We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the love of clocks...”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #44 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“For the love of clocks...”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very good location, just minutes away from the train station - a beautiful small hotel. [You can walk here from the station]
Interior is done in a very aesthetically pleasing fashion with comfort and luxury for the traveller as the top priority. The owner seems to have a love for the clocks. Beautiful time pieces are on display and paintings of watches too.
We stayed for 3 nights and had breakfast here every morning. That was the only disappointment. While the menu had variety and taste, the servers or the staff did not really care about the guests. Complete lack of interest in providing top service.
Other than the breakfast room staff, everyone else was pleasant and courteous. After exploring Florence all day, this hotel was a comfortable place to come back to to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HafsahSyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review and for the nice photos.
We are glad that you loved our Hotel, the location and the atmosphere and the service.
As it is a priority for us that everyone leaves the Hotel completely content and with lovely memories we are sorry to hear that your breakfast experience was not perfect.
We truly apologize for that because we can reassure you is something very unusual for us since we pride ourselves in making each stay unforgettable for our Guests.
We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future when, we are sure, you will have an entirely positive experience.

Yours sincerely,

Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    295
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
274
656
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A short walk from the train station, on the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. There is no visible signage and it sits slightly back from the Piazza on your left as you walk from the station. The room was large and well appointed, as were the lobby and other public areas. Breakfast was an extensive buffet with many offerings. The fitness center was particularly nice but there is no pool. The staff was friendly and the price was moderate for Florence. All of the major attractions were within walking distance. A tip-buy the "friends of the Uffizi" pass which entitles you to skip the lines at many of the museum attractions in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Very satisfied with the recent stay at this hotel. We liked the prime location, which is right in SMN square and also walking distance to the train station.

Rooms are well appointed, great breakfast and reasonably priced. Standard rooms don't come with a view, but this is within expectation given the price. Will return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed on level4, in a double superior room with a queen size bed however this bed was more like a king (Australian standards). The hotel was lovely and very spacious. Close to the train station (<5mins walk) and literally walking distance to all the sites in florence.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and was also served on level 4 and their wifi actually worked as opposed to other hotels we stayed at in Europe.
The only negative points of this hotel was 1. The noise from the bar downstairs on the Friday and Saturday night we could hear people singing to at least 2-3 am..
2. We requested an iron, so that I could iron my top given its been squashed in a suitcase for 4 weeks and we were advised that they do not give out their iron and that we had to use their laundry service to have my top ironed. This meant I would not get it back until the following day and would cost the price of dry cleaning. We felt this was a bit ridiculous for such a hotel.

Other wise nice hotel and great location!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OandH1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about L'Orologio.
we are very glad that you enjoyed our comfortable king size double bed, the interior and atmosphere of our boutique hotel.
We are sorry and surprised by the noise problem at 2:00 in the morning since our bar closes at midnight. Furthermore the rooms on the fourth floor are very quiet and they are equipped with soundproof windows.
In any case, we thank you for reporting and we will investigate to understand what happened.

About pressing we would like to inform you that our hotel does not provide iron and board to our guests in respect of their safety and security, not only for fire implications but also for possible injuries and/or incorrect use and in accordance with Italian regulations. For this reason is available a daily laundry and pressing service.

We all look forward to welcoming you again at L'Orologio soon!

Yours sincerely,


Pierluigi Sassano
on behalf of Claudio Delli, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent a night in this hotel in August and had a very nice experience. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable, you get what you paid for. Our room was on the second floor and had a window to the street but the street noise was relatively moderate and there was no noise from inside the hotel. The furniture was brand new and the bathroom nice and large. We slept very well that night.
The hotel has a very tasteful interior and the staff was very helpful especially since we arrived by car of which they took care of with valet parking. The breakfast was included and also exceeded our expectations. This hotel is very conveniently located in the center of Florence and it was easy to walk to the main attractions (5-10 mins to the cathedral).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here this past week for two nights and wish we had stayed longer. It was located easy walking distance from the train (our mode of transportation) and was a great location to explore Florence. The room was amazing and the staff were extremely helpful I can't say enough great things about the hotel. Breakfast was delicious with a beautiful view of the square. They recommended a great restaurant buca Mario near by which lived up to the expectations set. The gym is only one stair master and one treadmill and the only complaints would be that it was quite stuffy down there and we didn't have a clue how to work them but some how got them going. We definitely plan to come back on our five year anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions in July a total of 8 nights. The location is great. Close to the station (don't waste money on a taxi!), and walking distance to all the major sites. There is also an abundance of good places to eat across all price ranges.
We were initially concerned that our room was a bit dark, so the staff showed us several other rooms. We stayed in the one we were originally assigned, but we were impressed with the efforts of the manager to ensure we were comfortable.
The split level layout of the floors could be a bit confusing, but the rooms were very well appointed, with quality linen.
We thought the reception staff were some of the best during our entire 6 weeks in Europe - helpful, friendly and professional. We also enjoyed the breakfasts in the bright and airy dining room.
The wifi was better than at many other hotels too.
We chose this hotel based on the reviews in TA and they were right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with more than one window. It's much brighter during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieJulesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#24 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing