We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Elegant and luxurious boutique hotel in excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #34 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Elegant and luxurious boutique hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed four nights in standard room which was beautifully decorated with large bathroom with shower. All modern appliances complete the feeling of luxury. Breakfast on the fourth floor affords wide selection in continental breakfast with great views over the Piazza. Furnishings in public areas are of the highest quality of design reflecting the theme of clocks throughout the hotel. Welcoming bar for pre-dinner drinks and at reasonable price .We would praise the reception staff who responded promptly and helpfully to pre-arrival email requests and were a font of excellent advice as regards Florence ,it's museums, churches and other sites . Piazza Santa Maria is only 5 minutes walk from the Duomo and indeed all of historical Florence is only a short walk away .One of the very finest hotels we have visited in Europe

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawmanglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    278
    46
    14
    6
See reviews for
259
626
38
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great hotel in a very convenient location. First class customer service. Clean, sleek and QUIET rooms. Nice breakfast. The front desk staff was very helpful in providing recommendations for restaurants, in making reservations and helping with directions. We were only here for three nights and wish we were staying longer. If I return to Florence, I would definitely come back to the L'Orologio.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESH102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went here for our wedding anniversary.

Everything about Hotel L'Orologio is first class from the staff at the front desk to the corridor that you walk through to get to your hotel room, to the romantic feel of the actual room itself. The bathroom that we had was really nice and spacious and was almost the size of the bedroom itself. It had a rain shower and a handheld shower. The bathroom had a regal feel as it was mostly made of marble.

The breakfast is also pretty nice as you get a view of Santa Maria Novella square. We went to Florence in early March it was a really sunny weekend so you'll often see locals sitting in the square just basking in the sunshine.

The beds were soft and unlike most European hotel rooms, we actually had a Queen sized bed rather than 2 beds put together (this even happens at 4+ star hotels so we were greatly surprised).

Florence is generally a walkable city so we walked from the train station to the hotel and to other sites. The train station was about 5 minutes walk from this hotel which was really handy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 8 days and found it to be very clean, comfortable and very strategically located near train and bus stations, restaurants, attractions. The breakfast room is bright and airy, the food is very good. Staff I was friendly and helpful.
The only negative is the bar tender who, when we stopped in for a drink in the evening, was so involved in a cell phone conversation that we had to call him 3 times to come and give us our bill!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a 4 night stay mainly for conference, and our 4th visit to this ever-busy city.

On the positive
1 Convenient for train, variety of restaurants and distance to main galleries ant the Cuomo.
2 Light and views from 4th floor breakfast room, and fair variety of food.
3 Standard room size fair, and clean.
4 Good bathroom and shower rose, but you might need care stepping over high bath side.
On the negative
1 Staff rather unhelpful. Several reception staff watched us struggle into foyer in rain with cases, trying to keep door open , but no help. Porter summoned only after checkin. Trying to get breakfast staff attention to get a coffee was always a challenge. Help for reserving a dinner table at a desired restaurant fell off their notice resulting in no booking except on next day reminder, and no table then available.
2 Noise of water, shower, toilets in rooms above very unpleasant through the night.
3 Temperature control in room poorly modifable, but heat could not be lessened by opening window because of noise in street below
We will look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SydneyDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent a couple weeks in Italy moving to the main cities, but for first we decided to stay in the city of art, Firenze where we enjoyed completely the time because the cultural atmosphere among friendly people who help any tourist moving through the city giving very important notices about where to spend our time. For the hotel we loved this one, we chosen looking on the other users recommendations, and we definitively had a very nice vacation. Funny funny funny people!! What a nice language they use!! Very surprising. Good experience for the first time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnypattinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business. I would have given it five stars however they had an awful bartender who was very rude. He spent more time talking to his friend than serving us. Then a woman fell walking through the bar area and he laughed at her.
Other than that everything was wonderful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabella41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#56 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#16 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#27 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing