We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Noisy”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #44 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

To be fair, we didn't spend a lot of time within the hotel room. The first night I was sick and we stayed in. The next two days we had scheduled tours, so we were away from the hotel a lot. My review......The room was nicely decorated, and the one time we did have breakfast in the hotel it was really good. The location was good, right next to the main train station.

However, the walls are thin. If you are a light sleeper like myself, you hear everything...we heard footsteps from the room on top of us; We heard when someone flushed the toilet or took a shower; we heard the couple next to our room arguing and coughing. If wasn't made for a good sleep.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank My2Cents15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at L'Orologio.
I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our decoration, the location and our breakfast service in the panoramic hall.
While we are really sorry that you didn't get proper sleep, I would like to investigate your case a little further. I would really appreciate it if you could get in touch with a little more details, if you reported your concerns about the noise to our staff, how we reacted to that. Thank you so much for your cooperation.

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
There are newer reviews for Hotel L'Orologio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night in Florence at the Hotel L'orologio in August. The hotel seems as if it has been completely refurbished. The room was very clean and the furniture was new (many hotel rooms in Italy are furnished with worn and tired furniture). The bathroom was as nice as any five star hotel I have stayed in. Perfectly clean and new. The common areas of the hotel are very elegant and pretty. The location is perfect, just a five minute walk from the train station and a five-ten minute walk to the Duomo and all other tourist sites. Our room was dark since the window looked into the interior courtyard, but this was not a big deal since we only spent time in the hotel at night. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful (the hot chocolate was great!). This hotel was my favorite of the four hotels we stayed in during our trip to Italy. Definitely the most modern and new. Excellent value for your money.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a view, make sure you ask at checkin. Many rooms look into the interior cour...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77audreyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5* review of the hotel. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at L'Orologio. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all of the facilities and most importantly the service you received during your stay with us.
Thank you for your kind comments, your feedback is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent two nights at this amazing hotel. Upon arrival we were immediately upgraded to a very large room and excellent bathroom. Both were spotless and no attention to detail had been missed. The furnishings were very homely and the bed extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was a sumptuous affair and the views from the atrium were quite stunning.
We were very impressed with the front desk staff who were always willing to offer guidance and directions and to make reservations for dinner.
We will definitely return on our next visit to Firenze.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience!
It’s a great pleasure when our guests are feeling more than happy during and after their stay at L'Orologio.
Thank also for the kind words about our Front Desk team that is always glad and proud to suggest the best places to visit in town and surroundings.
Looking forward to welcoming you back I wish you a wonderful Autumn.
Warm regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel and its sister next door, the Hotel Santa Maria Novella,(both part of the same group) are outstanding in their furnishings, atmosphere, great staff, great breakfast comfortable beds, and great location. You can walk everywhere and it's a 5 minute walk to the train station.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank PJWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedbak following your recent stay with us at L'Orologio. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and all of the service and facilities that we are all so very proud of. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Our best wishes

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent hotel, we went on our honeymoon and they left a welcome note and biscottis in the room.
The hotel has amazing design, the room was very large compared to other hotel rooms in Europe, the bathroom was very large as well.
The front desk staff was great, help us locate places we wanted to go, and recommended a great trattoria to have dinner.
Great hotel choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyrocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for leaving this nice review of your experience at L'Orologio.
Everyone at L'Orologio takes great care in offering our Guests a memorable stay.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your Honeymoon in Florence with us and that everything reached your expectactions.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent location. Room was great. Very comfortable with a great view. Front desk staff was great--excellent dinner recommendations and always helped us secure reservations. We were very happy with this hotel choice.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank JT0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We are delighted that we met your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back we wish you a wonderful Autumn.
Warm regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Really - everything about this place was good: location, staff, breakfast, bar, rooms, bed, shower, bath, etc.

Booked two rooms on-line. All that was available were Junior Suites (which were actually about the same prices as the regular rooms...). Nice big, clean room. Air conditioning. Great bed, pillows, bed covering. Very clean rooms. Nice shower and a separate, large bath-tub. Spotlessly clean.

Modern atmosphere, nice bar area, very nice breakfast on the fourth floor.

Short-walk from the train station and easy to walk to all of the main sites. Staff was very friendly and and made the best restaurant recommendation of the entire trip (Buca Mario - very highly recommended).

Could not have asked for more, would like to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GVA_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your review.
We are very glad that you enjoy your stay with us at L'Orologio.
It is always a pleasure to see that the dedication of our staff gains true recognition from our guests.
We sincerely hope to see you again soon in your Florentine home.
Warm regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#27 of 411 in Florence
1,670 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,986 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 411 in Florence
1,524 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 411 in Florence
1,553 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 411 in Florence
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $198 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing