We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would highly recommend this hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I would highly recommend this hotel!!!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel has a lot to offer. A continental breakfast that was filled with an abundance of food. A welcoming box of cookies, happy hour hors d'oeuvre and Prosecco. The hotel is decorated in a beautiful decor and is well kept up. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is centrally located to all the shopping and historic sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Doreen3_2011,
thank you very much for your positive review and let me tell you that we are very proud to be recommended to others. Thanks.
Hope to welcome back again,
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    162
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
214
760
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the most amazing hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff were beyond friendly, the hotel was stunning, the location perfect. We took advantage of the spa, and it truly does look just as it shows in photos. You feel transported to some secret, underground relaxation chamber. It's incredible. The rooms are very well appointed, and ladies-the hair dryers include voltage converters for any other tools you might have with you!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 4th floor and didn't hear a single other guest-it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Jkwebb,
many thanks for your positive review and we are very proud of it.
Looking forward to welcoming again, we remain
with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything was wonderful except I wish we had a bathtub instead of just a standup shower since it is a spa hotel. Just one small detail that didn't take away from this lovely hotel and beautiful vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwright1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Kwright19...,
thnak you for your positive review.
As for the bathroom, we have some with shower and some with buthtub, some with jacuzzi. Usually,when required and when possible (if we are not fully booked) , we can change the room with bathtub. Sorry for that.
We hope to welcome back and in the meantime, we remaine,
your sincerely,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here for two days at the beginning of a cycling trip and for three days at the end of it. We could not have made a better choice. The accommodations were beautiful, the staff was gracious (Angela at reception and Milena in the dining room were a delight) and the location was perfect. The hotel is located on a side street so it is much quieter than hotels on any of the piazzas. It is also centrally located. We stayed in a Deluxe room and a Tower Deluxe room. Both were sumptuous but the Tower room, aside from being a bit larger, had a huge, gorgeous bathroom with a very large jacuzzi tub.

We visited the spa a couple of times. It was restful, rejuvenating and immaculately clean. The breakfast presentation was lush and Milena's cappuccinos were a perfect way to start the day (as was her smile)!

We'll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diverdiva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Diverdiva,
Thank you for your postive review and really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Golden Tower Hotel. All Staff, Milena and Angela in particular, appreciate your comment.
Hopefully we will welcome back ad in the meantime we remain,
yours sincerely,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It is seldom that we feel we can give a five star rating but this hotel is certainly an exception. In our opinion it definitely ticks all the right boxes. We went as part of my birthday celebrations that took in Rome and Florence.
Our stay coincided with the World Cycling Championships which meant that many roads were closed to vehicles. However, ahead of our stay we were contacted by the hotel with the permitted times to get to the hotel by car as well as a walking route from the station. Given we were arriving by train we took the walking route which was easy to follow and took about 15 minutes at the most.
Check-in was easy and the reception staff were extremely welcoming. We were told that there was a happy hour each night where free Prosecco was served. So that was a good start. We were then taken to our room by one of the reception staff and our baggage followed.
The room was on the fifth floor (501) and was a junior suite. It must rank amongst one of the best city centre hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. It had a large bed that was extremely comfortable and two bedside tables with generous draw space. There was a large table that had tea and coffee making facilities and two dining chairs. A large flat screen TV sat on top of a unit that housed a fridge that was stocked with water, juices, soft drinks and nibbles. There was also a sofa and easy chair and a coffee table so as you can imagine the room was very generous in size. Hanging and drawer space was more than adequate and within the wardrobe was a safe. The bathroom was also large and boasted a “his and hers” shower and well as a toilet and bidet. The toiletries were of a very high quality and were restocked daily as well as a generous number of towels. There was a turn-down service at night.
However, the big bonus for a city centre hotel was a Jacuzzi and a small open air patio area. The view wasn’t anything to shout about but the option to sit outside at night and have a drink was fantastic. My wife got the chance to also use the Jacuzzi which was brilliant.
Breakfast was self-service and took place in the bar area and offered a good range of hot and cold food and eaten on crisp white linen table cloths. Fresh tea and coffee was served to order. The hotel gets a special 5 Star for a toaster that actually worked as it should without the bread looking anaemic or burnt to a cinder! The breakfast staff were always friendly and welcoming.
We took our free Prosecco in the bar at night after spending hours walking around the beautiful city of Florence. At night the hotel offers evening meals. This is a nice touch but to be honest it looks as though many guests did as we did and ate out at the many restaurants that the city boasts. Hence the bar was very quiet during the evening.
There is also a Spa but unfortunately with only four nights in Florence my wife just didn’t have the time to sample it. A good excuse to return no doubt!
I cannot fault the staff at this hotel. They were always willing to offer advice and even booked a tour for me when we were on a tour all day and didn’t have time to book it before we went out. We never experienced any problems with noise and enjoyed a good night’s sleep during our entire stay
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It is in a good location surrounded by high class designer shops (not that we frequented them!) and many restaurants. Florence is an easy walking city and this hotel is convenient to all the local attractions. A five out of five for us.

Room Tip: 501 had a patio and Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charnwoodfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Charnwood,
I want to thank you very much for your more than positive review. Let me say, it has been really a pleasure in reading it. All of our Staff appreciate it.
As you said, you have an excuse to come back and we will very happy to welcome you,
all my best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is located on a side street but so close to shopping, the Ponte Vecchio, the Duomo. The staff is very friendly especially Andrea. We made our reservation at the last moment so they only had a suite. The suite was huge with a double shower that is very modern. The hotel offers a good room service if you do not feel like going out after a long day on your feet. It is the same menu as the restaurant. It is not extensive but good. The Orata was fabulous. The buffet breakfast has something for everyone and it is really good by Italian standards. My only complaint is that the bed is too small as we are both tall .and our feet hung over.

There is also a spa. We had a massage and it was fairly good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Chili,
many thanks for your positive review. We are glad you spent wonderful time with us using our restaurant , room service and our spa treatments.
Hope to welcome back in the near future,
we remain,
yours sincerely,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Pros

Location is perfect - you can walk to anything that matters and there are a thousand great restaurants ... Golden View gets a special plug (not affiliated with hotel) - they are on the Arno river just over the bridge - hotel can give you directions.
Rooms are good sized and clean (junior suite)
Fruit in the room - nice touch
Free mini bar and coffee maker (with junior suite) was nice
Nice shower - good water pressure
Lot's of plugs
Maid service is excellent

Cons

Breakfast was ok - not terrible, not great
Front desk staff was ok - not overly friendly ... accommodating but not out of their way friendly
Don't both with room service - food not good
Bathroom does not have a lot of room to put anything
Internet spotty but probably expected given location

General

There is a disco across the street - I had read reviews about the noise. The first night was loud and it was a Monday so didn't make sense. But the next two nights very quiet.
Only English speaking TV is news

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Denise B,
many thanks for your positive and detailed review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Golden Tower Hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, we remain,
yours sincerely,
antonio pelegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,779 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
799 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,274 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, TravelClick, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing