We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay in beautiful Florence!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Il Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Il Cielo
Ranked #265 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay in beautiful Florence!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This quirky little B&B is in an excellent location- everything in the city is within a 2-15 min walk and it felt very safe even at night. We chose the front bedroom (white) with shared bathroom- it was very quiet and the bed was really comfy but the bathroom arrangement did feel strange- it was off the lounge which means if ppl are sitting there having breakfast you're running through in your towel.. we were lucky as apart from us the B&B was empty but if full it might have felt a little awkward. Breakfast was a delicious assortment of Italian pastries - my teeth will be dropping out any day from all the sugar... ! Giancarlo was very helpful and spoke excellent English. Florence is a wonderful city with many restaurants, gelaterias, shops, cafes and above all stunning buildings to wander around and I personally preferred it hugely to Rome. I hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    51
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
139
58
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South-west London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location 5 mins walk from station and walking distance to all attractions in Florence is very useful...Giancarlo very friendly gave us excellent help in finding places to go in the evening...the piece de resistance is the breakfast which is wonderful by any standards...altogether excellent value for money in Florence where costs can run high

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSmileEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Florence was the second stop on our trip, and we had just come from a 4 star hotel in Rome which was excellent. II Cielo was going to be our first B&B stay ever, and we didn't know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised, and couldn't recommend it more. The location was perfect, we got great advice from Elisa on restaurants, as she recomended to go across the river to a more local square for dinner vs. the touristy places that were closer. We stayed in the red wardrobe room that has a private shower but a shared toilet, which was never an inconvenience. Shower was a little on the tight side, but it wasn't the smallest shower from all the places we stayed. I believe it uses an instant hot water heater (at least in the red wardrobe room we had), which i had to turn on the first night as I couldn't get any hot water to come out. Once we did that we had no issues with hot water, as other reviewers may mention. Hardly enough to detract from the stay! The AC worked great, but we didn't use it much because the weather was nice. Breakfast was very good with the pastries and fruit selection. Overall, we would definitely return here on our next stay in Florence. Thank you for a great first impression of B&B's!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in July on our month-long trip around Europe. We stayed in 9 different hotels/b&bs overall and this was by far the best! There are only 3 rooms, 1 with a private bathroom and 2 rooms with a shared bathroom. Our room didn't have a bathroom but it was no problem at all because the shared bathroom was very clean and we never had to wait for it to be free. Our room was spacious and very clean. From the train station, Il Cielo is a 3-5 minute walk, and 10-15 minute walk away from all major attractions. The best part of this B&B was the breakfast! (It was very relieving to have a good breakfast after a few weeks of corn flakes and semi-stale bread) ... The owners are extremely nice and always make sure that everything is going well. There is not one bad thing to say.. If/when I go back to Florence, I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantharaesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

A big thank you to Trip Advisor reviewers for recommending Il Cielo. The B&B was only a few minutes walk away from the Santa Maria Novella train station and an easy stroll to Florence's sights. Elisa was extremely helpful and even insisted on helping us with our (very heavy) bags.

The daily breakfast (coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, pecorino and pears, pastries) was excellent and they even provide a voucher to a nearby cafe if you cannot make it. The room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. The shared bathroom was clean and spacious as well. I can't think of a single complaint; highly recommend staying at Il Cielo!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This B&B was on the fourth floor (Host will help to carry the luggage),
It might be dark when you step into the building at night.
Location is fine, within 10-min walking distance.

We had the room which has our own shower room, you need to go outside the room to use the toilet.
It was in Winter in year end. Unluckly, there was not enough hot water in the middle of the shower at 9PM.
the shower room is in very Mini size, it even difficult to turn around insdie.

Breakfast is fine. The host is in good manner.

Room Tip: Prefer to stay at a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppchang29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was a great little find. The location was fantastic-a short walk from the train station (5 minutes max) and the heart of the city (10-15 min). Giancarlo and Elisa were excellent hosts and very helpful. When we arrived, Giancarlo mapped out several places for us based on what we were looking for. Breakfast was lovely-my husband and I enjoyed eating in the sitting room. Elisa introduced us to the traditional pecorino and pears and also surprised us with the most amazing pastries one morning! We stayed in the "red wardrobe" room and loved the huge window overlooking the quiet little courtyards/patios. The room was spacious and had its own small bathroom with shower/sink. Loved the decor here-little bird details throughout! A wonderful experience-quiet, serene, and felt like we were staying with friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCblondie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#131 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Anna's
Hotel Anna's
#239 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residenza le Fonticine
Residenza le Fonticine
#74 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#14 of 298 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
San Lorenzo
Albergo Bencidormi
Albergo Bencidormi
#122 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Cielo

Property: B&B Il Cielo
Address: Via Faenza, 79blue, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Cielo (The Sky) is a small B&B in the heart of Florence, within its limits, tries to live up to the host city. Art, beauty, detail, quality and friendliness are the elements that we decided to employ this "crop of Sky" because a good sleep and a good breakfast is not enough ...Il Cielo è un piccolo B&B nel cuore di Firenze che, entro i suoi limiti, cerca di essere all'altezza della città che lo ospita. L'arte, la bellezza, i dettagli, la qualità e la cortesia sono gli elementi che abbiamo deciso di impiegare in questo "ritaglio di Cielo", perché un buon sonno ed una buona colazione non bastano... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Il Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Il Cielo
b&b Il Cielo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing