We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our own little Italian Palace...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our own little Italian Palace...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The moment we walked in and was warmly greeted by our host.
Such outstanding service and eager to
Please at all times and for whatever ask or need.
Wonderful with restuarant recomendations.
Our suite was superb with fully equiped kitchen and beautiful dressing room. Bathroom and products were great indeed.
Highly recommend if staying in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mclaudejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

we really thank you so much for your time spent in writing your experience in Palazzo Vecchietti.
Our Guest’s reviews are very important for us as to improve our quality standard and it encourage us to satisfy Guest’s needs in the better way.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
218
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
673 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My partner and I spent two great nights at Palazzo Vecchietti, and we had an absolutely wonderful time at this unique and charming hotel in downtown Florence.

First off, the location is absolutely amazing. It is right next to the Piazza delle Reppublica, and very central to all the sites in Florence. Pretty much everything is within walking distance, which of course I would encourage considering the charm of the streets of Florence.

We entered the lobby, and we were treated like invited guests by the concierge. I feel that over the course of our stay, the staff definitely went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and accommodated. We actually had left one of our passport in our previous hotel a hundred miles away, and the concierge dealt with all the language issues and communication with the hotel to get our passport sent overnight to us in Florence. That was a great assistance, and certainly not a service that would be so seamlessly provided by just any hotel.

The room, as you can see in the pictures I enclosed, was actually absolutely gorgeous and extremely well-apportioned. Because of our status within the Preferred Hotels group, we were upgraded to the suite (I don't know how many levels of an upgrade that is from standard, to be honest). There was a huge walk-in closet, as well as the kitchenette. A lot of times with hotels where there's a kitchenette, it's kind of obvious and takes up a lot of space, but the kitchenette at Palazzo Vecchietti was put away in a closet, so you don't have to look at a dirty sink while you slept. There was a shower room as well as a bathtub in the main bathroom. The shower was a rainfall shower, which I could only describe as luxurious.

In addition, I definitely feel that there is an exclusivity factor with staying at the Palazzo Vecchietti. You would think that since the hotel takes up most of a city block that there would be huge signs for the Palazzo, but it's actually quite the opposite. There is a discreet entrance leading down somewhat of a cave to get to the lobby. It's almost as if you disappear into the Florentine walls and you're at an amazing home-away-from-home.

Ultimately, I would definitely recommend staying at the Palazzo free unmemorable stay in Florence. Of course the price is high, but you can stay in a lot of hotels where the prices are very high but you don't get the quality and location that Palazzo Vecchietti provides. This is not hotel at which you don't know why you're paying a high price and you're mad about it after-the-fact.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just spent two nights in Florence last week at this lovely hotel. It is truly like staying in your own private palazzo. The staff was very gracious and always asking what they could do to make your stay more enjoyable. The rooms themselves are like self contained apartments. From the large bathroom, to the multiple closets(including walk in) to the kitchenette. The room was extremely comfortable as was the bed. You can not beat the location, as it is within 5-10 mins walking distance to any of the attractions of Florence. I can honestly say during my two week trip, the Palazzo along with the Goldener Hirsch in Salzburg stood out head and shoulders above the rest and that is due to the wonderful level of service this place offers. I commend them on their hotel and the service level of their staff.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IluvEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

They do breakfast. There's no restaurant, but hey! You're in THE MIDDLE of Florence, best location in town. You slip in through the discrete entrance and around the passage, through the corner, you're in a lovely glass roofed 3 storey courtyard with sumptious bedrooms and full on comfort. We know our 5 star fellows.
The street side is noisier than the courtyard side, we've stayed in both and like the hustle bustle as well as the peace.
I love this place. It''s small enough for the staff to be completely attentive, utterly plugged in to Florence and helpful.
STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are, well, street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryTrafalgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

It's a lovely, thoughtful and extraordinarily beautiful hotel with full of history! It's like a museum itself, a living art! The room is so luxury and big, the bed is so comfortable. The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. I need to give a big credit to the fantastic buffet breakfast! Not to mention it's prime location in Florence. It's worth every penny! We had such a great time in Florence and part of reasons thanks to Palazzo Vecchietti!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Syeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
Our staff try to do the best to satisfy our Guest's needs.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Palazzo is very well located for shopping and sighting and the room was well decorated but... we were unfortunate to have room 209. At 7 am we were awoken by traffic and felt like we were sleeping near a major road. The windows are clearly not double glazed! What a pity when you plan a nice week end in Florence. Additionally, the breakfast room is friendly if you like taking your breakfast around a single large 20 people table...otherwise you'd better order room service. Finally, when we left the staff asked if we were satisfied, when they heard we had had room 209 they said they knew it was noisy...

Room Tip: Not 209! Ask for a balcony one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrsoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
we really thank you so much for your time spent in writing your experience in Palazzo Vecchietti.
Our Guest’s reviews are very important for us as to improve our quality standard and it encourage us to satisfy Guest’s needs in the better way. We are really sorry to learn about your noisy room. Unfortunately we did not experienced before about this kind of matter.We hope to have the chance in the next future to welcome you again and it will be our care to accommodate you and upgrading you in the quietest room avaialable.

Yours faithfully.
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my 6 days and nights at the Palazzo Vecchietti in Florence, Italy.
The hotel was conveniently located in the center of everything.
The breakfasts were beautifully displayed and served to my liking. The staff friendly and willing to make suggestions for meals that were within walking distance. Accomodations were very pristine and felt good. I didn't have a window to the outside and that would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraJoSchlicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#18 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,395 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 741 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios

Property: Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Address: Via Degli Strozzi 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Vecchietti is a prestigious luxury residence where attention is paid to every singular detail. Ideal for spending memorable days directly in the centre of the city of Florence, in the heart of Tuscany. Located in a charming historical building, This luxury "home" offers top class comforts, in order to make you feel relaxed in a unique and refined environment, giving you the sensation of being "at home" thanks to the professional hospitality that you will be granted. Peaceful and quiet, Palazzo Vecchietti will be the setting for an unforgettable holiday in Florence: here our Staff will assist you and will become a fundamental part in the organisation of your days of relaxation with us. Thanks to all the staff at Palazzo Vecchietti you will be able to experience the suggestive atmosphere of our hotel. 14 Individual spaces honouring some of the most important Italian artistic figures, of which 5 suites and 2 apartments, on various levels. A unique location rendered by this historical palace in which it is located. Restructured by Giambologna in 1578 and finished off by the splendid work of the architect Michele Bonan, who was in part responsible for the furnishings and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vecchietti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing