We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a weekend beark”
Review of Rosso 23

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosso 23
Ranked #148 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is located on a popular square just next to the train station. You may want to look up the location on a map first because there isn’t much of a sign outside and can be easily missed. The hotel is small, the rooms are rather tight and basic but the grey and red theme is nicely done. The bathroom is tiny and I could barely fit in the shower. You probably will want to spend as little time as possible in your room, which is fine, because there is a lot to do in Florence and you can pretty much walk to all the monuments from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank oribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 813 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Located very close to rail station. Breakfast was good. Searched for toaster but didnt find it. On asking, was said that toaster is not working but chef somehow managed and gave toasted breads. Best part was that they served fresh juices instead of machine juice. Receptionist was not very helpful. Had to carry my 45+kg luggage. Red deco looks very good. Rooms are a bit on smaller side.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is nicely appointed; however, it's location is perfect. It is near the train station and also where the Tuscan Wine Tours depart. The staff were very accommodating and there is a very nice buffet breakfast of pastries and the like each morning. The rooms are spacious and have a nice courtyard view. The bathroom is spacious and has a nice bathtub. It is next door to a very nice wine bar and pizzeria in case you're tired from all the touring and don't feel like going out. Overall very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I go to Firenze every six month for the last 15 years and this is the hotel I like the most. Two times they made a mistake with my reservation and they sent me to another hotel next door but they fixed with good attentions.
I love the red deco and the breakfast is really good.
You should tried this hotel if you can because the relation between price and quality is one of the best in europe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here in 2010 and loved it so much were returned again in 2013. Both times we stayed in a double superior room with view of SMN. These rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Bathroom was well appointed and average size for Europe. We had no issue with noise as some other reviews mentioned, but we were on the 4th floor I think. I actually sleep with the window open and I could hear a little noise but nothing to bother about at all. Breakfast was fine. Stewed fruits, yoghurts, juice,breads, cheeses, meats and a selection of pastries, tea & coffee.It's a great location, just a few minutes walk from the station so easy to walk with your bags. Close walk to the markets. The restaurants at the entrance are nothing to rave about Pizza in particular at the restaurant just down on the right next to the Universo hotel is great.Also the reception recommended the Cafe de Pitti which is about 15 minute walk over Ponte Vecchio across from Palace de Pitti. This was great. Lovely decor and food. Try the Tuscan chicken. Yum!!! We also did the day trip to Siena, San Gimignano and lunch at Chianti winery. This was only 55euros, which we thought was great value. Most of the other similar tours were at least 70 Euros. But we were very happy with our tour so don't feel that its necessary to pay the extra. We found that we had enough time in each town but if you have extra days spending a day at each would be nice. All in all we love Florence and would definitely return to Hotel Rosso if we're ever lucky enough to go back

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Hotel Rosso which is close to the main station in Florence. The rooms are rather small, no where to open a suitcase but the bathrooms are very modern and clean though very small shower cubicles. We asked to upgrade to a larger room but due to a holiday weekend, there were none available. Our room was on the third floor and very quiet although rather noisy outside the hotel. The breakfast was adequate but more for Europeans with cold meats and cheese etc. There are a couple of restaurants in the square outside the hotel which are reasonably priced but very noisy. Florence is not a large city and everything is close to this hotel. We enjoyed our stay in Florence despite this rather cramped hotel.

Room Tip: Suggest booking a superior room rather than a standard one or book into their upmarket sister hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were staying in Florence for 4 days and since we were there before and noted that everything in Florence was in neighborhood, we tended to find one near to the station and close to major spots. Rosso was just 5 min away from the train station and located in the SMN square with a few restaurants there, so making you feel safe and easy. The major problem was its room size. All looked very cosy but it was too small even if we expected it from other reviews. The shower was so small that you could not turn around. The breakfast was a collection of bread and cereals, suggest to get cappuccinos somewhere else. The receptionists were robotic in greeting guests.... But if you look for a hotel with standard facilities at great location, reasonable price, it's not bad!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Haelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#85 of 409 in Florence
257 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Universo
Hotel Universo
#240 of 409 in Florence
556 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#123 of 409 in Florence
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#71 of 409 in Florence
1,503 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#82 of 409 in Florence
1,222 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#129 of 409 in Florence
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosso 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosso 23

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 23, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $82 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosso 23 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel located in the heart of Florence, nearby the Santa Maria Novella railway station. On recent and meticulous refurbishing, the Hotel Rosso23 offers 42 comfortable accommodations of different typologies, some of them with a breathtaking view on Piazza Santa Maria Novella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rosso 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosso 23 Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing