We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #43 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here in February and saw weather from all four seasons in four days from strong sun to snow. The hotel is really well located (although not very well signposted) and within easy walking distance of the main sights. Breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room had great views on to the Piazza Santa Maria Novella below. The whole hotel is really well appointed blending modern comfort and older style. The staff were very helpful when we wanted to organise a trip to Siena and San Gimigniano. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    298
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
281
669
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We walked past the hotel the first time but because we've previously seen some photos, we were able to find it fairly quickly (note: the hotel signage at street level is rather small). Located close to the train station and across from the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, it is in a convenient location and an easy walk to tourist attractions and shopping!! If you are after some alternatives to Italian fare, there is a great japanese ramen shop (Banki/Banchi Ramen) nearby. Our hotel room didn't have much of a view and it was a bit cumbersome to get to with a short flight of stairs up and down leading to the room, particularly if you have baggage. That's why it doesn't get the 5 stars in our rating. But would we stay here again? FOR SURE.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our trip to Florence was the gateway for our family trip to Italy. My husband and I adore Italy and we wanted our children to feel the same. We hope to make this regular pilgrimage for the entire family going forward.

After 20 hours of travel, their introduction had to be perfect and the Hotel L'Orologio was the ideal destination. It is situated in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, facing an open air market and adjacent to one of the most significant churches and fresco collections in Florence. We checked into the hotel with ease and walked into some of the loveliest rooms I have ever had the pleasure to collapse in. They were large and luxurious, and the bathrooms were even better.

Breakfast the next morning was an absolute vision. My family had a hard time getting me out of the gorgeous rooftop loggia and away from the huge and varied breakfast. The view alone makes the reservation here a must.

The hotel staff had been extremely helpful in assisting us in making a variety of reservations without charge and with great knowledge and enthusiasm before we arrived. The best was the Teatro del Sale, a must-see experience. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Florence after this. The value for the setting, staff, and location is unbeatable. I am soooo looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Every room is great. I would stay off the Piazza in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, the Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a decent hotel close to the train station. It's a bit pricy, but you're paying for the location. One thing that surprised me was that they have shower curtains in the shower, and ours was very smelly. Also, the breakfast restaurant is very cramped in the morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and it was a very good base for our trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frode N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My first impression upon walking into the Hotel L'Orologio was that the hotel could easily have been in New York. It has a beautiful, modern esthetic and is a short two minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella church and train station. Everything is a ten minute walk, as Florence is not too big of a city. We LOVED our room, which had a gorgeous large bed, hardwood floors and a view of the Duomo. The breakfast room was lovely and had all you could possibly want to eat (eggs, fruit, pastries, cheese, meat, yogurt, cappuccino). The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is that the wireless internet did not work well in our room. I think it had something to do with the location of our room, because it would come right up when we stepped into the hallway. They tried to reset it, but to no avail. The wireless did seem to work everywhere else in the hotel. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Duomo and a large bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amykf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Clean, modern with really nice public rooms, and a good breakfast. Ideally placed far enough from the station to be in the old city, but near enough to walk with a suitcase. My only problem was that there was only one large towel, and I accidentally dropped it in the bath before drying myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranelaghandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed just the two nights, Great location & handy to the train station which was great for us Staff friendly. Breakfast good. Nice amenities & rooms a good size. Very clean. Good quality 4 * hotel had a small gym, but it is a 4* property. Hotel theme of clocks/watches was interesting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 412 in Florence
1,649 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 412 in Florence
1,955 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 412 in Florence
1,508 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 412 in Florence
1,529 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing