We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a bigger Hotel sign !”
Review of Rosso 23

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosso 23
Ranked #123 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Get a bigger Hotel sign !”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is a great location for the city and the train station but we walked straight past it the first time as the hotel has no sign just a small free standing notice which was almost inside the lobby ! the hotel was clean and the breakfast ok but like other reviewers we found some of the staff indifferent, the wi-fi never worked while we were there. The bathroom we had was one of the worst designed I have seen as the toilet was so close to the sink you had to approach it sideways ! and the shower was incredibly small (watch your elbows !). One other problem was the damp smell of the air-con in the evening throughout the hotel and in the rooms ( not just us but our friends also noticed how bad it was ). This hotel is ok for a couple of days stay but I am sorry to say there is probably better in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a8kgkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    334
    123
    31
    16
See reviews for
91
455
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good location on Santa Maria novella piazza and very close to train station. Recently refurbished and very clean, The reason I gave them only 3 out of 5 was that sadly the internet rarely worked over the three days and when it did only on one device. Also the staff did not engage the guests in conversation they were not rude but we're somewhat invisible and as for the various front desk gentlemen some we're obliging and some not,
As I have said in my title if Florence is not so much about the hotel than this is a good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Nice short level walk from the train station which is great if you are travelling with luggage! Watch out as there is no sign for the hotel- look for number 23 between the 3 restaurants! Great location near to all the main attractions and fairly quite as its located on the Santa Maria Novella square. Had a room facing the square- great view but can be noisy early in the morning when cleaning truck comes! Room was spacious with nice size bathroom with bath/shower, very clean and tidy. Decor is grey and red throughout as their signature colours! Breakfast was continental style but seemed to run out of bread and sliced meats quickly- but does offer very nice cakes. Found out later we could have asked for a coffee latte or capuccino. No bar or dining room but many options nearby- don't forget to ask at reception for the best eating options. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful over the 3 day stay.

Room Tip: room 215 facing square great view but can be noisy at night. Nice size bathroom with bath/shower com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Bit of a shock when we first arrived as had come from a 4star hotel in Venice however the rooms were clean but the showers in superior rooms we had were tiny.buffet breakfast is fine.some reception staff more obliging than others!but the location is ideal for the station and all the sights.if you have time take the bus to siena - beautiful city!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judemot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Short walk to Hotel from train station. Look out for number 23 on the building as no signage outside. Good sized room, very clean. Has a very small shower cubicle, elbows hitting the wall when washing your hair. Beautiful breakfast. Perfect location in the Piazza Santa Novella. Close to all the major sights. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our experience did not start out great as I received an e-mail from the hotel stating our credit card failed. I called and gave them another card. I got another e-mail saying that one failed. Worried, I spent an hour of my time plus 10 Euros making international calls trying to find out the problem. There was NOTHING wrong with our cards, it was the hotel's issue. He did upgrade our room to make up for the error, but it negatively impacted our vacation for a while. The room was very nice and extremely clean. Breakfast was good and staff very friendly. It was a very short walk from the train station and centrally located to all the major sites, yet still very quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice hotel on the Plaza Santa Maria Novella, but not as nice as their web site would lead you to believe. However, it was clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast decent, centrally located so walking to sites in Florence was easy. No bar in hotel, but plenty nearby for late night drinks. Staff was friendly, but nothing spectacular. If you're looking for somewhere decent to simply put your head at night, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathySails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#112 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Universo
Universo
#236 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#75 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#87 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#80 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#108 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosso 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosso 23

Property: Rosso 23
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 23, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosso 23 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel located in the heart of Florence, nearby the Santa Maria Novella railway station. On recent and meticulous refurbishing, the Hotel Rosso23 offers 42 comfortable accommodations of different typologies, some of them with a breathtaking view on Piazza Santa Maria Novella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rosso 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosso 23 Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing