We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here for four nights with my husband in March. It's in a fantastic location, very central but also quiet. It's a boutique hotel rather than a large hotel which we liked.
The rooms are lovely and very clean, they even turn the bed down at night and put a biscuit on your pillow!
The staff are very helpful and friendly. We booked with Travel Republic and got a fantastic deal compared to the rack rate of the hotel and were also upgraded to a deal where we could eat and drink anything from the mini-bar which was great! We also had free access to the lovely spa in the hotel.
Breakfast was really nice, a wide choice of fresh food, juices and hot drinks.
It rained the whole time we were there so we really appreciated the hotel's umbrellas in reception!
We had a shock when we checked out though, we thought city tax was 1 euro per person per night but it's from 1 euro and it seems like hotels can charge what they like, so it's worth checking in advance how much they charge. We were charged 5 euros per person per night so a total of 40 euros on top of the price of the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iloveholidays005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your positive review, we are very happy you enjoy your stay with us. As for the city tax, even us, hotelier, think that it is too high and it is no equal to all cities in italy, that is each city apply a different amount.
Anway, we look forward to welcoming back and thank you again,
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    160
    32
    11
    13
See reviews for
201
745
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel, I would probably give it 4 stars not 5. The location was excellent and in easy walking distance of all major sites.

The room - we had a classic room. To be honest I was disappointed with the size, it was small, and we did not have enough space to put everything as there was one small dressing table and a tiny round table. Bed was comfy. The heat in the room was very difficult to regulate and we slept badly as a consequence. Apparently the air conditioning does not work in winter, and our room was exceedingly hot.Nice bathroom although again a lack of shelving was annoying, and also I was disappointed not to have a bath in the room. Nice toiletries.

The club outside the hotel was extremely noisy but luckily we couldn't hear it from our room.

Breakfast - nice, but a small hot selection, and extortionate prices to order omelettes etc. we didn't see anyone ordering from the menu. I would have expected more from a 5 star breakfast. When the restaurant was busy the waitress was rushed off her feet and coffee took too long to arrive, and one morning we had to leave without having a refill.

The location gives this the Rating of 4, otherwise I'd have given a 3 because of the lack of sleep due to the room being too hot,

Room Tip: Make sure you are at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Natk38,
Thank you for posting the review.
As for the room, as you said, you booked a Classic one, which is the cheapest with standard size, we have Deluxe rooms, Junior Suites, Suites, which are bigger than the Classic.
As for the heating, even when you complained with receptionist yesterday and he tried to give you all necessary information, we did not understand if you had cold or warm in the room because it seemed you had cold during the night , becasue you turned off tje heating. Soon after you asked for air conditioning.
Concerning the bathroom, still is not clear what do you mean bath in the room ??? All our bathroom are well decorated with marble carrara and are spacious and well furnished.
As for breakfast, which we provide complimentary despite other 5 star hotel does, have a lot of fresh and high quality products and sometimes happens that guests come all together to have it and waitress did their best to avoid the Guests have to wait. It happens everywhere.
We hope you will give us a second chance to change your opinion and meanwhile we remain with all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isola Del Giglio, Italy
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in this excellent hotel located in the center of Florence. It's a small boutique 5 start hotel which surpassed all of our expectations. The staff managed to accommodate us in two rooms contiguous to each other that could be separated from the hallway to become a large private suite, this was very convenient. It is located at walking distance from all the major spots in the city.

Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseblesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Joseblesa,
many thanks for your positive review. We are so happy you spent wonderful time with us.
What you describe is our Family Suite which is exactly like you said and it is used a lot from guests who travelling with children.
We really look forward to welcome back.
all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Starting with the positive, our room was immaculately clean, comfortable, well furnished and well equipped. Our deal included free use of the minibar, but the minibar contained only beer and soft drinks. I would have been prepared to pay more for the usual spirit content.

The staff were charming and helpful. The spa was inviting, although there was no member of staff in the spa itself to help with adjustments to heat and steam.

Our disappointment was with the breakfast. Whilst the selection of food is adequate, is poorly laid out. On our first breakfast (we stayed for two nights) the toaster was not working. There was a selection of bread alongside it which could not be toasted. On our second breakfast, there was no toaster and no bread selection. When I enquired I was told that the toaster was broken. I pointed out that it had been broken the day before, and was a little surprised that a five-star hotel had neither a spare nor had acquired a new one in the interim.

In a big hotel, scrambled eggs in a hot dish are consumed sufficiently quickly to retain their freshness. In this small hotel, the scrambled egg was dried out and in lumps.

The Hotel is very well placed for the centre of Florence. It would have been nice to have started busy walking days with the sort of breakfast that such a hotel should be able to provide.

Room Tip: We had a Tower Deluxe room, which was as described
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mr William K,
thanks for posting a review . We are sorry for the electrical problem suddenly occured with the toast machine which was out of order only one mornig, not two.
As for the minibar which its content is free of charge , you obviously could ask for any other items you wished to drink ( wine, champagne, whisky) .
Regarding the Spa, the Sauna & Turkish bath are fully automatic while the absence of members was probably due to the fact there were engaged in doing treatments.
Concerning scramble eggs, in a big hotel use a package product whereas we use ONLY fresh eggs. This is a substantial difference in how they may appear.
We hope to welcome back and thanks again for your suggestions,
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Wow great find. Perfecto location. Very nice rooms clean and a friendly staff. I will be staying here again. I got a great price on Priceline name your own price for a 5 star hotel. Couldn't beat this place for that price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear TommyL,
thank you very much for your review. We are glad you spent wonderful time with us.
Looking forward to welcoming back soon,
we remain with all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and it was lovely. It's right in the middle of Florence, so everything is walking distance and you soon get to know your way around. Easy to pop back too, if you need to drop things off/pick things up. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The room was really comfortable and very clean and every so often we'd come back to find a little something there for us - a packet of biscuits, or individual biscuits. Just nice little details that make you feel welcome. The Reception staff were really helpful and kind. The spa was great - we even had it to ourselves the day we went together, and it was just me the other day (the rugby was on the tv!). We would fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room. There wasn't bath but the bathroom was really spacious and the shower was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear WanderinB,
thank you very much for your positive review. and for your recomendations. We are so happy you relax during your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, we remain with our
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time in Florence, this hotel is in an excellent position for all the major attractions. When you arrive you can expect a very warm and and sincere welcome, all the staff are as attentive as you want, they are not in your face, but anything you require is no trouble. This hotel has exceptional rooms very clean with a very comfortable bed and the shower room was well equipped with plenty of room.
The food in the restaurant is good value and the food is freshly cooked to your liking although the menu selection is limited it is recommended you sample the food and drinks on offer.
We would recommend the Golden Tower for comfort, position and value for money, we did't us the spa but other guests that did said the facilities where excellent.

John&Lynda England

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Jhon F,
many thanks for your positive review and for your recommendations. We are glad you spent wonderful time with us and really look foward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,748 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
780 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,260 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing