We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault this beautiful hotel”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #89 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have stayed in several 5 star hotels all around the world and this restored 15th-century villa astonished us.

Perhaps it was the fact the experience felt personalised to us or maybe the fantastic views you wake up and go to sleep with. The architecture/Interior was warm and beautiful. The bedroom and the grounds were peaceful.

Welcomed by the hospitable staff, we were guided to our beautifully scenic room with a chilled glass of Prosecco. We were given some great recommendations for restaurants in the city and although the staff catered for our every need they were not too forthcoming.

The restaurant housed a huge variety of books. Several from the Taschen collection I didn’t know where to start. Breakfast was made up of locally sourced produce and the trays delivered to your tables were different each day with enough variety. Also they welcome requests we enjoyed the chocolate crepes from our first morning so much we requested them the second morning. There are several chill out areas to relax with a glass of wine within the hotel which offered peace and privacy.

Sadly we didn’t have enough time to enjoy the spa but will be on our list for next time.

A shuttle runs throughout the day taking you into the centre of Florence and back up until 8pm. This is a free service the hotel offers.

Overall our whole experience was wonderful and we couldn’t be happier with the staff and service. We would highly recommend to those who would like some peace and are looking for luxury just outside of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiondraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
There are newer reviews for Il Salviatino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 759 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for 3 days. The room was ordered with a hot tub inside.

When i first came to the room then guess what i see?- a big and almost broken 100 years old bath. Still that is not that important because there was a good shower. The thing i hated the most is the sound isolation. This is just disasterous. I could hear entirely everything from the neighbour room. How they speak, how they walk and else. When i tried to sleep i could not because someone was always walking upstairs. Another bad aspect is the internet connection- it is painfully slow. Otherwise it has a few more cons, there are also some good things in Il Salviatino. The food is just perfect there and the personnel is very kind and helpful.

The atmosphere there is really great, their frontside garden is beautiful and the look from the window is amazing if you get the room with the view on the city.

Otherwise the hotel is not bad but it is not good either. There are some things that can be easily changed. It is really hard to change walls inside the hotel and also really exoensive but they could still buy a good WiFi network. Anyway this is a great hotel for couples. A bit worse for families and bad for people that work.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dmitrij V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Mr. Dmitrij V,

We would like to thank you for having taken a moment to write this review about your stay with us.

As a relatively new hotel, we are always glad to receive our guests feedbacks and criticisms, in order to improve our standards of service and accommodation.

We took good note of your comments, and we discussed them with the staff and management to find a way to make them the most useful for us to grow up.

I'm delighted to hear that you also enjoyed some aspects of our Service, such as food, staff and atmosphere, but I'm extremely sorry regarding your concerns.

Our wi-fi connection is one of the best in Florence, but unfortunately, as all the wireless connections, it slows down a little when many people use it, and during your stay the Villa had a very high occupancy so maybe this could be the main reason why you found it slow.

Regarding the bathtub, unfortunately the room category that you booked (our Double De Luxe rooms) doesn't provide a bathtub. Since we always do our outmost to accomplish our guests' requests, we upgraded your reservation to one of our Dome View rooms. Due to the high occupancy, we didn't have any Dome View room with Jacuzzi available, but we assigned one of the rooms which provide antique bathtubs. The bathtub, even if really antique, is well maintained and properly working, even if it looks a little "bizarre". However, after your comment, we decided to replace this kind of bathtub in the rooms with a more modern model, as soon as possible.

As you said, it's not easy to work on the building to improve the audio isolation system, because the Villa is very ancient and protected by the Italian equivalent of the National Trust, but I'm grateful for your comment: we will study on a project to improve the audio isolation even without touching the walls.

Please, be assured that we are working on your comments and I would be more than glad if you would like to contact me directly to discuss all the points directly.

In the meantime, I would like to send you my best regards.
Sincerely,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights over the christmas period and were looked after wonderfully. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the dinner on Christmas Eve was magnificent, their recommendations as to where to eat on other nights were spot on, and the rooms were very comfortable (save, in the room my wife and i had, for an extraordinary flexible bath!). The setting, with views over Florence, was wonderful, and the hotel's minibus service to the City centre was not only efficient but was supplemented by taxis when the bus was full. Breakfasts were quite special: big choice, but instead of being buffet style all the choices were brought to your table, freshly prepared. Spa was excellent, though very expensive.

Our only comment - not a complaint or criticism, more an observation,- relates to the staff "uniform". The style is dark suit with open neck shirt, which was pretty standard for all staff, but in Florence of all places you might expect the suits to be finely tailored, whereas these seemed ill fitting and cheap. We just couldn't work out what they were trying to achieve or convey beyond, perhaps, you can feel pretty relaxed here - which we most certainly did.

We're already recommending it to friends and will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was charming, the staff, the food, the location, the views, the rooms and the property itself wonderful. We spent Christmas and New Years here with our 9 month old baby and even tho the hotel was sold out and extremely busy, the staff did everything, and went beyond to make our trip personalised and memorable. If ever we needed something, or had a request the hotel staff responded immediately and resolved the issue. The hotel is a bit outside of Florence, but not too far outside and they provide van service to the center of Florence hourly which was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After staying in the Savoy for 2 nights and having such a wonderful Christmas this hotel has ruined our visit to Florence. Our room was very disappointing & really didn't feel like a 5 star hotel.

We went down for supper early evening to be offered a rolled up menu ? which we chose from and it was the (shared selection of starters Italian style) but to our surprise they had served us something completely different and when questioning this to our waiter he tried to convince us that we had eaten the list of food on our menus ,until he then realised we had been given a old menu from the night before. So ignoring this factor we re checked the rest of our order and the manager said this will be no problem. 2 hours later our final main course came and it wasn't what we had ordered , we were then asked would this meal do if they couldn't change it!!!

Complete disgraceful behaviour for such a high end restaurant.

We then retired to our room hungry and frustrated . To find our Telly's speaker had blown and there was no way of watching a movie to pass the evening by.

This we were told would be fixed on our 2nd day but to our shock we were just told not possible and is there anything else we can do.

I never really write these reviews but I don't want anyone else to be as disappointed as we were.
I understand this hotel would work better in the warmer months but still do not recommend this hotel to anyone who is expecting 5 star treatment .

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Mr. Jo D,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am sincerely sorry about what happened during your stay. We take great pride in providing our valuable guests with the highest standards of accommodation and service and I am disappointed that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. I am very displeased to know that we caused you and your wife such distress.

I completely understand your point of view, and completely sympathize. There is no possible excuse as for what happened both for dinner and with the television in your room.

I am not happy whatsoever with your justified feedback, and it is not acceptable. It is especially not acceptable that you are not at all satisfied.

We would very much appreciate the opportunity to restore your confidence in Il Salviatino.

To this end, I would like you to contact me directly to discuss about the details of the inconvenience occurred.

Please, be aware that we greatly respect your feedback and criticism and your comments have been discussed with the entire team. I can also assure you that corrective action has been taken both at a disciplinary and operational levels to rectify the situation.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies for what happened, I assure you it is an isolated incident and it will never happen again.

Trusting that you will find it in your hearts to give us another chance to regain your confidence, I remain at your complete disposition if there is anything you might need.

Sincerely,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is far but not too far from downtown Florence. It is a secluded villa with amazing views and beautiful gardens. The rooms are big and maodern. Breakfast is served in self standing buffetts in each table. Service is impeccable and the villa (a large villa indeed) is enchanting with great artwork and fine furniture. It has a good gym. It must be even better to stay here during the summer. The taxi to Florence is about EUR16.00. The restaurant is expensive but the food is amazing. They really take care of their guests like VIPs.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view towards Florence.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Florence and we were strongly recommended to stay at Il Salviatino by friends. We brought them back a nice bottle of wine for the recommendation :)

The hotel is exceptional in terms of architecture and the grounds are beautiful. It felt like our own Resort in the City and much better than staying in one of the busy city centre hotels. We used their transfer service each day after having breakfast to explore Florence, then return in the evening to our retreat using the same service.

We didn't have time to try the Spa unfortunately as we ran out of time.

We stayed in a luxurious Suite which was very large and with wonderful views. The bathroom was very large, perfectly appointed, and the room was immaculate.

I would very highly recommend this Hotel and it is the only hotel I will stay when I visit Florence. I also was lucky enough to stay at their sister property in Verona.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 40Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#22 of 411 in Florence
832 reviews
Villa Cora
#5 of 411 in Florence
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 411 in Florence
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#55 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $391 - $986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing