We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to the reviews”
Review of La Burrasca

La Burrasca
Ranked #97 of 2,703 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't live up to the reviews”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I ate dinner here on a 3 week trip so we had plenty of context for comparison. This restaurant is relatively inexpensive but the quality food is nothing special. I wouldn't go back but I wouldn't say stay away. The stew we had was very good, peppery, tasty, rich but the tomato bruschetta was probably the worst I ever tasted - bland tomatoes on stale bread. The Olive Garden does it better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    321
    53
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great taste, great value”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We came on the recommedation of out hotelier, who advised us that restaurants with hand written, limited menus and without people attempting to drum up business or photos of the food are the places to go, which confirmed my previous experiences of trattoria/osteria style eating. A friendly waiter showed us to out seats in a small but pleasantly rustic room. Service was well timed and surprisingly attentive considering there was one waiter and one chef for a restaurant with about 30 guests. The 26oz T Bone steak was certainly the highlight - perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned, and reasonably priced at €28. And considering half a litre of good wine, some sparkling water, a cheese plate for two to share, a potato side (which I didnt need), and my fiancée's very tasty goat's cheese pasta dish only took the bill up to €51, it was very well priced. No 'coperta', 'servizi' or bread charge, with our digestif of Amaro gratis, was a refreshing change.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This meal was disappointing. The spaghetti all'amatriciana was a bit watery and bland. The ravioli with osso buco ragu was slightly better. The waiter was friendly and the clientele boisterous. Overall it was very fairly priced, just not that tasty across the board.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ASL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Super good value, super good Tuscan food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great little unassuming trattoria with really hearty authentic Tuscan food. Had typical Tuscan antopasto with mixed salumi and cheeses, lasagna, and cantucci+vin santo for desert. Service was good. Very small place with small tables, but clearly a place where locals go. Not for those looking for a fancy experience but rather a nice home cooked meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Most people equate expensive to mean good and inexpensive to be fair. This was just the reverse... The food was exceptional and the server was entertaining. Listen to the server when ordering, he did not steer you wrong. Great food great price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossmarcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Burrasca also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Burrasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing