We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“American bakery in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Bakery

Mama's Bakery
Ranked #11 of 68 Bakeries in Florence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Florence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“American bakery in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

a cozy location to taste a good american coffee and genuine food. i discovered it with an american friend and often i go to read and relax.unfortunately closed early on saturday and sunday is closed

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie33Florence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    58
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food is good but I expected more variety. Cupcakes and brownies can be found elsewere in Florence! The sandwiches were well prepared and tasty, I liked the bagel bread.
The place is clean but it looked kind of "empty" and not very warming.
The staff makes its work but they seemed mostly shy.....a smile would have been appreciated. The only one who seemed to take care of clients was the owner.
This place could do more to be "distinctive".

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy & USA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Still Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every time I visit Mama's it makes me happy. The service is great and the treats are delicious. A little bit of America on a back street in Florence.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BKBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness I found this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've been craving real American brewed coffee for the past few weeks while I've been studying here. And finally, it has come. I got a turkey sandwich with tomato and cheese on it, a coffee, all for around €6,00. Super cheap, super delicious, super friendly. However, you WILL run into a lot of Americans here. It gets a little annoying because you'll feel at home with the "typical American attitude" that the tourists bring in. If you show that you're interested in the Italian culture, they will be nice to you. However, if you show up and you're a snobby American, you can just get out...that goes in addition to adding cream and sugar to you coffee....just don't do it.

But the food, pastries, coffee, atmosphere, is wonderful :D

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tyscheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice little taste of home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, inexpensive American coffee, and bagels. It was a little out of the way but it's Florence wandering and finding little markets is all part of the experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoupMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Bakery also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Mama's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing