST gelato in Florence and the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The title is no exaggeration. This is the best gelato you'll find in the world. If you come to Florence and don't stop at 1 of the 2 locations, you haven't lived yet. Stop reading this now and just go. Your welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Jdmspoonctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST Gelatto in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you are in Florence you must bypass all other Gelaterias and visit this one. My two sisters and my husband spent several days in Florence in Sept 2013. One the advice of a local waitress we went here after finding Vivoli (the place everyone says has the best gelato in Florence) closed. One our first visit we tried every flavor Roberto had in his case. The staff is very kind and willing to let you try as many samples as you'd like. They truly want you to be happy with your choice. Roberto became a long lost friend, even trying to teach me how to "roll" my R's to say his name properly. We visited at least once a day...it is that good. We did go to Vivoli and the gelato is very good, some of the best in the city, but can not be compared to La Carraia's quality. I am a real foodie and have tried lots of gelato while abroad...take my word, this is the BEST GELATO IN THE WORLD!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
534 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Hard to beat : quality, price, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This location of Carraia (the other one is in Oltrarno at the corner of the bridge, is handy if you are in the Centro Storico and offers excellent quality gelato at the best price we found at any. They don't have a zillion flavors but what they do, they do extremely well. My favorite: amaraneta, a creamy gelato studded with dark sweet cherries that are full of flavor. My partner loved his chocolate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our second visit to Florence. We thought we had found our favorite the last time around, but we were wrong! We still like De Neri, but this place has it beat! Now, Neri has much better selection, but the consistency and quality seemed better here. Both are still delicious though!

Strawberry cheesecake sounded like a weird choice to me, but when I tasted my husbands, I was shocked! The tang of the cheese was spot on. We went back twice and loved our choices each time. Also, the owner is so nice! When in Rome, we had our share of unfriendly gelateria workers, but the owner here is a charmer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Persephone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carraia di via De' Benci also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Carraia di via De' Benci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing