We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quite Cielo”
Review of B&B Il Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Il Cielo
Ranked #308 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights at this lovely B&B. On a quite side street, B&B II Cielo, was our retreat in the center of everything. We were made to feel at home from the moment we rang the bell. Giancarlo's thoughtfulness shows in every aspect of his establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 290 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

The B&B is located in a pedestrian area in the historical center. So the location is perfect: Via Faenza is a small alley with a few restaurants, shops and hotels. Although it's right at the center, it's peaceful and quiet. I did not sleep at the B&B but often hung out with my friend there who stayed at Il Cielo for a few nights. She told me that the breakfast was really delicious. Her room was small and simple but had anything you need and was nicely decorated, as was the whole place. There is a very comfortable common area which serves as living room and breakfast room. The owner Giancarlo is very friendly and helpful, he gave us sightseeing tips and even helped us book tickets for the museum. I definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Assljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I loved the layout of the B&B! It felt so special to be so near to Il Dormo. A very friendly B&B and I loved the artistic touches to each room and quirky style. I am very interested in interiors and this did not fail to impress. A very relaxed atmosphere. Breaksfast is a real treat! Nothing in Florence is too far to go to from Il Cielo. Not too far to go for good value restaurants. Interesting guide books in lounge area to read about all the surrounding areas which was good to read-up when we went on to Tuscany. I would return for sure!
Giancarlo is very welcoming and charming host! (especially helping me with my heavy load up the stairs!).

Room Tip: 3 rooms to choose from: 1 single very comfortable - one wardrobe but no draws to put clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Giancarlo has created a truly exquisite and unique B&B in this beautiful city. The location could not be better, close to the train station and a short walk to the Duomo and the museums. This is a wonderful and personal place that almost feels like your own apartment in Firenze, the closest you can get to feeling like a local for a few days. The care and attention over the décor and most especially the wonderful breakfast, served in the cosy lounge is second to none. Giancarlo makes his own jams and selects delicious yummy pastries as well as a great selection of other goodies. A quiet cobbled street outside meant we heard almost no city noise and could even glimpse the Duomo itself from the front room (without ensuite - but not a problem for me). This room was a delight with the most comfortable four poster bed. I will talk about this wonderful little gem for a very long time to everyone I know and I am definitely returning not just to beautiful Firenze but to Il Cielo also!

Room Tip: If you want an ensuite shower, then the back room is best (although the toilet is along the corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This B&B has three guest rooms--one single and two doubles. The doubles have sinks in the rooms, but no toilets (shared full bath with shower). The single has no plumbing. All of them are larger than average and have windows so they are bright. I did not hear any noise through the walls.
The owner, Giancarlo, is a very helpful guy and will help you carry your bags up and down the stairs (this is a 3rd floor walkup!). He helped me reschedule some train tickets online and printed out schedules for me.
The breakfast is simple, but good. Their is some type of fresh roll each day, plus an assortment of fruit, juices and some dried cereal, as well as bread, butter and jams.
This place is literally like a block and a half from the train station as well as regional bus stops, which makes traveling and doing day trips very convenient. It takes 7 minutes to walk to the Duomo from the B&B.
The ambience is decent throughout with a cute bird theme. While the decor in the single where I stayed is rather spartan, the two doubles have some design and style going on.
For what it is, this is a fine choice for those who are OK climbing stairs.

Room Tip: The single is a super value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lectrolink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

So beautifully decorated, with style, flair and incredible care- Il Cielo felt unique and more like a boutique hotel than a B&B. But unlike some boutique hotels, it was in no way was stuffy or formal- it was so, so relaxing staying there. It felt like a home from home and a little corner of peace and tranquility in bustling, and at times very touristy, Florence.

The entire place was immaculately clean and fantastic value for money, especially given the location and quality of the accommodation. It is minutes from the train station and about a 10-15 minute walk from the Duomo and the Uffizi. The breakfast was sensational too- homemade jams and marmalades, fresh coffee and local pastries Giancarlo was the perfect host too- thoughtful, helpful and very, very kind.

It was a highlight of our trip and we didn't want to leave- we will definitely be back!

Thank you Giancarlo!!

Room Tip: We ended up staying in two rooms- both were beautiful. One did have an ensuite- and the other shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great place to stay - a return visit for me and once again Giancarlo was a very obliging and helpful host. Location is excellant, an easy walk from the train station and although there is no lift, the stairs keep you fit and Giancarlo kindly helped with our bags. Breakfasts were a treat, always with fresh fruit as well as cereal, yoghurt, bread, cheese, homemade relishes & jams and a different pastry each morning - the warm apple strudel was my favorite. Thanks Giancarlo, I will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennytripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#151 of 411 in Florence
2,090 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,341 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,469 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,250 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 411 in Florence
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Cielo

Address: Via Faenza, 79blue, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $64 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Cielo (The Sky) is a small B&B in the heart of Florence, within its limits, tries to live up to the host city. Art, beauty, detail, quality and friendliness are the elements that we decided to employ this "crop of Sky" because a good sleep and a good breakfast is not enough ...Il Cielo è un piccolo B&B nel cuore di Firenze che, entro i suoi limiti, cerca di essere all'altezza della città che lo ospita. L'arte, la bellezza, i dettagli, la qualità e la cortesia sono gli elementi che abbiamo deciso di impiegare in questo "ritaglio di Cielo", perché un buon sonno ed una buona colazione non bastano... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Il Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Il Cielo Hotel Florence
Bed And Breakfast Il Cielo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing