We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My opinions on Golden Tower are summed up very well by the fact that on check in day I arrived at 4 and didn't notice the time fly, while I enjoyed the room and Spa, till gone 7pm.

Room - large, clean and spacious. The service is impecable. We had been in the room just an hour when a pack of biscuits were delivered with compliments. When we returned to dinner we found the room had been tidied, the beds turned down (more biscuits) and our towels replaces with fresh dry ones!

Reception - friendly, impeccable English and happy to help.

Breakfast - possibly the first time I have liked a hotel breakfast.

Spa - clean, not too busy and included in the room price. So relaxing to pop down for a steam room or sauna after a long day sight seeing!

Location - excellent. Just a 10m walk from Firenze SMN train station and minutes from all the major sights and shopping.

Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Luoisa T,
thank you very much for your excellent review ancd are very happy you are so enthusiastic about Golden Tower Hotel and have appreciated all our services.
As for breakfast, even if we do not have much space, on our buffet you will find only high quality product as you mentioned.
Looking forward to welcoming back, we wish you all the best and remain with
our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    162
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
214
759
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A well-appointed, clean and comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff, a delightful spa and an unbeatable central location. What more could anyone want? My only very minor complaint was that the room service menu was quite limited and the food arrived lukewarm, although it was quite good and the servers were very sweet and helpful. I'll definitely be revisiting this hotel with my family next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your positive review. We are more than happy that you spent wonderful time with us and thank you also for the advise, it will help us doing much better in the future as of course we have to improve everyday and your suggestions are very helpful.
Hoping to welcome back soon, we remain with our
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the BEST hotel i have stayed in the staff are so friendly and helpfull, they give great suggestions for restaurants ! We are on our honeymoon and they suprised us with a bottle of champagne which was beautiful !
The rooms is fantastic very spacious and clean, bathrooms are new and clean ! They come into your room and draw your blinds and get your bed ready with biscotti and a card with a lullaby which i think is soooooo cute and nice! The buffet breakie is great huge varity of food!
The spa is so nice and you can get any beauty needs done just at the door step which is very handy!
Could not rate this hotel enough ! Would be my first choice again !

Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Cristina C,
Many many thanks for your review, we understand you have been very enthusiastic about your stay with us and believe us, we are very proud of this.
We do our best to make our Guest's stay as pleasant as possible.
Looking forward to welcoming back, we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December and could not fault it. Brilliant location for walking all around Florence. Very comfortable room and bed, marble bathroom. Friendly and efficient staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Noreen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Noreen K,
thank you very much for your positive review, although concise it sent an excellent message.
We are glad you spent wonderful time with us and hope to welcome back in the very near future.
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for three days and I would say we just loved the hotel.The staff was very polite and helpful.Prefect Spa treatments,very relaxing.The room is also very comfortable,especially the bed is very comfortable.
Good choice of breakfast.
Excellent location,all good restaurants near by.I would definately come back to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepti-tourisim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Deepti-tourisim,
thank you very much for posting a positive review. We are very happy you spent wonderful time with us.
We look forward to welcoming back and we wish you a prosperous year,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 4 days in October. Excellent service with a great location. The helpful and friendly staff make the Golden Tower a superb choice. My cell phone charger broke in travel, the Golden tower provided a loaner when I asked the front desk where I could buy one. I found that we walked everywhere in Florence so believe me when I tell you that I found the whirpool, steamroom and sauna invigorating before setting out for the evening

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JDhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear JoeDwhowantstobe,
thank you very much for posting a positive review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed also our little beautiful SPA.
We hope to welcome back and in the meantime we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent five nights at the Golden Tower in December for a special anniversary getaway. It lived up to its high ratings in tripadvisor, and it is the latest and best of the three 4-5 star hotels where we have stayed while visiting Firenze. Its central location is excellent for shopping and/or sightseeing. The breakfast buffet is superb, catering to tastes and customs across the world. One of the main reasons that this hotel stands out from the others is the happy and attentive staff, in particular Marco at reception, who could not do enough to help us. We did not use the spa, as we were kept busy visiting and shopping - perhaps next time, as we will likely stay here next time we visit.

The wifi internet access was excellent throughout the hotel, including our room.

A prior review said that the noise from across the square was too loud, and the hotel (and reviews) appear to targeted by/for the "young and hip". We disagree completely. Having stayed for five nights, we heard noise only once on Saturday night during a large street party that spread over several blocks. Our room faced the street/square area. The noise was not overly distracting (we were still able to fall asleep at our usual time - midnight). Indeed the party noise was much louder in the Piazza della Repubblica where the Savoy hotel is located, and the interior noise is less than what we've heard from comparably rated/priced hotels located on other Firenze piazzas. The other guests at the hotel ranged from young couples to much more mature ladies in their golden years, so do not be put off by that review as we almost were. We are so glad we chose the Golden Tower.

Room Tip: If you are still worried about the noise, ask for a room that does not face the street. Remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freq_Bus_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
many thanks for posting such a positive and detailed review. This is the beauty of Tripadvisor which very often the best replies are given by our Guests and this can only demostrate that our reviews are genuine.
We wish all the best for the coming year and hope to welcome back ,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,775 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 412 in Florence
797 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 412 in Florence
1,010 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing