We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Ranked #2 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed one week at this hotel and we were sorry to leave as the owner and staff make you feel like family. The building is rich in history, the rooms are nicely appointed and the small staff become helpful friends very quickly. That's possible because there are not many rooms and the lobby is usually peaceful. There is a nice breakfast room where you can meet other guests if you like, or you can take breakfast in you room...both are pleasant experiences. We stayed in one of the apartments an the kitchenette and two spacious bathrooms made it very comfortable for us.
On the way to the airport my family voted unanimously that would use no other hotel in Florence as this was our place

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 683CurranJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

it has been such a pleasure meeting you in Palazzo Vecchietti!
There are not so many words to express our appreciation about your experience with us, we are so pleased that you spent a nice time with us.
We try to improve our services and quality every day and our Staff is completely at Guest disposal for suggestions, recommendations and to offer them a special and unforgettable stay in Florence!
We really hope you will have the chance to come and stay again with us,

All the best
Warm regards

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 399 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our five day stay at this lovely little hotel in Florence was a fabulous start to our vacation! The rooms are nicely furnished and comfortable, and quite large by European standards. We found the location to be very convenient and within a short walking distance of all the major Florence sights. Although breakfast is available in the breakfast room, we chose to have it in our room every day. They are able to provide either a continental or a full American breakfast - whatever you request, they will endeavour to provide. The staff are very warm, friendly and helpful with regards to suggestions about restaurants, sights, making arrangements. Leonardo at the front desk was extremely helpful in tracking down a piece of luggage that was inadvertently left at the airport. We had a room facing the street (Machiavelli) - noise was not really a factor as the buskers at the piazza generally stopped around 10. Although we originally considered staying on the opposite side of the river, we were extremely happy with our choice. Most of the attractions are located on this side, and Altrarno is within easy walking distance for a day's exploration or dinner.
When we return to Florence, we will definitely use the Palazzo Vecchietti as our base!

Room Tip: This room has a nice little private terrace up a short flight of stairs from the sitting area. A gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 16canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
We’ve appreciated your comments about our Staff and the quality of our rooms. Of course our location it’s really a plus as we’re a few steps away from all the major attractions of Florence.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,

Yours Faithfully.
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in October for our anniversary. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. There were many choices for breakfast. We choose to eat every morning in the breakfast room, even though we could have had it delivered to our room. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, the Masaccio, but there was plenty of space for the 2 of us. It had a bedroom with a small sitting area, a kitchenette behind closed doors and a large bathroom with a seperate bathtub. Plus a walk-in closet, which was very nice. I would definately stay here if I am ever in Florence again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
We’ve appreciated your comments about our Staff and the quality of our rooms. Of course our location it’s really a plus as we’re a few steps away from all the major attractions of Florence.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,

Yours Faithfully.
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Prior to arriving, I wasn't sure what to expect of this property and why it was placed in the "specialty lodging" category on Tripadvisor. I was impressed with the positive comments and decided to split our week in Florence between the Palazzo Vecchietti and the Four Seasons.

Palazzo Vecchietti is a "specialty lodging" because it is not really a hotel; don't expect a doorman, spa, steam sauna, restaurant or a steady flow of visitors. Instead, it is much like an apartment stay with 24 hour concierge and front desk support. Charms of this establishment are: location, service, discretion and very comfortable lodging.

Size of our room is very large: comparable to a very large NYC one bedroom apartment; we also had the plus of a patio looking over the surrounding tile rooftops. The neutral tone of the living area and chrome fixtures in the bathroom gave the entire stay a comfortable, soothing feeling. There is a nice kitchen with compact refrigerator and electric stove top; however, no microwave oven. Plus is the Nespresso coffee machine.

Palazzo Vecchietti has its own brand of shampoo and bath foam, and they are very gentle and smells of citrus. Furthermore, tooth paste and tooth brush came nicely wrapped in his and hers cloth bags. The only down side is the lack of body lotion. Shower and tub are of the same unit, and with very strong water pressure. Bed linens are crisp and pressed, as the bath towels are thick and fluffy.

Palazzo Vecchietti is located within very easy walking distance of all major museums, shopping, and restaurants. Dolce and Gabbana is next door as well as Salvatore Ferrgamo and Tiffany, just a stroll away; Deutsche Bank is around the corner when your wallets need replenishing. I like the fact that service here is very discrete; the entrance is very simple and there is no crowds of tourists. In fact, I did not see anyone aside from the staff during my stay. Highlight was the team of Leonardo, Lucas and Valentina, who had seamlessly secured many tickets and appointments to the major museums.

As pointed out by others in the forum, noise can be a factor. I can hear the vibration of live music from nearby restaurants even with the windows closed. Street fights and ambulance siren are clearly audible with the windows cracked open. Also, the wall corners, counter tops are showing signs of wear and tear. Unless your room comes with breakfast, I would skip this option.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff is eager to serve and can arrange virtually anything, even at very short notice. This is the perfect place for discrete stay in Florence.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank panam747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

we really thank you so much for your time spent in writing your experience in Palazzo Vecchietti.
Our Guest’s reviews are very important for us as to improve our quality standard and it encourage us to satisfy Guest’s needs in the better way.
We’ve appreciated your comments about our Staff; of course our location it’s really a plus as we’re a few steps away from all the major attractions of Florence.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I just returned from 3 days at the Palazzo Vecchietti in Florence not knowing what to expect before I went there I was amazed at the quality of the restoration of this historic building as well as the quality of the furnishings and the service. With only 12 rooms and 2 apartments it has the feel of a private house not a hotel and for a few days stay the fact that it does not have the facilities (pool, gym, restaurants etc) of a large 5 star hotel did not matter. The fantastic location means that most of the heritage and restaurants that you want to visit are within a few minutes walk. I would also like to thank Paolo and Luca the two managers we met who were both excellent hosts providing great friendly advice and help getting some medicine left at another hotel brought over to the Palazzo very efficiently.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hertford K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for the time you spent to write your experience in our Hotel!
Palazzo Vecchietti is a small property located in the center of Florence, few steps away from main attractions and famous restaurants and trattorias.
As you had the chance to taste it, we just serve breakfast in the morning in our breakfast room located on the third floor or if you prefer you can order a room service.
Kitchenette, Nespresso Coffee machine and large rooms give to our Guest the impression to stay in a Florentine House but with all comforts and modern amenities.
We sincerely hope to have you again at Palazzo Vecchietti
Yours faithfully

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The moment we walked in and was warmly greeted by our host.
Such outstanding service and eager to
Please at all times and for whatever ask or need.
Wonderful with restuarant recomendations.
Our suite was superb with fully equiped kitchen and beautiful dressing room. Bathroom and products were great indeed.
Highly recommend if staying in Florence.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclaudejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

we really thank you so much for your time spent in writing your experience in Palazzo Vecchietti.
Our Guest’s reviews are very important for us as to improve our quality standard and it encourage us to satisfy Guest’s needs in the better way.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My partner and I spent two great nights at Palazzo Vecchietti, and we had an absolutely wonderful time at this unique and charming hotel in downtown Florence.

First off, the location is absolutely amazing. It is right next to the Piazza delle Reppublica, and very central to all the sites in Florence. Pretty much everything is within walking distance, which of course I would encourage considering the charm of the streets of Florence.

We entered the lobby, and we were treated like invited guests by the concierge. I feel that over the course of our stay, the staff definitely went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and accommodated. We actually had left one of our passport in our previous hotel a hundred miles away, and the concierge dealt with all the language issues and communication with the hotel to get our passport sent overnight to us in Florence. That was a great assistance, and certainly not a service that would be so seamlessly provided by just any hotel.

The room, as you can see in the pictures I enclosed, was actually absolutely gorgeous and extremely well-apportioned. Because of our status within the Preferred Hotels group, we were upgraded to the suite (I don't know how many levels of an upgrade that is from standard, to be honest). There was a huge walk-in closet, as well as the kitchenette. A lot of times with hotels where there's a kitchenette, it's kind of obvious and takes up a lot of space, but the kitchenette at Palazzo Vecchietti was put away in a closet, so you don't have to look at a dirty sink while you slept. There was a shower room as well as a bathtub in the main bathroom. The shower was a rainfall shower, which I could only describe as luxurious.

In addition, I definitely feel that there is an exclusivity factor with staying at the Palazzo Vecchietti. You would think that since the hotel takes up most of a city block that there would be huge signs for the Palazzo, but it's actually quite the opposite. There is a discreet entrance leading down somewhat of a cave to get to the lobby. It's almost as if you disappear into the Florentine walls and you're at an amazing home-away-from-home.

Ultimately, I would definitely recommend staying at the Palazzo free unmemorable stay in Florence. Of course the price is high, but you can stay in a lot of hotels where the prices are very high but you don't get the quality and location that Palazzo Vecchietti provides. This is not hotel at which you don't know why you're paying a high price and you're mad about it after-the-fact.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,318 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 409 in Florence
569 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 409 in Florence
364 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#7 of 409 in Florence
1,438 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios

Address: Via Degli Strozzi 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#43 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $380 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Vecchietti is a prestigious luxury residence where attention is paid to every singular detail. Ideal for spending memorable days directly in the centre of the city of Florence, in the heart of Tuscany. Located in a charming historical building, This luxury "home" offers top class comforts, in order to make you feel relaxed in a unique and refined environment, giving you the sensation of being "at home" thanks to the professional hospitality that you will be granted. Peaceful and quiet, Palazzo Vecchietti will be the setting for an unforgettable holiday in Florence: here our Staff will assist you and will become a fundamental part in the organisation of your days of relaxation with us. Thanks to all the staff at Palazzo Vecchietti you will be able to experience the suggestive atmosphere of our hotel. 14 Individual spaces honouring some of the most important Italian artistic figures, of which 5 suites and 2 apartments, on various levels. A unique location rendered by this historical palace in which it is located. Restructured by Giambologna in 1578 and finished off by the splendid work of the architect Michele Bonan, who was in part responsible for the furnishings and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vecchietti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing