We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #88 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After staying in the Savoy for 2 nights and having such a wonderful Christmas this hotel has ruined our visit to Florence. Our room was very disappointing & really didn't feel like a 5 star hotel.

We went down for supper early evening to be offered a rolled up menu ? which we chose from and it was the (shared selection of starters Italian style) but to our surprise they had served us something completely different and when questioning this to our waiter he tried to convince us that we had eaten the list of food on our menus ,until he then realised we had been given a old menu from the night before. So ignoring this factor we re checked the rest of our order and the manager said this will be no problem. 2 hours later our final main course came and it wasn't what we had ordered , we were then asked would this meal do if they couldn't change it!!!

Complete disgraceful behaviour for such a high end restaurant.

We then retired to our room hungry and frustrated . To find our Telly's speaker had blown and there was no way of watching a movie to pass the evening by.

This we were told would be fixed on our 2nd day but to our shock we were just told not possible and is there anything else we can do.

I never really write these reviews but I don't want anyone else to be as disappointed as we were.
I understand this hotel would work better in the warmer months but still do not recommend this hotel to anyone who is expecting 5 star treatment .

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalviatinoCollection, Manager at Il Salviatino, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Mr. Jo D,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am sincerely sorry about what happened during your stay. We take great pride in providing our valuable guests with the highest standards of accommodation and service and I am disappointed that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. I am very displeased to know that we caused you and your wife such distress.

I completely understand your point of view, and completely sympathize. There is no possible excuse as for what happened both for dinner and with the television in your room.

I am not happy whatsoever with your justified feedback, and it is not acceptable. It is especially not acceptable that you are not at all satisfied.

We would very much appreciate the opportunity to restore your confidence in Il Salviatino.

To this end, I would like you to contact me directly to discuss about the details of the inconvenience occurred.

Please, be aware that we greatly respect your feedback and criticism and your comments have been discussed with the entire team. I can also assure you that corrective action has been taken both at a disciplinary and operational levels to rectify the situation.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies for what happened, I assure you it is an isolated incident and it will never happen again.

Trusting that you will find it in your hearts to give us another chance to regain your confidence, I remain at your complete disposition if there is anything you might need.

Sincerely,

Anna Rolla
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 776 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is far but not too far from downtown Florence. It is a secluded villa with amazing views and beautiful gardens. The rooms are big and maodern. Breakfast is served in self standing buffetts in each table. Service is impeccable and the villa (a large villa indeed) is enchanting with great artwork and fine furniture. It has a good gym. It must be even better to stay here during the summer. The taxi to Florence is about EUR16.00. The restaurant is expensive but the food is amazing. They really take care of their guests like VIPs.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view towards Florence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Florence and we were strongly recommended to stay at Il Salviatino by friends. We brought them back a nice bottle of wine for the recommendation :)

The hotel is exceptional in terms of architecture and the grounds are beautiful. It felt like our own Resort in the City and much better than staying in one of the busy city centre hotels. We used their transfer service each day after having breakfast to explore Florence, then return in the evening to our retreat using the same service.

We didn't have time to try the Spa unfortunately as we ran out of time.

We stayed in a luxurious Suite which was very large and with wonderful views. The bathroom was very large, perfectly appointed, and the room was immaculate.

I would very highly recommend this Hotel and it is the only hotel I will stay when I visit Florence. I also was lucky enough to stay at their sister property in Verona.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 40Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We spent two nights at Il Salviatino after spending four nights in Florence proper, and we used Il Salviatino as a jumping-off point for a one-day driving tour of Tuscany. The hotel's staff arranged to have the rental car brought to us in the morning and everything was taken care of in the hotel. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. One criticism was that there was not a great place/bar to sit and have a drink (we traveled in March and it was too cool to sit outside in the evening). We would not recommend Il Salviatino for first-time visitors to Florence, as it sits just outside of the city in Fiesole, but it is perfect for Florence veterans or at the beginning or end of your stay in Florence when you are not interested in hitting all the sights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

One of the best hotels I've stayed in. The rooms are very generously sized, have high ceilings and lots of character. Service was always very polite and attentive. The hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the city and the breakfast terrace is perfectly positioned to enjoy the view. There's a regular shuttle service into the centre which takes about 10 mins and this is something you'll rely on since taxis are really difficult to come by. Breakfast was good but I only gave this four stars since I thought this this special dish they prepared each day wasn't always to my taste. I'd choose the hotel hotel rather than the Four Seasons which has a city location and a different style.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent hotel. We stayed here for the second time. The service is superb. We had a problem with the bed and they changed our room immediately. The hotel is 15 minutes away from the old city center, but they have a shuttle. Should the shuttle be full, they pay for your taxi. It is a must visit hotel!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank suner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A beautiful building every corner every detail of the hotel is very interesting. Breakfast was good. Shuttle to town was fantastic very frequent. Room was impressive. Service was very personalise. Staff was very accommodating . If you have the budget try it for one night at the least. Beautiful views.

Room Tip: Worth to invest one night in Florence at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubble883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,048 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 410 in Florence
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#21 of 410 in Florence
893 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 410 in Florence
1,329 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#7 of 410 in Florence
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#44 Family Hotel in Florence
#57 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $422 - $976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing