We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florentine Perfection, absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Florentine Perfection, absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is absolutely perfect, I could not wish for more.

The decor is captivating. Even as someone who has never put too much thought into watches or clocks, I can appreciate the decor of this hotel and the passion that the own has shows in the dedication to detail.

Each room has a name (named after a Rolex timepiece), and the timepiece theme is carried through right down to the taps in the bathroom.

The bathroom was luxurious, and the slippers and robes supplied were heavenly soft.

The bed was firm (without giving aches from being too firm), and the room well-let without being bright or dazzling.

Breakfast was a sublime start to the day, located on the 4th floor, again with the theme of the hotel carried through to the crockery and napery, and the coffee was both strong and abundant. One could linger over breakfast coffee without feeling rushed or as though we had been there too long. Although I am short, the view over the piazza from the breakfast room was enough to draw me in to daydreams, and the staff were attentive and efficient in their roles.

All of the staff were helpful, friendly and engaging, and more than happy to recommend their own favourite parts of this beautiful city.

The hotel does have the ability to park your car for you - take advantage of this, and enjoy walking around Florence. The major train and bus station is a short walk away (as is the beginning of the hop-on hop-off bus tour), and leather merchants are prevalent in the area. I for one delighted and reveled in the scent of leather in the many shops in the district.

I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a luxurious stay in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecnalubma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and your special comments and your enthusiasm. It is with immense pleasure that we hear that you found everything about L'Orologio amazing and consider it "the Florentine Perfection".
We are really glad you enjoy our property and his leading theme inspired by the fine watchmaking. Here, as you have excellently noticed, some of the finest top-end watches became decoration details and interior suggestions.
We are pleased you enjoyed our panoramic breakfast hall and the service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in our property.

Our best regards

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    291
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
269
648
42
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Perfect is the best way to describe this hotel! From the moment you arrive, you are greeted warmly by the staff, as they do everything in their power to make you feel at home. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The breakfast service is excellent, with a large variety of different items to choose from. With it's central location, it is the perfect home base for your Tuscan holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therogersfamily44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
You can´t imagine how we feel happy and proud when we read comments like yours. We work hard to make our guests feel like they were in their homes.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back to Florence soon.

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous room, we loved the clock theme. Great service. Very clean bathrooms that were beautifully decorated. Very comfy bed! Loved every minute we stayed at this hotel. Plus, it was a great location. Thank you for a great few nights on our Italian tour!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for you kind words on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the L'Orologio!
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us.
We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your holiday in Florence spent with us left you with a pleasant memory.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to L'Orologio once again.
Warm regards

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was a very nice hotel! Very nicely sized comfortable rooms, great bar, and really good breakfast! A great place to land after a long day walking Florence. Very friendly and helpful staff. The bar has really nice indoor and outdoor seating. If sitting outside you are basically in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The location is close to everything but just far away enough to not be in the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to read your feedback following your recent stay at L'Orologio. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Bar de L'O and we are very proud that our team delivered a great service to you and that we met your expectations.
We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future in your "Perfect home in Florence"

Our kindest regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

While the hotel looks small when you walk in, we have not seen more beautiful and lavish rooms in any hotel we have ever stayed in. The service was incredible, the rooms were gorgeous, breakfast was fabulous. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymooners827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your stay at L'Orologio.
We are delighted to hear your kind words. It makes us extremely proud to read that you found the service excellent and that the staff was friendly, as these are our top priorities. We are always very happy and proud when we receive such positive feedback from our valuable guests.
Please rest assured that we will share your nice words with the entire Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Florence!

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After poring over many options for a stay in Florence, we settled on the Orologio, and it turned out to be a terrific choice. The hotel's location on the Piazza Santa Maria Novella is excellent -- a bit away from the maddening crowds, but still a short walk to almost all of the major sights. The hotel is absolutely beautiful -- whether you like the very strong clock/watch theme or not. The lobby is small but very nice, and there are some great sitting areas and a library just a few feet away. The hotel has a small bar with both indoor and outdoor seating. We were upgraded to a family suite, which had a king-sized bed and a one-person sleep couch, and our room was absolutely beautiful -- wood floors, warm colors, great design. Our room was also very nicely sized for a city hotel, and the bathroom was huge and incredible, with an oversized tub/shower that was amazing after a day walking all over town. An excellent breakfast was included in an amazing, glass-enclosed room on the top floor with great light and views. The service was professional and friendly. including valet parking (cost extra) which was really nice after driving through the city to get there. The hotel definitely has a boutique feel, but the level of decor, the size of the rooms, the style and the service made it feel much more like a 5-star hotel than a 4-star.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review!
We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you appreciated every aspects of our property and we managed to satisfy your expectations.
We will certainly share your appreciation with all our employees!
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at L'Orologio!

Sincerely Yours

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our party of 7 (4 adults and 3 teenagers) booked 3 different rooms for one night. We drove to the hotel (very, very difficult with the one way streets and closed areas) and the took advantage of the 35 Euro valet parking (it was worth it).
Deluxe Double room with Queen bed had an upstairs lounge area which we did not really use. Deluxe double with two single beds had a massive bathroom which was lovely for the kids. Both rooms had cathedral height ceilings and a view of the square. The Junior triple suite (room 322) was spectacular with a cozy round nook upstairs (our girls had a sleepover there) and a private terrace on the roof that was too hot mid-day but beautiful for a drink in the evening. It had a beautiful view of the city. All the beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were equipped nicely.
The location is walking distance is just about everything and especially close to the leather market, Il Duomo and Accademie (David).
There are nice lounge and library areas throughout the hotel to relax and have a drink but we did not have the time to enjoy these. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Junior Suite #322 may well be worth the splurge with it's unique nook upstairs and private rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickering4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your experience at L'Orologio
and for your absolutely lovely and through review.
It is with immense pleasure that we hear that you found everything about L'Orologio amazing, location, accomodation and service. We will be sure to share your lovely words with all our team.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.
Warm regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
1,592 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
1,854 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
1,083 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#28 of 421 in Florence
606 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 421 in Florence
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing