We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wonderful tasting gelato” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Gelateria Fiorentina

Antica Gelateria Fiorentina
Ranked #7 of 197 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“wonderful tasting gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

very fresh and yummy flavours to choose from. it was right near our hotel (near san Lorenzo church) so not filled with tourists like other gelati places. it was also the cheapest gelato we had in italy - great value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luisaconsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    102
    26
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Amazing ice cream, the best we had on our tour of Italy. Some interesting and tasty flavours. Would eat there happily for the rest of my life!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mackem83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great gelato and a good price in central Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Yes, walk a few streets away from the main streets around the Duomo and get your gelato here! They won't rip you off and it is also really good tasting stuff. Why pay 3 euro when you can get one here for 1.50. We returned to this place several times. The street its on has lots of cheap eats too - well worth exploring and a short stroll from the central market and everything!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CiaraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best chocolate gelato yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent gelato! One of the best i have had so far. Highly recommend both the chocolateand chocolate chip. I am sure we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank npcx4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“keeps you coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Happy to have gone through the trouble of finding this gelateria. Went there twice over 2-day period in Firenze. Ordered 2 cups each time.

Gelati was really good. You get to choose 3 flavours for a 2-euro cup. I probably tried at least 8 flavours. Everything was good (cioccolato, cafe, pistachio, fragola, ambrosia, dolce de latte, something with orange & saffron, cheesecake). You can also try the flavours before you decide on your order.

I generally have preference for chocolate / vanilla-based ice cream, but was blown away by fragola (strawberry) and ambrosia (yoghurt, cinnamon, honey). I had those flavours twice.

Stop by this place before heading to the open market for leather (which is very close).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pale_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Gelateria Fiorentina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Antica Gelateria Fiorentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing