We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to come back”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #86 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice to come back”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I came back to Salviatino, after more than 2 years and I found it better than ever.
The park is now fully grown and the italian garden is magnificent.
The service was excellent and I was pleased to see some of the employes I remembered from my first visit.
The breakfast was fantastic.
I had dinner, which was up to my expectations and we than had some nice drinks at the bar.
We took advantage of the very fast shuttle to the center of town.
As soon as I come to Florence I will come back to Il Salviatino.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elisabeth7953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear elisabeth7953,

Thank you for your comments and it is great to hear that you as a return guest see us improving over the years. Our main strength is our staff and as you can tell many of them have been with us since the opening and have become the cornerstone of il Salviatino.

We hope to have you back with us again soon.

best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    105
    27
    19
    11
See reviews for
107
491
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Il Salviatino for one day and were expecting a truly 5 star hotel.

The rooms are spacious and everything is new with great fittings, but the room did not have a mini bar. In a warm day you would at least prefer to have some cold water available in your room. Also, there were no ironing equipment.

The hotel has a great view of Florence, but can't be compared to the views you get at Belmond San Michele. The common areas are ok, but we didn't get overwhelmed with the outside sitting area.

There is no real bar at the hotel, but it is possible to order drinks from outside. Not sure how this works in the winter. In our view the presence of a proper bar increases the atmosphere in a hotel, both if you are traveling on your own or together with others.

Regarding the restaurant, we were really disappointed that the hotel had chosen to arrange a Tuscan night the day we were there (which they apparently do once a week?). This meant that they arranged all the tables outside into a big table. We were a bit tired when we arrived and wanted a quiet dinner for ourselves, but when we asked about an alternative to the Tuscan buffet dinner we were referred to the room service.

The swimming pool is not really close to the main villa, it's almost like traveling to the neighbor property.

All in all an ok hotel. When you consider the above together with the lack of ambience and atmosphere, we would not go back. There are so many other really great 5 star hotels in Florence.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Kim B,

I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your brief stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments on the rooms and while we do have a full minibar set up in the room as well as coffee and tea making facilities , we do not have mini fridges but our Service Ambassadors supply ice on request and with turndown. As to the ironing equipment not being in the room, unfortunately that is due to Italian law.

The Tuscan table, which we normally organise every Tuesday, is a traditional Tuscan dinner, reinvented, and it offers our guests the experience of true Tuscan cuisine, overlooking Florence with live music and interacting with other guests and locals. I have discussed your concern of an alternative and we have arranged for guests to experience the same menu but on a separate table if they so choose.

Our Pool and Spa are located within our 12 acre private park, a 3 minute walk from the main villa, but if so desired, our service ambassadors will escort guests with a golfcart.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Before booking this hotel, I called a different hotel in Florence, much higher in the rankings. The receptionist gave me a rate and passed me to another operator who gave me another rate. Both rates were different from the one on the internet. After pointing this out, the staff didn't seem concerned and so we decided to book another hotel. That is how we found hotel Salviatino.

Every single member of the staff was professional and went out of their way to accommodate us. Upon arrival, there was already a little red carpet with dog bowls for our two labradors. The room was enormous and styled to perfection. The spa was nice and the restaurant exceeded all of our expectations. Both breakfast and dinner were expertly prepared by the chef who took the time to come to our table and greet us. The restaurant was completely booked both nights we were there.

I'm just puzzled as to how in the world this is not listed as Florence's top hotel.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Hope M,

Thank you for your great review. I am happy to hear that the "entire family" felt welcome. I will also share your comments with our chef as it is great to hear you enjoyed both our signature breakfast buffet as well as the dinners on the terrace overlooking Florence.

We hope to have you back with us again soon.

best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Il Salviatino for 2 nights during an anniversary trip to Italy. I tried to save money on the other places we stayed so that we could splurge on this one. While it is extremely expensive, it was well worth it. Absolutely beautiful. Our room was number 5 and while we did not have a view of the Duomo, we had a lovely view and our own table chairs in our private garden. The service was what you would expect at a high end luxury accommodation. The breakfasts were amazing!!! We took pictures because we couldn't believe it. From the welcome prosecco upon arrival to the lovely breakfast before we left, we could not have been happier. Our room was huge as was our beautiful bathroom. We really loved the TV inside of the giant antique mirror. Our only 2 very slight criticisms were 1) when ordering a drink, you have no idea how much you are being charged. For example, my husband was interested in a glass of a rare scotch that was behind the bar. The bartender said he had no idea how much the hotel would charge for it. We chose to err on the side of caution and choose another drink. Our last very mild criticism was of the dinner. We had the tasting menu and it was very good. A few courses were ok but not great and when you are spending that much money, we hope every course is exceptional. We ate the following night at Osteria Francescana in Modena, (number 3 in the word) and had an exceptional meal that ended up costing less than the one we had at Il Salviatino. Again, I would do it again and many of the dishes were delightful. We would love to return and will refer our friends to Il Salviatino if they are looking for a romantic, beautiful relaxing place to enjoy Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lologeorge69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, Direttore at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear M. Lologeorg,

Thank you for your kind review and the heartwarming words spend for us.

We are really glad to know that we contributed to make your Anniversary trip an unforgettable experience. We took good note of your comments and criticism and we deeply thank you for this feedback: it is extremely important for us to receive your remarks in order to improve ourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

I remain with my warmest regards on behalf of the entire team.
Sincerely,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Il Salviatino two nights last week. It is an incredible property, and absolutely enjoyable place to stay while visiting Florence / Tuscany. It was charming, classy luxurious without being "over the top", and allowed us to be close to the city (which can seem crowded) without being in the city.

We loved sitting on the terrace and looking over the lights of Florence and the duomo. One afternoon, I jogged up the road behind the hotel, and the view got even better.

Dinner at Il Salviatino was 4-star, and they have a first floor wine library that can be wandered thru, that is quite the Italian oenophiles dream room.

It makes our list of "top ten hotels / lodges" in the world, at which we have stayed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear RJTasteTest,

It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, your dinner on the terrace and our "Cantina" next to the bar. You have perfectly described what we are all about, Charming, luxurious but not over the top, so that are guests feel like true guests in a wonderful surrounding, close to the city center.

We hope to have you with us again next time you visit Florence.

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We enjoyed a three night break at Il Salviatino and had the most amazing stay. Greeted with pink Prosecco and then shown to the terrace whilst our bags were taken to our room. We had a Duomo facing room over the gardens which was stunning. A lovely mix of old and new furnishings with a great flat screen TV/sound system set into a massive wall mirror. The attention to details was superb. On slightly chilly nights we were all given blankets - most of the dining is done al fresco under the awnings overlooking the rose garden and the views of Florence. The shuttle bus to town was very useful, but it is not expensive to get a taxi. The pool was lovely and very well needed on our first day. The food is second to none. We had dinner twice at the hotel and the food was exceptional. My husband is vegetarian and he had some amazing pasta. The seafood was brilliant - my octopus and monkfish was cooked to perfection.

Breakfast is served up to 11am which was great and there was some unusual and interesting offerings, but if you want something specific the staff are more than happy to oblige.

The staff were very attentive and helpful. If you want to get to the Uffizi or the Academia between May and October make sure you book these online or get the hotel to sort it out. Would definitely recommend this place for pure indulgence and for a relaxed and special trip. This is not a cheap option but so very worth it.

Room Tip: Room 8 overlooks the garden with a great view over Florence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoplustwoMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear twoplustwoMidlands,

Thank you very much for the glowing review of your stay with us. It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay so much. Breakfast until 11am, or even later if you would like, is just our way of making sure you feel comfortable during your stay and we deliver what you, as our guest, wants. The dinner on the terrace, I agree with you, is nothing short of spectacular in that setting overlooking our Italian garden and Florence.

We hope to have you back with us again soon,

best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is truly a home from home. From the minute you walk through the door, you can relax and enjoy your break. You are greeted with a glass of Prosecco, and then taken through to the terrace to enjoy the wonderful scenery, and perhaps have a few more drinks. Dinner is, to my mind, verging on Michelin starred quality. The spa is perfect, and fantastic waiter service by the pool.

All staff were friendly and couldnt do enough to help. The concierge arranged a private tour for us around the region, and then a wine tasting - do not be put off by the price of this tour! Do it - it is a wonderful experience, culminating at a wine tasting at Saint Agnes farm - essentially, a privately owned winery where you are invited into a family home to sample their food and wine. A perfect experience.

Go to this hotel - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, General Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Michael N,

Thank you very much for a great review of your stay. It's nice to hear you did not only enjoy Florence but also Chianti and everything it has to offer, Best of both Worlds!

Best regards,

Bart Spoorenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
884 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 422 in Florence
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
766 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#27 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing