We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels on our trip”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Golden Tower was a great place to start off our honeymoon. We arrived here via train from Luca in the end of August. We took a short taxi ride to the hotel from the train station but it was 15 euro....if bags are light, just walk it. The rooms are not ready until 3 so after arriving at 12 they recommended a good lunch spot around the corner. The hotel is centrally located so it was not hard to kill time while we waited. Once we did get to the room they sent us a complimentary bottle of Proseco, which was really nice. The rooms were stunning. Any views they lacked were made up for with the luxurious bathrooms, beddings, the list goes on. The room was extremely clean and so was the bathroom - I've never seen maid service that cleaned up so well. They even straightened out our own things. Staff was very kind and spoke english well however, one guy in particular did not seem keen on helping us book a tour and when we booked ourselves we were charged 3 euro for the call. This can all be avoided by booking things online though in advance. I don't want to diminish the rest of the staff who were VERY kind and amiable making maps for us and directing us wherever we wanted to go. The breakfast was outstanding...in a beautiful room with anything you could wish for. The bar was pretty empty at night and the drinks were slightly overpriced, but this is what you should expect in the city center. Overall I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this hotel if you're looking for a relaxing place in the heart of Florence. 3 minute walk to duomo, seconds from ponte vecchio and river, 5 minutes over the river to Medici Palace and minutes from Uffizi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rujimhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear rujimhenry,
many thanks for your positive review and are very happy you spent wonderful time with us and proud to be your nicest hotel in your trip.
Looking forward to welcoming back,
we remain with all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    153
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
184
710
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location could not be better you are centrally located close to the Dome and all the major sites . The hotel has a very warm feeling .The front desk are very accommodating and helpful . At the end of a hard day of sightseeing we enjoyed the spa . My daughter was extremely happy because the Sky tv had a full array of kids channels . We will definitely be back . The only thing missing is a fitness center .

Room Tip: Rather than booking online it may be worth calling the hotel directly for a better deal .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azeemmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear azeemmiami,
many thanks for your positive review and for your suggestions. We are really thinking to create a fitness room.......probably next year???
Hope to welcome back and remain eith all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for one night. Needed luxury for the last night of a one week trip to Italy.

Room: upgraded to a junior suite - stylish and very comfortable. Request a bath if you need one - not sure how many have them.

Location: in high fashion area and very close to the Duomo.

Spa: try the hammam deluxe. It was very relaxing and Gabriella has good technique.

Food: recommendation from the reception was great - try La Bussola for seafood/fish, pizza and good wine selection. Try Buca Mario for steak and pasta.

Atmosphere: very friendly, courteous, professional.

Access: we used the valet parking option. The one way roads around the area were new to us so a staff member joined us a couple of blocks away and directed us to the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MervynNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear MervynNomad,
thank you very much for your positive review and for your suggestions.
We hope to welcome back soon and in the meantime we remain,
yourse sincerely,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked this hotel via tripadvisor and had some initial issues with credit cards where they wouldn't accept a credit card number via telephone. But eventually all of that was sorted and when we arrived at Golden Tower, we somehow scored a free upgrade to some form of suite! The suite was huge for Italy standards and included an outdoor spa, which was very much appreciated. The bathroom itself had double showers. I was overall very impressed with the room and the bed was also very comfortable. There is also a kettle and coffee/tea facilities which I always appreciate.

The breakfast options were not bad and their sausages are pretty yum! However, I wish they would do eggs to order instead of having scrambled eggs sitting in the hot food section, waiting to get dry.

The staff were very friendly and made some good restaurant recommendations. The hotel itself is very central and within walking distance to most of the sights. It's also very near the Arno river so it's nice to take a stroll down to the bridges at night for the great view.

We stayed here a total of 5 nights and loved it. Didn't get a chance to use the spa though but overall, this is a great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susumooyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear susumooyin,
many thanks for your positive review and are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
As for the credit card, for security reason we do not accept by phone, as anyone could use it.
Looking forward to welcoming back soon, we remain,
yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed Florence very much. The hotel was very decent, got a very nice and spacious room and breakfast was also quite good. Location is great, since it is walking distance to anything worth seeing in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Patrik M,
thank you very much for your positive review and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming back soom, we remain,
yours sincerely,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Location
This could not be in a better location. It is about 5 minutes walk from all the major attractions. However it is still quiet and peaceful at night.
Staff
Quite simply the best. Recently I have noticed 5 star hotel have upped their game in the quality of staff and their desire to help. In this hotel I get the impression the staff are genuinely proud of their hotel and go the extra mile to ensure your stay is stress free. They booked and advised on several visits ( although some you should pre book before coming to Florence- but they managed to get us an 8.30 am to David on the last day of our stay.) Their English is superb. However I will be eternally grateful for the competent and cool way the directed me in to the city. The manicure and pedicure I had in the spa was superb and the the two girls were perfectionist- it was a delight.( Up to standard of philipinos in the middle east) Even the breakfast staff, smile and want to help. (including for me making tea the English way by putting the boiling water onto the tea bag)
Parking
I had been warned that this could be a problem in Florence- however we were instructed to pull in at the railway station at the edge of the city. The front desk guided us in, road by road and sat navs do not seem to work here, it is all one way and very complicated. When we arrived they were waiting for us, simply took our bags and the valet parking service took over- it was quite expensive ( the majority of which is the car park cost) BUT what a relaxing way to start your holiday in a historic town centre- worth every penny ( I think it was about 28 euros fro 24 hours.)
Room
This was lovely, had a traditional feel but with all mod cons. and WOW- a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities ( the only place we had in Europe with this!) . It was kept immaculately clean- a few nice touches ( but not necessary for me) like chocolate on pillow etc. There was a fabulous shower with all fancy shower heads ( but I am afraid I still miss my bath)
Breakfast
Excellent - great choice of fruit, cooked or continental. Set us up for the day. I would say that we realised that we should go out and come back for breakfast about 9.30 am. When we ate it at 7.30 ish to get out to sight see we were not really hungry.
Summary
If you want a stress free and luxury time in Florence I would recommend this hotel. Of course it does not quite have all the facilities of four seasons- but had everything I needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeddahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jeddahg,
I want to thank you very much for your wonderful, detailed and positive review, expecially when you report about the genuineness of our staff. I full agree with you and as already said in previous comments, we try to excell in this because we do our job with PASSION and very proud Guests notice this.
This is what I communicate to all my STAFF daily, beacuse only this make the difference.
Thank you .
Hope to welcome back very soon,
all my best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from the Golden Tower, and what a great stay!! We stayed 3 nights and it is in a perfect location for seeing Florence. We had a two story suite and it was gorgeous!! The bed is like a cloud with so many pillows!! The hotel is stunning and the staff is exceptional. They made recommendations and reservations for us and always had a smile. Our first night they recommended a restaurant, can't think of the name right now, but it was soo good!!!
The room was kept spotless and there was a turndown every night with biscuits!!
The breakfast room is very pretty, but there is not much variety. Breakfast starts at 7:30, we ate at 8 and everything was lukewarm. That is my only complaint, the breakfast!!
Would I stay here again, definitely!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donjenks35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear donjenks35,
we thank you for your positive review and are very glad you spent wonderful time with us.
As for the breakfast, as we have limited spaces, we cannot expose so much things and you get the impression that there a few articles.
Anyway, we hope to welcome back and we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
2,662 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
738 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
481 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
3,031 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing