We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star luxury at a 4 star price”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #44 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 star luxury at a 4 star price”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel wildly exceeded our expectations. The rooms were immaculate with marble tiling and molding throughout. The bar and restaurant we absolutely beautiful. I enjoyed a nice cigar and bourbon in their smoking lounge. The location was perfect being situated so close to the train station. My wife and I took the train from Rome and were able to walk to the hotel conveniently located on Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The breakfast was very good also. It truly felt like we were in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    296
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
274
659
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alsager
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked this 10 months ago and were not disappointed. Our junior suite was fab until we discovered the plug in the bath was not functioning. A bath was an essential pure-requisite for my wife so the staff moved us to a 5th floor suite instead. The location is perfect, the rooms of high spec, the staff helpful and the hotel is top quality.

Room Tip: Go for a suite. The views on the 5th floor are stunning with views of the Duomo and have own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlsagerZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel, which was walkable from the central train station. Florence was the first stop of our Italy tour, and Hotel L'Orologio was a fabulous start to our tour! Hotel staff was very helpful and professional throughout our entire visit, even after we have checked out. They also gave very good recommendations on sightseeing and dining spots. Rooms were lavishly furnished, hotel interior decor was pretty posh with clocks theme, and breakfast spread was quite good.

Everything was excellent, there was absolutely nothing we could complain about - super recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

As already mentioned many times here, the hotel has an excellent location, just 5 min walk to the Duomo, around 15 min to the Uffizi museum or to the Ponte Vecchio.
The rooms are excellent, clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom is very clean and beautiful. The breakfast is not bad, but based on the high standard of the rooms I would have expected a little bit more. There are few options of fruits, pastries and few types of bread. No toasts are offered.
But anyway, as our stay was very pleasant and the location is perfect, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our family stayed in this beautiful hotel and we were very happy with the experience & location. This property is great, the rooms were nice & clean, the lobby, the bar and the staff were first class, the fact that you are 5 minutes away from Florence's Main train station is great, but what it is incredible is how quiet the hotel is. I am looking forward to go back to beautiful Florence and laos to stay at this great hotel once again. Excellent...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

After staying in Rome for a couple of days, we traveled to Florence. The hotel was absolutely perfect. We had the second floor corner room overlooking SMN Square. Spacious room with everything we needed. Staff was excellent while we were there. Easy walk to everything! Even before we arrived, Debora Marsili in reservations was incredibly helpful. While the room we were continually promised back in Rome at the Sofitel was given away before we checked in, the room we were promised at the L'Orologio was waiting for us and was everything we expected. I only wish we could give them six stars!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great location for walking almost anywhere. Especially convenient to the train station.
Unfortunately we did not read the room tips and were given 408 which was right next to the breakfast room (which is beautiful by the way) and it was quite loud as the staff was getting ready for breakfast and as guests waited around for the doors to open.
The bar area is lovely and we returned from dinner every evening and had a cocktail by the little pool. They recommended some great restaurants for dinner which were all very close by.
I would stay here again if I ever do make it back to Florence!

Room Tip: avoid 408 which is too near the breakfast room and can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljavy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 422 in Florence
1,621 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 422 in Florence
1,903 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,478 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#27 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing