We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exceptional.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #34 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It was my second time in Florence and this time it was with my family of 10. Never heard of this hotel before but oh my..Fantastic hotel, 2 minute walk to the Santa Maria Novella train station. The hotel is across from the Santa Maria Novella church, right at the corner of the piazza. The signboard is a bit small and you might miss it first time (which was what happened to us!). Room was spotlessly clean and you feel like you are in a posh New York apartment bedroom. Staff spoke brilliant English and service was exceptional. Breakfast was good and the view from the restaurant was fantastic. It's designed as a boutique hotel, we spent a lot of time at the fireplace next to the lobby reading our Kindles! Wifi was fast and free (unlike most hotels). Everything felt so personal and done to a very high standard, will definitely be staying again. I think it has set a benchmark for all my future hotel stays. Exceptional. Well done Hotel L'Orologio!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaid I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    269
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
249
605
38
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Elegant ambiance, very close to the train station. Staff were very friendly and personable, personally assisted us for a couple of things we needed as a family of 10 travelling through Italy for the first time. WiFI was free as well, which is a great bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farhanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Due to last minute change of plans, we booked Hotel L'Orologio for 2 nights just a few days before arriving, based on TripAdvisor recommendations. We were not disappointed at all.

The hotel is elegant and we thought the price was very reasonable for the quality of the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean as well as very quiet and the bed was the most comfortable bed and pillows in Italy. There was coffee service in the room and free WIFI that worked well. The bathroom was huge with a large shower. Bath products were high end.

The hotel has a clock theme which was carried out in an elegant fashion without being too cutesy or overdone. We stayed in room 305.

Breakfast was good and the dining room was clean, bright and cheerful.

The location is perfect, within a 5 minute walk from the train station. It was within walking distance of all of the major sites. We highly recommend Hotel L'Orologio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay here. Our room was a huge suite, with a walk in closet area, a living room, and a bedroom and bathroom. The common areas of the hotel are very nicely appointed and the bar is fun for a pre or post dinner drink. The breakfast at the hotel was wonderful, in a gorgeous room on the top floor of the property. I was only disappointed with the desk staff: when we asked for them to make us reservations for lunch or dinner, they wouldn't confirm whether or not it had been done. So twice we showed up to a restaurant that was closed, when we thought the hotel reserved us a table. Other times we would ask one person for help and then check back in, a different staff member wouldn't know the status of the request. In any event-- book your restaurant reservations online when possible, and save yourself the headache!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The rooms were lovely - lots of space and well appointed. Breakfast was included and very good - continental style with lots of choice. Easy to walk from the train station but it doesn't have very clear signage so not obvious when you get into the piazza. Try the raspberry Bellini in the bar. Best I've ever had. We'd go back to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July while we were in town for a friends wedding. I booked this hotel based on the reviews on here and was not disappointed. The hotel is located a quick five minute walk from the central train station, as well as the duomo. We walked everywhere with no troubles at all. The breakfast was delicious each morning with lots to choose from and the hotel is very clean and nicely decorated. I also have to mention that even though the hotel is very close to the train station, it felt very safe and we walked around all times of the day and night with no problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsG1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A short walk from the Station, the hotel is well located as to all the museums and the downtown area. The rooms are clean and modern, our suite had a terrace looking out over the Duomo. Clean, staff very attentive and friendly. Public rooms very beautiful. Worth the price and would go back. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices and located in a nice room with a great view of the City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HENAM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,476 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing