We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local spot in Florence” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Armando

Trattoria Armando
Ranked #296 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $65
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Description: Typical family run florentine trattoria from 1957. Menu is seasonal with home made pasta and desserts and traditional flavours. Ambience is simply elegant with informal and attentive service.
World Traveler
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Local spot in Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A simple restaurant that combines local clientele with international Visitors who seem to have discovered this small and cozy restaurant. Service was attentive and food was very good. A good recommendation for lunch or dinner while in Florence.

Helpful?
Thank Tango&Luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    135
    36
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lost but found a Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

On our search for another restaurant, which we did not find, we "settled" on this one. Greeted at door the place was hopping with customers. After a brief wait we were seated and presented with a wonderful cup of Tomato soup, followed by simply the most amazing Ravioli we have ever had. It was on the first course. My wife had the grilled quarter chicken and I had a Beef Stew with a broiled pear (yes you read that right) and it was crazy good!

Dessert was the tiramisu and gelato with berries. I would never recommend eating twice at a place in Florence since there are so many great ones but this one would rank with best.

Ciao

Helpful?
1 Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
399 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Ah, delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a wonderful discovery! We were wandering the streets near our hotel and thought the quiet, narrow entrance to Armando's looked interesting. We entered and were greeted by a gentle proprietor who seated us and promptly made the evening special. As another reviewer noted, we had such a nice meal here our first evening in Florence that we came back our last night as well.

We always look for restaurants frequented by locals, rather than tourist places (in fact, avoid Caffe Concerto Paszkowski - 75E ripoff). The meals are better, the staff are genuinely nice, and the prices are better. A delicious meal with wine and desserts was 65E.

Remarkable food: salad with pecorino and pear; buffalo mozzarella with pomodori; ricotta ravioli; Tuscan crostini, fagioli piatellini. And dessert--lovely. Don't skip the homemade apple cake.

They have a small staff--three wait people--so if you're in a hurry, this isn't the place for you. You want to relax into the atmosphere, the friendliness of the place, and enjoy yourself. The wines were quite nice--we always try the house wines in Italy. The proprietor opened one, smelled the cork and set it aside to open a new one for us.

Don't miss this place--we'd definitely go again if we get back to Florence.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MurryG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best food we had on our entire trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This charming little restaurant was one we just stumbled upon and we felt lucky there was room for us, arriving as we did, without a reservation. It was warm, comfortable, romantic, and fun. We enjoyed our meal so much that first night, we chose to return on our last night in Florence as well. On both nights the restaruant was packed with locals and tourists having a wonderful time. Our food was delicious, beautifully prepared and their timing was perfect. We took turns trying various pasta dishes and meat dishes. Everything we tried was lovely. My favorite pasta was luscious, with a creamy cheese filling and my husband raved about the spice in his Tagliatelle with Wild Boar. (He talked about it for the rest of our holiday) And at the end of our perfect evenings, they let us linger over our bottle of Tuscan wine without making us feel we should leave so they could turn over the table. Next time Iam in Florence, I will return to this lovely Trattoria.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank winewomantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightlful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wow, this place was great. We didn't see many tourists (us). What we did see was an authentic quality Italian restaurant where food was prepared, presented, and timed perfectly with only two people (the owners?) on the floor, and it was busy. Would definately return to this wonderful restaurant. The pork, the pasta, the desserts, the espresso were all outastanding.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LizPapay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Armando also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Armando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing