We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent experience overall. Nice, small boutique hotel with very comfortable accommodations and a great breakfast buffet! A little on the expensive side perhaps.

They were very understanding when my arrival was delayed by one day as a result of a flight cancellation. One quirk: no irons in rooms...."laundry/pressing service". I gather this is common in Italy.

Friendly front desk staff could not have been more helpful. Pleasant bar/breakfast staff e.g "Polly".

They do need to decide whether they want guests to frequent the bar as a bar (no bar stools) or as a lounge only.


Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKD_Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear NKD_Bedford,
thank you very much for your positive and helpful review. Normally we try to be very understanding when it is possible, sometimes no, it depends on various things. As for the iron, as you said, in italy is not permitted for security reasons even if we provide laundry service. Concerning the Bar, it is not much frequented by our Guests beacuse of our centrally location, that is just outside the door we are surrounded by many fashion bars.
We hope to welcome back soon and meanwhile we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    152
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
176
691
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotels location is ideal, near the best shopping and historical district. The front desk is very helpful with reservations and tips on where to eat and what to see. Breakfast was included (as well as all minibar goodies) at our rate. The spa was great (only open in afternoon), and it was the best place to spend a rainy afternoon. The massages were great.
The mattress was the best we had in Italy. I agree that the decor was a bit tacky ("golden" was taken literally), but the luxury value in such a great location well makes up for that!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexanDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear TexanDOc,
thank you so much for your review, so detailed.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome back.
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights recently. Our bedroom was lovely. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly - they organised restaurants, museum tickets and were particularly helpful when we got lost driving into Florence! Happy hour was a welcome gesture. We will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Stancroft,
thank you so much for your faboulos review.
Very glad to hear you spent faboulos time with us and hope to welcome back very soon.
We wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for five wonderful nights. Hotel was immaculate, comfortable, quiet and very convenient. The staff helped us to plan our days, and a really nice touch was a bottle of Proseco they sent up to our room as a surprise for my husband's birthday. The breakfast was more than adequate, but agree about the bar this is not a place where you would want to spend much time. Would not hestitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor with 2 single beds overlooking the roof of the restaurant area, no view to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Elaine U,
many thanks for your review. As you said, with our little touch try to render the stay more memorable.
As for the Bar, as we are located in the hearth of Florence, then surrounded by a wide choice of bars, this is the price we pay to be in downtown.
Hope to welcome back very soon, we remain with all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed recently for 2 nights at the Golden Tower. We found the refurbished Hotel to be of an excellent standard. Its location right in the heart of the old town of Florence is perfect for all that walking which is how one sees Florence.

We had a Junior Suite which was excellent, although being on a spilt level with the sitting room and another bathroom upstairs in a loft style, we didn't really get full value from the suite.

Breakfast which was included was also excellent and the free Wifi was also a bonus. There is no onsite parking, which is normal for Florence, so we used the hotel valet service which was expensive at Eur 38 for a night, but the service was good.

We found the staff excellent, at checkin/out and with other tourist type of info.

The Hotel is a little diffficult to find, being located on a small back street which is not shown on most maps. We eventually got there with the help of our GPS, however the GPS didn't appear to like Florence much as it on several occassions tried to take us the wrong way.

If you wish to do a lot of walking in Florence this Hotel is reccommended due to its central location making it easy to pop back to the Hotel to drop off shopping or for a rest between activities.

Room Tip: If selecting a suite make sure it is all on the same level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear rustycyle,
thank you so much for your positive review and thanks also for the advise about GPS. The problem is that in downtown, recentky, have changed a lot of direction so that the most GPS are not updated and above all because the center is medieval once with a lot of little streets.
Looking forweard to see you very soon, all of us wish you the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

was very impressed with the Golden Tower! I paid to upgrade the room and it was so worth it! Breakfast was great, spa was fabulous after a long day of sightseeing ... the glass of Proseco at happy hour along with snacks was a nice touch. Our room was spotless and well maintained with turn down service. Water pressure in the shower was great too. The room was big for European standards - the beds very comfortable! I don't know if you could get a better location - we did not have to take a cab once and walked everywhere -- just around the corner is a great restaurant and if you turn left outside the hotel there is a lively bar too. I can't wait to return! Thanks to Polly & Alessandro for making us feel so welcomed!

Room Tip: pay extra for the deluxe room - so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantelleko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear chantelleko,
thank you so much for your review and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome back in the very near future and meanwhile we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We rented this place through Priceline. We walked in at 4 pm and received a greeting that suggested the staff felt we were in the wrong hotel (my two kids and I looked a bit ragged after a long drive). We were forced to upgrade to a junior suite for 200 extra Euros just for my 12 year old. The sofa bed they had for us was hard and uncomfortable. Quite a price for a sofa bed. The internet was slow at best when it was working. The spa is over-rated on the website with only a small Turkish spa, a steam room and a somewhat cool Jacuzzi. They also have no fitness room which was a guaranteed Amenity on Priceline for a 5 star Florence hotel. The breakfast was mediocre for a 5 star hotel with very little variety and cheap food (except for the alpine yogurt which was great). The upgraded junior suite room was very nice with a two level two bathroom layout and a free mini-bar---poorly stocked, but included in the room. Yanni at the front desk was nice, but the rest of the team wouldn't give you the time of day. Bottom line: Would not book on Priceline and would stay away from this hotel if you have kids (I'm sure they would prefer that as well).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalawiOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear MalawiOB,
Thanks for posting your review, even low-rated.
To be honest with you, it seemed it concerned another hotel...
But, let me clarify that you booked a Classic Room for 2 people and you were 3 (without notice hotel prior the check-in). That is!!
In our CLASSIC room, we cannot accomodate 3 people BUT we offered you the only solution we had: a Junior Suite with sofa bed with a supplement and your response was that you preferred to have your 12 year old child sleep on the floor in the classic room. Here in Italy, in Florence, in a 5 Star hotel, we cannot allow this.
The only fault we have had, it was that to find a solution but your fault was to book a twin for 3 people. (one bed for each person...worldwide!)
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Property: Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Degli Strozzi 11r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Despegar.com, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing