We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place, the city, the location, and this hotel. A 10 or less minute walk from the train station is a plus. Everything about the hotel is great. Walked all over the place around this hotel like plaza de LA signora and duomo. Lots of restaurants close by as well as great shopping. Hotel staff very courteous and helpful. I loved this place. Only one small problem no iron but the manager personally explained to me it's against Italian law to have an iron in the room for safety reasons. Other than that it couldn't have been better. HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Ali Z,
many thanks for posting a positive review on Trip and are really happy you spent wonderful time with us.
Hope to welcome back very soon, in the meantime we remain with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had a most wonderful stay in this beautiful hotel. Room was very nice and of good size. Toiletries were ample and of fine quality (from Etro). Love the balcony with lost of sunlight coming in. We even sunned our t-shirts there ! Location was excellent. We were able to walk to all the places of interest. Service was very prompt and friendly. We were even given breakkfast boxes to take away on our last day as we had an early flight. Will definitely come back !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear MagicBerry,
thak you very much for your positive review. We feel indeed honoured to have been the Hotel where you spent the most wonderful stay. Thank you.
Hope to welcome back very soon,
thanks again and best regards,
antonio pellegrino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Although we were only staying at the hotel for one night we really enjoyed our stay! The receptionists were wonderful and very helpful. Our room was really spacious and the bathroom was quite nice! The only complaint is that our window didn't let in very much light. Also, the breakfast offered was mediocre. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel for the value and location.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsahney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear lsahney,
many thanks for your positive review and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are located in the medieval part of the town and probably you will be assigned a room inside the tower dated back XII century where the windows are not like our modern ones.
While, as for the breakfast, we have only high quality products and, unfortunately, due to the small buffet area we cannot show items in big quantities. This is why it could appear "poor" but it is not, as witnessed by our Guests.
Hope to welcome back soon.
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel, very close to main shopping streets and sightseeing attractions..spacious rooms ,with big bathrooms too,polite staff... , prompt service, Very good experience!! Will definitely stay again...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usharangnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Usharangnani,
we thank you very much for your positive review and really look forward to welcoming back soon.
All our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We spent five nights with this hotel after coming here on a spur-of-the-moment decision. We had originally reserved an apartment in Florence which did not work out at all. This hotel completely changed our holiday for the better.

We had two rooms, one for our two children and one for my wife and myself. The rooms are as shown on there web site, clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The rooms do vary in size from one to another but both were ample, especially considering the proximity to all the attractions in Florence. The location is great!

Even though we booked at the last minute, the price was in keeping with the comparable hotels in the area when making our original arrangements,... no last minute gouging. It included a very nice breakfast and an apperitivo (a complementary glass of proseco and hors d'oeuvres) every evening from 6:30 to 8:00.

The staff was excellent! We made several arrangements with the front desk for restaurant reservations and activities and they were more than obliging and really went beyond the call of duty.

We would certainly comeback to this hotel. It was a real find for us that took our stay in Florence from terrible to outstanding.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Paul F,
thank you veru much for your positive review. We are very glad you spent wonderful time with us above all after a terrible experience, but let me tell you that we also glad you will have a good memories about Florence as well.
Looking forward to welcoming back, we remain with our warm regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago. For disclaimer/reference point - this was our first trip to Italy and this hotel was our first stay.

To start, Francesca nicely confirmed our appointment by email and, upon our arrival, noted that our room was ready early (it was about 1400 hrs, check-in is usually at 1500 hrs), this was very much appreciated, although we would not have minded waiting a bit.

With regards to the room - the decor and presentation of the room was as if it was recently remodeled, extremely clean. The bed was exceedingly comfortable. The hotel staff clean the room in the morning and there is "turn-down" service at night. They are very thorough (I had a small pile of laundry which they actually folded). There is a bolted down safe in the room as advertised.

With regards to the front desk staff in general. They were exceedingly responsive and helpful. Whether it was giving a restaurant recommendation, calling for a reservation, describing some routes to the major sites, or helping us get a power cord adapter - truly everything you could and would want and expect from a top shelf hotel. They were also very pleasant, never dismissive.

Breakfast - breakfast was (as I'm sure is common across many Italian hotels), an assortment of pastries, some savory fare (cheeses, meats), and fresh fruit and some cakes. Overall, very very good, fresh. The staff there will make you "American coffee" or espresso or cappuccino upon request (they usually come to your table), and they are excellent, pleasant, and overall the breakfast was extremely good.

Spa services - as part of this hotel, they are quite up front in advertising their hotel services, the television when initially turned off defaults to a video loop depicting the services (you just hit power again to turn it off completely). I had an hour massage and my wife and a manicure/pedicure. My massage was outstanding, just the right amount of pressure, relaxing and was comparable to massages I've had in the US that cost upwards of $150/hr. My wife commented that both her manicure and pedicure were among the best she's ever received (she routinely gets these). She did note that there was no foot massage with the pedicure although she noted that the quality of the spa services were TOP notch. Of note, not sure how many individuals work in the spa, my masseuse spoke only a little English and the same for the pedicurist/manicurist - although I would like to note that for both of us, she was extremely pleasant and professional and we did not feel this detracted from the experience.

It should be noted that the hotel is close to some fairly active areas. If you leave the window open, you will hear a fair amount of noise at night. However, the window is well insulated and little can be heard if you close it.

The huge plus side with the location is that you are very near most of the main Florence attractions.

Overall, outstanding hotel staff, facilities, and spa services. We are definitely planning on staying there again when we visit Italy again. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Not sure, I imagine most rooms would be great as the hotel is so well-run from top to bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Allen D,
Firat of all thank you very much for your very positive review. Secondly, thanks for posting a very detailed review above all about the Spa services which is not much mentioned and the Spa manager, Mrs Jocelyne, will be very glad about this.
We really look forward to welcoming back very soon and thanks again for your wonderful review,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Amazzzzzing! We stayed there in July 2024 for three nights to celebrate my fiancé birthday .When we arrived the systems were down to book us in but it didn't effect us as
Elisa upgraded us free of charge .Elisa did say she was going to do something for his birthday but nothing was done.
The reception was very small .We were shown to our room which was like an apartment and had two bathrooms. The only thing I would say we got very hot at night time as the air con didn't work
as good as it did downstairs.
The rooms were spotlessly clean the rooms were checked a few times a day and always had clean bedding and towels....but make sure you bring face cloths as none supplied
The breakfast is very small and they serve continental. which is always fresh
The hotel is walking difference of entertainment bars and restaurants.
Would recommend to go on the open top bus tour as you can hop on and off wherever they stop as another bus is not far behind its about 20 euros each but beware as they say ticket is valid for 24 hrs its not its only valid from 10 am -10pm
As for travelling when we reached the Pisa airport we purchased a single train ticket that included a bus ticket for 10 euros each to go to Florence then we got a taxi to our hotel for 6 euros. So when booking this hotel don't do transfers as too expensive .Also if you are going to book train ticket would recommend to book return as there are no cheap taxi in Florence
Money wise make sure you bring enough money and change into euros before you go as there rate is awful ...example we got 1.20 for our pound to euro over there its 0.84 ! Or pay buy your 'e debit card

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 66secret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear 66secrets,
Thank you for your positive review and of course sorry for the misunderstanding with Elisa. We are investigating about this as never happened before this last two reviews.
Thanks again and hope to welcome back soon,
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Hotel Lungarno
#10 of 409 in Florence
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $256 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing