We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #34 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business. I would have given it five stars however they had an awful bartender who was very rude. He spent more time talking to his friend than serving us. Then a woman fell walking through the bar area and he laughed at her.
Other than that everything was wonderful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabella41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    278
    46
    14
    6
See reviews for
258
625
38
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked a Junior Suite which provided us with a very large, well-appointed bedroom and the largest hotel bathroom I've ever seen. Fantastic shower. The famous Duemo is just a ten minute walk away and the other sights are equally accessible by foot. Extremely clean and modern throughout, with the exception of the cranky TV in the otherwise magnificent suite.. The breakfast choice was somewhat limited but the quality of food was excellent. The bed and pillows were luxurious but our sleep was impaired by the airlessness of the room - with the air conditioning unresponsive to all our attempts to rectify this. Due to the formality of the staff on the desk, we elected not to seek their advice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank headprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We got a family suite that overlooked the plaza and the Santa Maria Novella. Rooms are spacious clean, and room is turned down every night. The breakfast is one of the best with a great select of food choices with also beautiful views of the square. This hotel is a great location in Florence and walking distance to the train station as well. We really liked the heated floor in the bathrooms!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay here for two nights in May, 2012. This was definitely the pick of the hotels of our European trip (which included Rome, Paris, London and Amsterdam). The room was spacious and comfortable, with a fantastic bathroom. We had a double superior room.

The hotel is very centrally located and the staff very helpful. They made some very good dinner suggestions; one of which - Osteria Il Mostrino - served the best gnochhi I've ever had (and it singularly wants me to return to Florence).

The breakfast was probably the best of any hotel in our trip, situated in a lovely room with a view, and plenty of hot and cold choices.

My only complaint would be the wi-fi was a bit flaky, but my partner would be very unhappy if I gave the hotel less than 5 stars!

Definitely glad we spent the extra money to stay here and would come back to this hotel if we ever do get to return to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Large, well appointed room. Great location and wonderful staff. The common rooms were spacious and interesting. Loved the bar. Staff was very helpful and the hotel was in wonderful shape. Breakfast room was beautiful and overlooked a square. Food plentiful and delicious. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiepick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked a four day mini-break in Florence and stumbled across this hotel via TripAdvisor. We did not regret our gut instinct to book it. The hotel is beautiful, immaculately clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is in a lovely room on the fourth floor with views over the city. The clock theme is fascinating and impressive, the clocks are everywhere and worth taking the time to explore properly. We are already recommending this hotel to a friend who is travelling in the spring, and we are looking forward to our next trip when we will definitely stay here. One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my 2nd time in Florence and I couldn't have dreamt of a better accomodation than Hotel L'Orologio. It is 5 min walk from the central railway station and 5 min walk from the Duomo and 3 min walk from via Tornabuoini - just to meet every taste and expectations. The interiors are very cosy and at the same time chic, the room was spacious and beds were comfortable. The breakfast is served on the 4th floor on a very light terrace with a view of Santa Maria Novella church and square. It is a wonderful place to start your day with :-) Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaSh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#56 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#15 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#27 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing