We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed a very comfortable stay in this luxury hotel, just ignore the grumpy lady running breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a very comfortable stay in this luxury hotel, just ignore the grumpy lady running breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel is ideally located as only 5 mins from the train station and then a very short walk to all the major attractions. When we arrived I was very pleasantly surprised - I could tell we were going to enjoy our stay, and I wasn't wrong.

Our room was clean, spacious and very comforable. The bathroom was luxurious, and the toiletries were really good too. We had a drink in the hotel bar and sat outside on our first evening. The drinks are pricey, but you get a great selection of nibbles so it is worth splashing out. We had a great couple of nights sleep, the hotel was so quiet.

The only downside was the rather rude lady who was running breakfast. We went to breakfast 15 mins before the end of service, and things were starting to run very low (no fresh fruit left etc). My husband asked if he could have some eggs (as they had run out) and she made a point of looking at her watch, shrugged her shoulders and then headed off muttering something. The eggs were delivered shortly after, and were delivered with the same bad attitude. I don't think this is the level of service this hotel would want to deliver, as it was very good service in all other areas. It did make us feel uncomfortable though, especially as the same miserable lady was running breakfast on our 2nd morning!!

It was a minor issue though, and don't let it put you off what is otherwise a really excellent hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMacs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    293
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
271
648
42
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. I travel all over the world for business and this hotel was fantastic. The hotel is located in an excellent part of Florence near shopping and all major attractions. The hotel rooms are very large and modern and the beds are extremely comfortable. The bathrooms are large and spacious and even feature rain shower heads. This hotel should really be 5 stars and only lacks that rating because it does not have a full service restaurant. It is a gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in 312 and 313 and they were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephmikecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

great hotel in a very good location... close to all major sites but still away from the crowds.
hotel room very clean and hip well working wi fi internet and delicious breakfast in the 4th floor over looking town. great choice.
stuff in the front desk are very helpful professional and ready to help with anything- only thing they will never smile being very serious for some reason.. i am not sure why??
next time i will definitely go back .
enjoy!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyorker3331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I love this hotel from the breakfast to the service. This hotel is in a perfect location in Florence you can walk to any part of the city but still have it quite and beautiful. I am returning to this hotel soon so i will let you know if it is still as great as it was last year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieVGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

This hotel is rated as a 4 star but in my opinion should be a 5 star. It is a recently renovated old Florentine Palazzo that has been converted to a hotel and they did it right!
The hotel means watch or clock in italian and the hotel theme is all about high end watches. Each room has a name of a famous maker watch. Our's was the "Explorer" by Rolex. The room sizes are huge for European standards and the bathrooms very luxurious and BIG. Full size bath tub , rainshower.. Very nice amenities. The location is great right on the Piazza Santa Maria de Formosa, walking distance to the train station. It could get a bit noisy after the bars closed, we could hear people walking on the streets and there is alot of people that hang out on the piazza at night, people watching +++.
We definately will come back. The staff was very knowledgable and friendly. The hotel's breakfast room is very nice with a view of the piazza, Great food selections. You will not be disappointed with this property!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genève
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

the hotel is located in the very centre of Florence. The rooms are beautiful, very clean and very comfortable . The service is perfect. We really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sosov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

The lack of a restaurant , the mediocre and low signal wi-fi , and the fact they gave us a downgraded room without telling us....saddens me that I can't give it top marks. On top of it the attempt to put the highest rate on the bill for the extra night and the dour and sour faced head receptionist who didn't know what an apology was....for the litany of errors...made me leave with a bad taste. However it's still worthy of top marks if all of the above nonsense had not happened and there was an eatery within. The rooms are superb, the beds are great and everything about the hotel including the sensational breakfast room on the top floor and good but not excellent breakfast, has an aura of a well thought out , beautifully decorated,serenely quiet, and most pleasant hotel in a location that couldn't be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#28 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing