We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$278
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
$324
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$256
$200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$327
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$378
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$518
$478
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$425
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$650
$631
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,441)
Filter reviews
1,441 results
Traveler rating
1,201
171
39
14
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,201
171
39
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree glass of proseccosteam roomdeluxe roompalazzo strozzifive star hotelquiet side streetour honeymoonfree mini barfabulous hotelevery eveningturn down servicehappy hourperfect locationwould highly recommend this hotelcity breakmajor attractionsthe heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 1,441 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed recently for 2 nights at the Golden Tower. We found the refurbished Hotel to be of an excellent standard. Its location right in the heart of the old town of Florence is perfect for all that walking which is how one sees Florence.

We had a Junior Suite which was excellent, although being on a spilt level with the sitting room and another bathroom upstairs in a loft style, we didn't really get full value from the suite.

Breakfast which was included was also excellent and the free Wifi was also a bonus. There is no onsite parking, which is normal for Florence, so we used the hotel valet service which was expensive at Eur 38 for a night, but the service was good.

We found the staff excellent, at checkin/out and with other tourist type of info.

The Hotel is a little diffficult to find, being located on a small back street which is not shown on most maps. We eventually got there with the help of our GPS, however the GPS didn't appear to like Florence much as it on several occassions tried to take us the wrong way.

If you wish to do a lot of walking in Florence this Hotel is reccommended due to its central location making it easy to pop back to the Hotel to drop off shopping or for a rest between activities.

Room Tip: If selecting a suite make sure it is all on the same level
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear rustycyle,
thank you so much for your positive review and thanks also for the advise about GPS. The problem is that in downtown, recentky, have changed a lot of direction so that the most GPS are not updated and above all because the center is medieval once with a lot of little streets.
Looking forweard to see you very soon, all of us wish you the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

was very impressed with the Golden Tower! I paid to upgrade the room and it was so worth it! Breakfast was great, spa was fabulous after a long day of sightseeing ... the glass of Proseco at happy hour along with snacks was a nice touch. Our room was spotless and well maintained with turn down service. Water pressure in the shower was great too. The room was big for European standards - the beds very comfortable! I don't know if you could get a better location - we did not have to take a cab once and walked everywhere -- just around the corner is a great restaurant and if you turn left outside the hotel there is a lively bar too. I can't wait to return! Thanks to Polly & Alessandro for making us feel so welcomed!

Room Tip: pay extra for the deluxe room - so worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantelleko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear chantelleko,
thank you so much for your review and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome back in the very near future and meanwhile we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We rented this place through Priceline. We walked in at 4 pm and received a greeting that suggested the staff felt we were in the wrong hotel (my two kids and I looked a bit ragged after a long drive). We were forced to upgrade to a junior suite for 200 extra Euros just for my 12 year old. The sofa bed they had for us was hard and uncomfortable. Quite a price for a sofa bed. The internet was slow at best when it was working. The spa is over-rated on the website with only a small Turkish spa, a steam room and a somewhat cool Jacuzzi. They also have no fitness room which was a guaranteed Amenity on Priceline for a 5 star Florence hotel. The breakfast was mediocre for a 5 star hotel with very little variety and cheap food (except for the alpine yogurt which was great). The upgraded junior suite room was very nice with a two level two bathroom layout and a free mini-bar---poorly stocked, but included in the room. Yanni at the front desk was nice, but the rest of the team wouldn't give you the time of day. Bottom line: Would not book on Priceline and would stay away from this hotel if you have kids (I'm sure they would prefer that as well).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalawiOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear MalawiOB,
Thanks for posting your review, even low-rated.
To be honest with you, it seemed it concerned another hotel...
But, let me clarify that you booked a Classic Room for 2 people and you were 3 (without notice hotel prior the check-in). That is!!
In our CLASSIC room, we cannot accomodate 3 people BUT we offered you the only solution we had: a Junior Suite with sofa bed with a supplement and your response was that you preferred to have your 12 year old child sleep on the floor in the classic room. Here in Italy, in Florence, in a 5 Star hotel, we cannot allow this.
The only fault we have had, it was that to find a solution but your fault was to book a twin for 3 people. (one bed for each person...worldwide!)
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great location - few minutes from the center, off in a quiet street, 10 min walk from the train station.
Newly renovated, so room quality is excellent, very comfortable, well appointed. The "Golden" is not just in the name - gold paint, gold-ish fabrics and brass fittings everywhere - not everyone's taste but it works
It was a good choice to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100NowWhereTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear 100NowWhereTo,
Thank you so much for posting a positive review and we are happy you relaxed at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa.
We hope you will come back and relax in the very near future, do not hesitate to contact us and meanwhile all of us wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our Hotel was very beautiful inside...The service we received was excellent. Our room was very nice if somewhat very dark (Tower deluxe room).. If we could have had a balcony to sit out on, this room would have been perfect..
The hotel is kept spotlessly clean at all times. The selection for the continental breakfast was excellent, but after seven days a little variety or even a change of pastries would have been appreciated..
The location is perfect for strolling out and is very central to most places...Very noisy building work taking place all around...Double glazing was very good, but could not open the windows at all or the noise was awful...
We ate in the Restaurant on the first night. It was by far the worst meal we had during our whole week in Florance...The fish started absolutely stank like a fish market (so we guessed not very fresh) we didnt eat this at all.. main course was disgusting looking..like slop & totally tasteless..we didnt eat this either...We did have a bottle of laurent Perrier(the last one) so the bill tipped in at about 180 euro...Not worth a penny for the food...
Needless to say we didnt eat there again..There is no real room service to speak of here either..but thats not a bad thing...
The hotel is definitely geared up...as a hotel to stay in..but definitely not for eating or drinking...
We had to constantly search out someone when we wanted a coffee in the lounge. No champagne by the glass (I mean real champagne) No tomato juice for bloody marys, no rose wine..etc...

Room Tip: The Tower room was quiet..but very dark...Good size jacuzzi bath though...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTowerHotel, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Patricia M,
thanks for posting your review which we realize you were satisfied with the hotel but you had "orrible" experience with the food.
We are of course very sorry for this and soon we have investigated what could be happened because we are honestly astonished about this.
Other people had dinner and the menu was the same.
We hope to welcome back and meanwhile we remain with
all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews