We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Only stayed one night but were very impressed. The staff is so very welcoming and helpful. They are always ready with GREAT advice about a good restaurant for dinner or where to buy bath salts to enjoy the FABULOUS tub in our bathroom! The beds are comfy and the bathrooms are spacious. The internet is fast & the breakfast buffet is GREAT!

Room Tip: Room 204 has an upstairs balcony sitting room! Bring your bath salts to soak away those sore legs af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    294
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
271
648
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my first trip to Florence and I loved L'Orologio. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The location is ideal. 5 min walk from train station, just on the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. 3 min walk to the Duomo and San Lorenzo. 10 min walk to the Uffizi and 8-10 min from Academmia. Just wonderful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitaC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is in a great location at Piazza Santa Maria Novella. It was a bit hard to find, with its subtle signage, but once we did, boy what a classy place. The "clock" theme (from it's name) appears around the hotel and the rooms. The design is stylish and distinct. Our junior suite was amazingly spacious, with our 8 year old having another large room all to himself. The lighting in the room was a bit dark - I liked the mood, but it may not be to everyone's taste. We even had a an attached terrace with a great view (see the pic). From the hotel, most of the attractions are an easy walk away. Even the train station is only 5 minutes away. Breakfast features ample choice and quality of food. L'orologio oozes with all the charm of Florence itself. We stayed 2 nights and now wish we had stayed a few more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohan_Prabhakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was spending one night in Florence before heading on to Siena. Hotel L'Orologio was a perfect way to spend that evening and it's charm, excellent service and well appointed room made me want to go back and spend more time. It is very well located on Piazza Santa Maria Novella...5 minutes to the train station and an easy walk to restaurants, shopping and some of the best sightseeing in Florence. Breakfast was delicious. I hope to stay in the Hotel L'Orologio again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 394JaneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed four nights in standard room which was beautifully decorated with large bathroom with shower. All modern appliances complete the feeling of luxury. Breakfast on the fourth floor affords wide selection in continental breakfast with great views over the Piazza. Furnishings in public areas are of the highest quality of design reflecting the theme of clocks throughout the hotel. Welcoming bar for pre-dinner drinks and at reasonable price .We would praise the reception staff who responded promptly and helpfully to pre-arrival email requests and were a font of excellent advice as regards Florence ,it's museums, churches and other sites . Piazza Santa Maria is only 5 minutes walk from the Duomo and indeed all of historical Florence is only a short walk away .One of the very finest hotels we have visited in Europe

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawmanglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great hotel in a very convenient location. First class customer service. Clean, sleek and QUIET rooms. Nice breakfast. The front desk staff was very helpful in providing recommendations for restaurants, in making reservations and helping with directions. We were only here for three nights and wish we were staying longer. If I return to Florence, I would definitely come back to the L'Orologio.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESH102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went here for our wedding anniversary.

Everything about Hotel L'Orologio is first class from the staff at the front desk to the corridor that you walk through to get to your hotel room, to the romantic feel of the actual room itself. The bathroom that we had was really nice and spacious and was almost the size of the bedroom itself. It had a rain shower and a handheld shower. The bathroom had a regal feel as it was mostly made of marble.

The breakfast is also pretty nice as you get a view of Santa Maria Novella square. We went to Florence in early March it was a really sunny weekend so you'll often see locals sitting in the square just basking in the sunshine.

The beds were soft and unlike most European hotel rooms, we actually had a Queen sized bed rather than 2 beds put together (this even happens at 4+ star hotels so we were greatly surprised).

Florence is generally a walkable city so we walked from the train station to the hotel and to other sites. The train station was about 5 minutes walk from this hotel which was really handy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#28 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing