We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start my day.”
Review of Mama's Bakery

Mama's Bakery
Ranked #15 of 73 Bakeries in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to start my day.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wonderful place for muffins and American coffee. Cute little courtyard in the back with friendly service!

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    72
    32
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect American-style bakery in Florence”
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Delish bagels, good Amrican coffee, fabulous sweets. Love that this place makes me feel at home. Friendly service and good prices, too. Cute American-Italian couple owns the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firenze5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“a fabulous balance of Italy and America is found in this cafe”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have been here before with friends, but this time I was there for a couple hours and had a better view of the place. Bagels!!!! Toaster Muffins!!!! coffee refills. and great Italian sandwhiches etc... the atmosphere is light and friendly. The owners speak English and Italian. DELIGHTFUL!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The only thing missing was the NY Times”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stopped here after visiting the Pitti Palace. Mama's Bakery is about a 5 minute walk. i hadn't realized how much I missed American coffee and a bagel w/cream cheese until I ate there. I was thrilled when I asked for an espresso and was told "We only have American coffee". I love espresso, but after a while you just want to taste the watery stuff. The bagel wasn't as chewy as a NY bagel, but definitely close enough to cure some homesickness. Great atmosphere too!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fultonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxing afternoon!”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Loving the place! what a great tip from a friend of mine to go and enjoy a self indulgence, sweet treats afternoon...
Fantastic, easy food. friendly service, and very beautiful garden were to stand and stare.
A bit out of the center tho, but totally worth it!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogos73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Bakery also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Mama's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing